Chevron Left
Back to Using Databases with Python

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Using Databases with Python by University of Michigan

4.8
stars
19,801 ratings
3,017 reviews

About the Course

This course will introduce students to the basics of the Structured Query Language (SQL) as well as basic database design for storing data as part of a multi-step data gathering, analysis, and processing effort. The course will use SQLite3 as its database. We will also build web crawlers and multi-step data gathering and visualization processes. We will use the D3.js library to do basic data visualization. This course will cover Chapters 14-15 of the book “Python for Everybody”. To succeed in this course, you should be familiar with the material covered in Chapters 1-13 of the textbook and the first three courses in this specialization. This course covers Python 3....
Highlights
High quality course material
(143 Reviews)
Top rated instructor
(176 Reviews)

Top reviews

MM
Mar 12, 2018

The course is great... You can definitely learn many things... Was kind of hard for me and i went many times back and forth through most of the lectures... However i think i learn many new things....

JL
Jun 22, 2017

Wonderful course! I learnt many useful SQL statements and know how to combine database operations into python program. Dr. Chuck's lectures are always comprehensible and clear. Thank you, professor.

Filter by:

351 - 375 of 2,931 Reviews for Using Databases with Python

By Rage P

Jun 1, 2019

Sir i thankful to courseera for providing a great platform to learn python and I gain a lot of knowledge and new logics in python language. Thank you once again courseera

By Orlov Y

Jan 14, 2016

Great course for beginners! Maybe sometimes it's too easy, but it is for me, who familiar with programming, but for those, who want to try their skills it is BEST CHOICE!

By yadla s h r

Sep 26, 2020

Excellent course for beginners who have some basic knowledge of python. It is suggested completing the first 3 courses in this specialization before starting this course

By Antonio V

May 22, 2021

I found it as a good introduction to databases, and also very useful to learning how to create databases with Python and be able to represent this data in a visual way.

By Panisetti P

Oct 5, 2019

Nice course to complete, where I learned a lot about Databases that are used in Python and How to connect them using python and How to Analyse the data in the database.

By Mohamed H

Mar 5, 2021

Very great course, I 've learned a bunch of stuff about python and databases throughout the specialization, and I 'm looking forward for more in the capstone.

Thanks :)

By EDUARDO R S

May 28, 2020

Yet another great course in the Python specialization series. Prof. Dr. Charles Severance delivers again in a very interesting and useful course, strongly recommended!

By Sang Y K

Jan 3, 2020

very good for beginner to know what Python is and what it can do. I could get a big picture of what and how i can use python, and then move forward to the next course.

By Sergio B

Feb 28, 2019

Once again excellent content, carefully elaborated and explained by a professor who is clearly passionate about both Python and teaching.

Looking forward to 5th module!

By Tushar K

Aug 2, 2017

It's a wonderful course. Very lucky to get enrolled in it. The instructor is very good. He knows a lot of stuff about the topic and shared it very well among students.

By Ivana L

Jun 13, 2016

As great as previous coursers in this specialization. Very good materials, perfectly explained and for once the slides and videos are even better than book (SQL part).

By Waleed A

Feb 21, 2018

I haven't studied databases formally before, and this course demystified all confusions about RDBs while teaching me how to handle them in Python. Highly recommended!

By Dev T A N

Sep 7, 2020

It,s an interesting course , i am able to learn each concept very efficiently

Thank you Coursera , Dr. chuck and University of Michigan to offer such a great course

By Patarida K

Aug 23, 2018

Very brief of how to use SQLite with python. Although we do not have much time to go to details in each code but it is great to get the feeling what is it all about.

By J A M

Dec 24, 2015

Fourth class in a row with Dr. Chuck. I know that Dr. Chuck is indefatigable and will be adding to his collection of didactic excellence again in the near future...

By 杜思宇

Nov 4, 2019

Dr Chuck gives very clear and amazing lectures, thanks very much. During several failure, I fall in love with python, it is so amazing and powerful and interesting!

By Kumar, A

Oct 21, 2018

Lives up to the reputation being among the best in pedagogy. Absolutely recommended for anyone looking forward to understand the basics of data modelling and RDBMS.

By Tom G

May 29, 2018

DRC is awesome. The course and tools he provides are up-to-date. The examples are real world and useful. I highly recommend this and all Dr. Chuck, DRC, courses

By okiria e

Jul 8, 2019

A firm foundation for understanding databases with Python and Structured Query Language. Thank-you Dr. Chuck for making what seems at first impression hard easier

By 曹洋

Nov 17, 2016

It's easy to understand the concepts of database and the relationships between packages of software. The programme which provided for starting is very impressive.

By Nikhil N

Oct 12, 2016

This is a wonderful course for anybody to ramp up their programming skills right from scratch. This gives enough confidence to take on further programming tasks.

By Yujie C

Feb 26, 2016

Dr. Chuck has a way to explain course materials very clear and straightforward. I would certainly recommend this course to anyone interested in learning python.

By Petrov A Y

Aug 31, 2016

It was interesting to have introduction with SQL by Charles Severanse. I think the course is efficient and full. I'll be glad to learn Python with Dr. further.

By Constanzo A M D

Feb 16, 2021

This course had a very smooth pace, the assignments were quite easy but very useful to create solid foundations. I am very glad for having taking this course.

By Saksham S

Aug 8, 2020

Probably the best course! The instructor is pretty awesome! All aspects are covered from xml to json and working with apis with python. This course is a must!