Chevron Left
Back to Using Databases with Python

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Using Databases with Python by University of Michigan

4.8
stars
19,910 ratings
3,038 reviews

About the Course

This course will introduce students to the basics of the Structured Query Language (SQL) as well as basic database design for storing data as part of a multi-step data gathering, analysis, and processing effort. The course will use SQLite3 as its database. We will also build web crawlers and multi-step data gathering and visualization processes. We will use the D3.js library to do basic data visualization. This course will cover Chapters 14-15 of the book “Python for Everybody”. To succeed in this course, you should be familiar with the material covered in Chapters 1-13 of the textbook and the first three courses in this specialization. This course covers Python 3....
Highlights
High quality course material
(143 Reviews)
Top rated instructor
(176 Reviews)

Top reviews

MM
Mar 12, 2018

The course is great... You can definitely learn many things... Was kind of hard for me and i went many times back and forth through most of the lectures... However i think i learn many new things....

JL
Jun 22, 2017

Wonderful course! I learnt many useful SQL statements and know how to combine database operations into python program. Dr. Chuck's lectures are always comprehensible and clear. Thank you, professor.

Filter by:

476 - 500 of 2,953 Reviews for Using Databases with Python

By Carlos F

Dec 30, 2020

This is a great course; complete, while still accessible and thorough, while keeping it simple. Good practical skills practice.

By Camilo B

Nov 11, 2018

This is a god overview on using databases with Python. It will not go in details but will give a good broad view of the matter.

By Duan S

Feb 18, 2018

database is one of the most useful parts of programming I think, and this will be the field I would like particularly pursue to

By Divya K

Apr 6, 2017

Well explained. You could have also explained different types of joins. But i understand that is out of the scope of the course

By msttsm

Mar 23, 2017

This section is a little difficult, so maybe I need more time to familarize it, but anyway, it is still very useful! Thank you!

By Nattawat B

Jan 22, 2019

Course 4 give a bigger picture after suffering from course 3

With this course things makes more sense and SQL is really useful

By VIJAY K S

Jan 10, 2019

Never felt that learning database will be so easy , This was all because of the course instructor and material used to explain

By Ina d O

Oct 10, 2017

Good introduction to databases using python. The assignments with Google are a bit hard if you do not want to get the api key.

By Arnav M

Oct 1, 2017

This course offers much more than databases and also teaches about web scraping and data mining and geocoding and much more ..

By Yatindra P

Aug 15, 2017

the course is time and money worth and i got new things to learn........i will refer to every student to learn from this site

By Чижов В Б

Jul 11, 2017

Interesting cource! Very usefull for novicies in programing and databasies. Interesting assesments, but not too complicated :)

By Mohit M

Aug 2, 2020

I am unable to edit the assignement which i have submitted. I want to edit it as i had submitted the wrong assignement before

By Yutong Y

Jul 14, 2019

Nice course. Would be better if also includes sample code/tutorial/video for connection to other databases. Thanks Dr. Chunk.

By Ye J

May 21, 2016

I think this one is a little bit too easy. It's better if the Professor asks us to do more instead of providing all the code.

By Tané T

Jan 10, 2016

This is the fourth class I've taken with Professor Severance, and they've all been really useful and enjoyable to me, thanks!

By Krishna R

Aug 7, 2020

A great course, taught by Dr. Chuck and the course content is as good as it gets..Thank you Dr. Chuck and U-M for the same..

By Frederik

Aug 27, 2018

Good, I particularly enjoyed how understandable Charles Severance makes the basics of SQL and how it integrates with Python.

By Rudy B

Feb 13, 2017

Great course, well explain and with good example. This is really an interesting course to learn about python with databases.

By Aditya C

Oct 4, 2016

Chuck is one of the funniest tutors I've ever listened. The course was always entertaining despite their length and content.

By Jose C A B

May 31, 2016

Excellent course! Dr. Chuck teaches in a very interesting, fun and professional way. One of the best teachers I've ever had.

By Imran T

Dec 16, 2019

very well put together. Dr Chuck takes you right from the basics and enables you to be confident in dealing with databases.

By Jose M M

Jun 25, 2016

Great course. I learned a lot in very little time. Excellent instructor. Dr. Chuck inspires people to move forward. Thanks!

By Julianna M

Feb 1, 2016

Excellent course. Would highly recommend for students looking to further their knowledge in python and introduction to SQL.

By Çağatay S

Dec 15, 2020

I took several database classes before, but in this one I actually could understand what I was doing. Thank you Dr. Chuck.

By Hristina

Aug 9, 2020

The best online platform Coursera, the best team. I appreciate you so much :). The course is super interesting and useful.