Chevron Left
Back to Using Databases with Python

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Using Databases with Python by University of Michigan

4.8
stars
19,417 ratings
2,943 reviews

About the Course

This course will introduce students to the basics of the Structured Query Language (SQL) as well as basic database design for storing data as part of a multi-step data gathering, analysis, and processing effort. The course will use SQLite3 as its database. We will also build web crawlers and multi-step data gathering and visualization processes. We will use the D3.js library to do basic data visualization. This course will cover Chapters 14-15 of the book “Python for Everybody”. To succeed in this course, you should be familiar with the material covered in Chapters 1-13 of the textbook and the first three courses in this specialization. This course covers Python 3....
Highlights
High quality course material
(143 Reviews)
Top rated instructor
(176 Reviews)

Top reviews

MM
Mar 12, 2018

The course is great... You can definitely learn many things... Was kind of hard for me and i went many times back and forth through most of the lectures... However i think i learn many new things....

GB
Jan 13, 2018

It's an excellent course. Thanks for the oportunity to learn. Thanks to Coursera, to the University of Michigan and of course to Dr. Chuck, a very good an enthusiastic teacher! All the best for you!

Filter by:

2451 - 2475 of 2,856 Reviews for Using Databases with Python

By Anson C

Feb 17, 2021

Great course but personally I think it will better if Pandas is taught instead of SQL, especially for a beginners course.

By Shane M

Jan 20, 2018

Great course with LOTS of info. I only wish some of the techniques seen in more complex code was talked about a bit more.

By Alaz G Ö

Jun 4, 2016

Lecturer is in the right mind, I really liked his presentation and the course itself. Very beneficial for my profession.

By Jingshu G

Mar 29, 2018

I like this course, but not as good as the previous three. I think it did not present the database models very clearly.

By Nissanka W

Aug 14, 2016

An enjoyable presentation of this topic. Gives a decent overview without going into depth. Charles is a great teacher.

By Wojtek G

Jan 25, 2016

Very neat course. I really recommend it for these who start with Python,

or just want to remind themselves such topics.

By Juan C H V

Aug 16, 2020

Good course, maybe a more hands on assignments to write code starting from scratch. Thanks a lot for the teachings.

By Oscar F R P

Jun 14, 2020

Peer graded assingments take a lot of time because you need to be graded by three others and a instructure from UM.

By Ayush O

Feb 10, 2018

There should be more exercises and business problems to implement SQL on. Anyways a nice course for SQL beginners.

By Michael G F

Jul 26, 2017

Its good, as the other course, but the extension of the topics, maybe need to make another specialization for it.

By mcvean s

Jun 19, 2020

This course is a beginner's guide to Databases, and the concept of using it with Python is taught with clarity.

By Stefan C

Nov 15, 2016

Great information but the homework is a little to easy and I don't think I was able to comprehend it that well.

By Ashish K

Dec 30, 2016

The way dr chuck take us through all the material is quite fascinating and really enjoyed him through all way.

By Bob S

Sep 6, 2017

I wish there were more examples from earlier chapters to help build on the foundation for the later chapters.

By Valentin S

Apr 23, 2016

Topics covered are great, but there is a lack of assignments to be done by students completely on themselves.

By Dawit H G

Aug 1, 2019

Quite interesting; for those of you keen to be Python developer I think this course is kinda a must to take.

By Frank B D R

Jun 30, 2019

Id suggest for week 4 and 5 to have more difficult exams. I loved the course nevertheless. Thanks Dr. Chuck!

By Chue J C

Jun 26, 2017

Fantastic lecturer, I will definitely recommend more of Dr Charles Severance Python courses. He is fantastic

By Paras K

Jun 17, 2019

Not as good as the first three but still very good. Do the first three if you haven't already done them.

By David k

May 20, 2019

Assignments were too easy to pass. So it was not enough to practice of DB. But lectures were still good.

By DEIWID A A P

Mar 26, 2019

Ótimo curso, ajudou a aprimorar habilidades de leitura de dados web e armazenamento com bancos de dados.

By 张婧钰

Mar 4, 2019

The 4th course, in my opinion, mainly involves general stuff. It's not as specific as the last three cou

By ANIRUDDHA B

Dec 17, 2018

Not in details and code was copy and paste, although I discovered a new field of technology with Python.

By Alex F

Sep 16, 2018

Great course! Dr. Chuck makes the course fun and presents the material in a way everyone can understand.

By vamshi t

Oct 28, 2020

This course is not good as other course in the specialization. It should have more information/details.