Chevron Left
Back to Using Databases with Python

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Using Databases with Python by University of Michigan

4.8
stars
19,531 ratings
2,960 reviews

About the Course

This course will introduce students to the basics of the Structured Query Language (SQL) as well as basic database design for storing data as part of a multi-step data gathering, analysis, and processing effort. The course will use SQLite3 as its database. We will also build web crawlers and multi-step data gathering and visualization processes. We will use the D3.js library to do basic data visualization. This course will cover Chapters 14-15 of the book “Python for Everybody”. To succeed in this course, you should be familiar with the material covered in Chapters 1-13 of the textbook and the first three courses in this specialization. This course covers Python 3....
Highlights
High quality course material
(143 Reviews)
Top rated instructor
(176 Reviews)

Top reviews

MM
Mar 12, 2018

The course is great... You can definitely learn many things... Was kind of hard for me and i went many times back and forth through most of the lectures... However i think i learn many new things....

JL
Jun 22, 2017

Wonderful course! I learnt many useful SQL statements and know how to combine database operations into python program. Dr. Chuck's lectures are always comprehensible and clear. Thank you, professor.

Filter by:

2476 - 2500 of 2,874 Reviews for Using Databases with Python

By Stefan C

Nov 15, 2016

Great information but the homework is a little to easy and I don't think I was able to comprehend it that well.

By Ashish K

Dec 30, 2016

The way dr chuck take us through all the material is quite fascinating and really enjoyed him through all way.

By Bob S

Sep 6, 2017

I wish there were more examples from earlier chapters to help build on the foundation for the later chapters.

By Valentin S

Apr 23, 2016

Topics covered are great, but there is a lack of assignments to be done by students completely on themselves.

By Dawit H G

Aug 1, 2019

Quite interesting; for those of you keen to be Python developer I think this course is kinda a must to take.

By Frank B D R

Jun 30, 2019

Id suggest for week 4 and 5 to have more difficult exams. I loved the course nevertheless. Thanks Dr. Chuck!

By Chue J C

Jun 26, 2017

Fantastic lecturer, I will definitely recommend more of Dr Charles Severance Python courses. He is fantastic

By Paras K

Jun 17, 2019

Not as good as the first three but still very good. Do the first three if you haven't already done them.

By David k

May 20, 2019

Assignments were too easy to pass. So it was not enough to practice of DB. But lectures were still good.

By DEIWID A A P

Mar 26, 2019

Ótimo curso, ajudou a aprimorar habilidades de leitura de dados web e armazenamento com bancos de dados.

By 张婧钰

Mar 4, 2019

The 4th course, in my opinion, mainly involves general stuff. It's not as specific as the last three cou

By ANIRUDDHA B

Dec 17, 2018

Not in details and code was copy and paste, although I discovered a new field of technology with Python.

By Alex F

Sep 16, 2018

Great course! Dr. Chuck makes the course fun and presents the material in a way everyone can understand.

By vamshi t

Oct 28, 2020

This course is not good as other course in the specialization. It should have more information/details.

By Jeffrey J

May 31, 2020

Overall, It was a great course. If the final assignment was made much clearer it would have been great.

By George M

Apr 27, 2021

A very good introduction.

Could use some more complex cases and possibly different types of databases.

By Kuznetsov S A

Dec 19, 2017

Good lectures. But assignments are too easy (only modifying the given code, but not writing your own)

By Gustavo S d S

Oct 22, 2017

SQL, SQLite. However the contents could be more detailed. Less Python and more SQL/JavaScript/HTML...

By David H M

May 28, 2017

The last assignment was a bit of a cop out. Looking forward to the capstone.

Perfect for the beginner.

By Saurashtra P

Mar 5, 2018

i like it .....but not too much ......seems like this is for certificate not for deep learning......

By Nilesh

Sep 10, 2017

Excellent way to learn the fundamentals for Relational DB and how to use Python to update such DBs.

By Andreas B

Apr 22, 2018

Assignments could have been a bit harder / require more own coding work. Otherwise great course :)

By Mandy

Apr 2, 2016

Great course, really helpful lectures on the intregration of SQL / relational databases in Python.

By Juan A B G

Nov 10, 2016

Great course. Awesome way to get started in databases. Should be more hands on on the Python part

By NITISH K

Jul 11, 2017

It's good course to play with XML, JSON, SQL, SQLite, Google API, Twitter API etc. using python.