Chevron Left
Back to Using Databases with Python

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Using Databases with Python by University of Michigan

4.8
stars
19,441 ratings
2,947 reviews

About the Course

This course will introduce students to the basics of the Structured Query Language (SQL) as well as basic database design for storing data as part of a multi-step data gathering, analysis, and processing effort. The course will use SQLite3 as its database. We will also build web crawlers and multi-step data gathering and visualization processes. We will use the D3.js library to do basic data visualization. This course will cover Chapters 14-15 of the book “Python for Everybody”. To succeed in this course, you should be familiar with the material covered in Chapters 1-13 of the textbook and the first three courses in this specialization. This course covers Python 3....
Highlights
High quality course material
(143 Reviews)
Top rated instructor
(176 Reviews)

Top reviews

MM
Mar 12, 2018

The course is great... You can definitely learn many things... Was kind of hard for me and i went many times back and forth through most of the lectures... However i think i learn many new things....

GB
Jan 13, 2018

It's an excellent course. Thanks for the oportunity to learn. Thanks to Coursera, to the University of Michigan and of course to Dr. Chuck, a very good an enthusiastic teacher! All the best for you!

Filter by:

2426 - 2450 of 2,858 Reviews for Using Databases with Python

By Harsh D

Jun 2, 2019

Another great course, just lacked bit more info on databases like showing how JOIN works, HAVING BY, and nested SELECT to do complicated queries.

By Archishman R

Oct 4, 2017

This course was really very intuitive. I got a good hands on experience as well. A big shout-out to Dr. Chuck for being such a wonderful teacher.

By nikhil y

Oct 3, 2017

Peer Review: Installing and Running Python Screen Shots

i got grade 40 in week1 but am not able to upload screent shots again. can anyone help me?

By yaw o a

Jan 2, 2017

Unlike the other courses, the material was quite new. And the videos were shorter than the first one. The assignments were also quite simple too

By Gaurav S

Apr 15, 2020

The course was so amazing, I expected much more in depth database knwoledge but it is also enough and good. Learning is a never ending process.

By imcven

Jun 5, 2020

Very useful course. The instructor has a smooth teaching approach that's about as motivating as it gets. Thanks a lot Coursera and Dr. Chuck.

By Yuanqin M

Nov 5, 2020

I think it could be better if I have more time to see the PPT and write down the important thing rather than change the screen too often.

By VAIBHAV B

Jun 30, 2020

Nice course . The part of SQL DATABASE was amazingly taught. If python implementation would have been little bit more , it would be great

By Paul H

Feb 17, 2016

Great to learn how easy the SQL and Python integrate. Very straightforward examples and tests. Well explained and exactly what was needed.

By John J

Jan 23, 2016

Very good introduction to databases and the use of this with python. uses python 2 version. Simple explanation for beginners. Recommended.

By Li

Feb 11, 2019

this course is just as a preparation for database with python, we need to learn more or to learn other courses if we want to be experts.

By James

Jan 20, 2018

Good course material but the assignments are too basic! Simply copying code or adding a few lines, but not as much hands on as I'd like.

By Bijoy K B

Nov 8, 2020

It is a good course to learn about the very basics of Databases. And use Python to create our own database files using python commands.

By Muralidhara B K

Jun 6, 2020

The Coursera and this course both helped me with my dreams. The course was way better than I thought and classes were extremely lively.

By Bryan L

Jan 15, 2016

lectures are good. hw assignments are just a tad too easy. i believe diligent students could handle slight;y more difficult assignments

By Harshal M

Oct 12, 2017

There are some concepts which were not elaborated very well. I request the faculties to add extra lectures as it might help beginners.

By Daniel R

Sep 10, 2016

Very good, felt like we could have done more work with hands on file writing and coding but it was nice to build off of someone elses.

By Arun K

Mar 23, 2017

It was a very great experience to have this course. this has given me a lots of things to gain. I thanks to courser and group for p

By Deepesh A

Feb 26, 2016

It is good short course but could be better if it is more detailed and l could work on more examples but the last week was awesome.

By David K

May 18, 2019

The course gives you a quick overview on how web-data, database, and html work together . It is great to practice the techniques.

By Zhai Y

Jan 10, 2016

A bit too easy. I really wish there'd be a more advanced project for us to better understand and implement the database and python

By sandeep a

Jun 14, 2016

Touches on a lot of subjects. Each having its own complexity. I'd have loved of the concepts are covered in a little more depth.

By Igor M

Jan 13, 2016

As always great level of teaching by Dr. Chuck, but milestone tasks was not so challenging as within previous course. Thanks!

By Andrew A

Dec 27, 2015

This course could do with harder assignments. This last one was just "run my code" and screenshot stuff. Learned a lot though

By Daniel H

Mar 3, 2019

Very practical course introducing into using Python to access Data Base, and manipulating SQL commands to interact with DB.