Chevron Left
Back to Using Databases with Python

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Using Databases with Python by University of Michigan

4.8
stars
20,239 ratings
3,093 reviews

About the Course

This course will introduce students to the basics of the Structured Query Language (SQL) as well as basic database design for storing data as part of a multi-step data gathering, analysis, and processing effort. The course will use SQLite3 as its database. We will also build web crawlers and multi-step data gathering and visualization processes. We will use the D3.js library to do basic data visualization. This course will cover Chapters 14-15 of the book “Python for Everybody”. To succeed in this course, you should be familiar with the material covered in Chapters 1-13 of the textbook and the first three courses in this specialization. This course covers Python 3....
Highlights
High quality course material
(143 Reviews)
Top rated instructor
(176 Reviews)

Top reviews

MM
Mar 12, 2018

The course is great... You can definitely learn many things... Was kind of hard for me and i went many times back and forth through most of the lectures... However i think i learn many new things....

JL
Jun 22, 2017

Wonderful course! I learnt many useful SQL statements and know how to combine database operations into python program. Dr. Chuck's lectures are always comprehensible and clear. Thank you, professor.

Filter by:

2976 - 3000 of 3,009 Reviews for Using Databases with Python

By Wisdom S

Sep 16, 2020

Its okay there's a lot more tweaking of code than actually building your own. The first two classes of the specialization are great but as it progress its like your writing less and less code.

By Thomas F

Jan 19, 2018

The assignments are old and out of date. Learning how to program is hard enough as it is. I spent more time troubleshooting than learning in this course.

By Shubham R S

Jun 29, 2021

Please reset my week 5 assignment in using databases with python. Sorry for plagiarism

By Carlos E V S

Sep 7, 2020

Too much SQL. It would be more useful to go deeper into using csv files.

By Adil M

Jun 7, 2020

It was in a very fast pace and the examples are upto the mark

By Olivier L

Mar 16, 2016

Not enough material covered to make it worth the cost.

By Edwin R

May 22, 2018

I dislike coding but this was kinda fun.

By Andrés E V P

Sep 15, 2020

A very shallow course.

By Matthew B

Mar 2, 2016

No teaching. Just a guy talking. Do the problem sets for practice. If you need help, pause the videos and try the code out yourself.

Seriously though, a programming course where the teacher is not actively type out the code but just scribbling around it. He doesn't work through code but talks around the concepts.

By Victor F

Oct 24, 2018

It is disappointing. If you are looking for learning Python for database management, this course does NOT show that. It discusses basic concepts of database management on SQLite, eventually running pre-prepared Python codes.

By crobeddu

Jan 22, 2019

The course is nice the problem is on the forum the staff don't have time to answer some of your questions when it comes to have detailed explanations of some part of the code that is not explain in the course.

By Mark C

Nov 29, 2016

Good overview. Needs to include more hands on development. 1 star because Coursera wont let me take the capstone even after completing all four pre-requisite classes (this one is the fourth).

By Luciano S

Dec 19, 2017

Didn't see That I have to complete the specialization in one year. I'm sure If I knew this information I wouldn't start the specialization. Feeling really frustrated

By Jim P

Dec 22, 2016

Given that Python 2 was replaced by Python 3 some 6 years ago, I'm dismayed to see that this class is teaching Python 2 instead of Python 3.

By Karl K

Mar 4, 2016

Verbose, wandering. Instructor takes too long to do too little. No value add over a textbook.

By ANANTH P

Aug 19, 2020

because of 1 flag which was given i cant have the specialization

By Misha

Nov 30, 2018

Time wasting. There much better courses for Python.

By Emil F

Jul 15, 2020

Little to no Python content. Very disappointing.

By Meet C I

Sep 12, 2020

there is not option to reset. hated this course

By Diogo A

Jul 28, 2020

Week 5 puts this course from a 4+* to almost 0

By Gajesh S N

Jun 12, 2020

can't reset a submission if it gets incorrect

By Ahmed M

Aug 8, 2020

week 4 assignment took forever to be marked

By Emma A

Jan 10, 2022

No help in terms of Technical Support

By Ravi M

Nov 25, 2021

wrong type of marking from tutors

By Himanshu M

Jul 21, 2020

Sucks in short!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!