Chevron Left
Back to Using Databases with Python

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Using Databases with Python by University of Michigan

4.8
stars
19,975 ratings
3,050 reviews

About the Course

This course will introduce students to the basics of the Structured Query Language (SQL) as well as basic database design for storing data as part of a multi-step data gathering, analysis, and processing effort. The course will use SQLite3 as its database. We will also build web crawlers and multi-step data gathering and visualization processes. We will use the D3.js library to do basic data visualization. This course will cover Chapters 14-15 of the book “Python for Everybody”. To succeed in this course, you should be familiar with the material covered in Chapters 1-13 of the textbook and the first three courses in this specialization. This course covers Python 3....
Highlights
High quality course material
(143 Reviews)
Top rated instructor
(176 Reviews)

Top reviews

MM
Mar 12, 2018

The course is great... You can definitely learn many things... Was kind of hard for me and i went many times back and forth through most of the lectures... However i think i learn many new things....

JG
Jun 16, 2016

This course was great! I enjoyed parsing different types of data: from documents and the web. This course is definitely (rudimentary) a must take course for anyone who wants to go into data science.

Filter by:

501 - 525 of 2,967 Reviews for Using Databases with Python

By Hristina

Aug 9, 2020

The best online platform Coursera, the best team. I appreciate you so much :). The course is super interesting and useful.

By Karan M

Sep 14, 2019

This course is awesome for understanding object-oriented concepts and also understanding the fundamentals of the database.

By kartikey t

Jun 9, 2018

Good structured course on database will help you to built a good base for databases, moreover SQL is always a fun to read.

By Derek B

Aug 13, 2016

Excellent. This and the other Python for Informatics classes have taught me a lot as I've started my journey with Python.

By Pilar M

Aug 6, 2016

Beginning was a bit rough but once you get into the mindset, the video lectures and assignments come together very easily.

By Martin W

Jan 10, 2016

i really like this course, brings together various aspects of using Python in real world situations (career or enthusiast)

By PRAKASH K

Aug 10, 2020

Love the way Mr. Severance put forward the concepts,he was very good at explaining the database intersection with python.

By Yufei Z

Oct 1, 2018

I was not able to use the geo code from Google... anything else is perfect, instructions are clear and I did learn a lot!

By Arnab G

Jan 15, 2016

Nice introduction with easy exercises, very good starting point from where students can explore and do more on their own.

By Oscar R

Jan 5, 2016

Excellent course, excellent instructor. Dr. Chuck has a great way of introducing concepts and explaining them thoroughly.

By Juan C P C

May 4, 2020

Learned a lot about databases! I like the way Dr. Chuck explains everything, and it's easy to learn new stuff in Python.

By Eric S

Mar 3, 2017

Outstanding course material prepared by a great instructor. I am looking forward to complete the entire series. 5-stars!

By Sebastian D

Jan 3, 2016

Excellent

Very good course for learning how to use the library SQLite in python and how to manipulate data in a database.

By Francesco

Dec 15, 2015

Charles Severance is a great professor. He explains clearly every argument making the lessons enjoyable. Thanks so much.

By Harsh B

Nov 6, 2018

Very well structured course. This course drew my attention into database management and data science. Thanks Dr. Chuck.

By Murray B

Oct 18, 2017

G

r

e

a

t

c

o

u

r

s

e

t

o

g

e

t

a

s

t

a

r

t

w

i

t

h

S

Q

L

a

n

d

h

o

w

y

o

u

c

a

n

i

n

t

e

g

r

a

t

e

i

t

w

i

t

h

p

y

t

h

o

n

.

W

i

l

l

d

e

f

i

n

i

t

e

l

y

u

s

e

t

h

e

s

e

s

k

i

l

l

s

i

n

t

h

e

f

u

t

u

r

e

i

n

a

w

o

r

k

s

i

t

u

a

t

i

o

n

.

By george t

Jul 13, 2017

Great course again! This entry level specialization should be a must for anyone looking to learn more about programming

By Joan R

Mar 10, 2016

Conciso y muy bien estructurado

Perfecto para no iniciados o para aquellos que quieran poner sus conocimientos en orden.

By Winnie C

Jul 8, 2019

I think the exercises are a bit too easy. But I've gained a really good understanding of how things goes together now.

By Maxwell B

Dec 26, 2018

Great introduction into how to use Python in combination with SOQL databases. Very useful for ones own small projects.

By 王子瑜

Jul 18, 2018

A good guide to SQL. This online course provides me with a great opportunity to learn something useful things at home.

By Shubham S

Jun 30, 2018

If you have past experience with database, it can be done in a week. Well, Dr. Chuck has better explanations, I guess.

By Blaine T

Dec 7, 2016

Great course! Dr Chuck does a great job communicating the course content in a way that keeps me engaged. The exercis

By Mian C

Jan 18, 2016

Coming from some programming background, I have learned the most in this course of the whole series. Thanks Dr. Chuck!