Chevron Left
Back to Using Databases with Python

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Using Databases with Python by University of Michigan

4.8
stars
20,494 ratings
3,147 reviews

About the Course

This course will introduce students to the basics of the Structured Query Language (SQL) as well as basic database design for storing data as part of a multi-step data gathering, analysis, and processing effort. The course will use SQLite3 as its database. We will also build web crawlers and multi-step data gathering and visualization processes. We will use the D3.js library to do basic data visualization. This course will cover Chapters 14-15 of the book “Python for Everybody”. To succeed in this course, you should be familiar with the material covered in Chapters 1-13 of the textbook and the first three courses in this specialization. This course covers Python 3....
Highlights
High quality course material

(143 Reviews)

Top rated instructor

(176 Reviews)

Top reviews

MM

Mar 12, 2018

The course is great... You can definitely learn many things... Was kind of hard for me and i went many times back and forth through most of the lectures... However i think i learn many new things....

GB

Jan 13, 2018

It's an excellent course. Thanks for the oportunity to learn. Thanks to Coursera, to the University of Michigan and of course to Dr. Chuck, a very good an enthusiastic teacher! All the best for you!

Filter by:

501 - 525 of 3,067 Reviews for Using Databases with Python

By Oleksandr R

Aug 26, 2017

Great course! Nice and easy to understand introduction into SQL and how everything from previous courses joins in a real project.

By garland j

Aug 29, 2016

Very nice course. It was great the material dug a little deeper into the ideas needed to use python to access data from the web!

By Srivathsa H

May 23, 2020

It was really an amazing course where I got to learn a lot of things about databases and that too learning it along with python.

By Admasu S

Oct 29, 2019

Highly recommended course. I have little or no knowledge about databases and this course have given me a very good introduction.

By Brad M

Sep 10, 2019

Great foundational course for understanding what relational databases are and how to quickly create and edit them within python.

By Karishma B

Jun 13, 2018

Great course, you get to learn how to use Python and interact with databases. Retrieve, update and create new data in databases.

By Krishna J

Jan 18, 2018

Very well explained and easy to understand , Dr Chuck is an amazing teacher and all the mentors have been extremely helpful too.

By Devarsh A

Jun 11, 2016

We learn to use python and databases so as to manage and use large amounts of data. Its very easy to understand and very useful.

By Emma H

Feb 28, 2016

Amazing course. I have done all 4 of the Python courses offered by the University of Michigan and can't rate them highly enough.

By Joshua W

Sep 21, 2021

I feel like I am more into databases now...I definitely need to take more SQL courses now. Loved this course! Thanks Professor!

By Carlos F

Dec 30, 2020

This is a great course; complete, while still accessible and thorough, while keeping it simple. Good practical skills practice.

By Camilo B

Nov 11, 2018

This is a god overview on using databases with Python. It will not go in details but will give a good broad view of the matter.

By Duan S

Feb 18, 2018

database is one of the most useful parts of programming I think, and this will be the field I would like particularly pursue to

By Divya K

Apr 6, 2017

Well explained. You could have also explained different types of joins. But i understand that is out of the scope of the course

By msttsm

Mar 23, 2017

This section is a little difficult, so maybe I need more time to familarize it, but anyway, it is still very useful! Thank you!

By Nattawat B

Jan 22, 2019

Course 4 give a bigger picture after suffering from course 3

With this course things makes more sense and SQL is really useful

By VIJAY K S

Jan 10, 2019

Never felt that learning database will be so easy , This was all because of the course instructor and material used to explain

By Ina d O

Oct 10, 2017

Good introduction to databases using python. The assignments with Google are a bit hard if you do not want to get the api key.

By Arnav M

Oct 1, 2017

This course offers much more than databases and also teaches about web scraping and data mining and geocoding and much more ..

By Yatindra P

Aug 15, 2017

the course is time and money worth and i got new things to learn........i will refer to every student to learn from this site

By Чижов В Б

Jul 11, 2017

Interesting cource! Very usefull for novicies in programing and databasies. Interesting assesments, but not too complicated :)

By Mohit M

Aug 2, 2020

I am unable to edit the assignement which i have submitted. I want to edit it as i had submitted the wrong assignement before

By Yutong Y

Jul 14, 2019

Nice course. Would be better if also includes sample code/tutorial/video for connection to other databases. Thanks Dr. Chunk.

By Ye J

May 21, 2016

I think this one is a little bit too easy. It's better if the Professor asks us to do more instead of providing all the code.

By Tané T

Jan 10, 2016

This is the fourth class I've taken with Professor Severance, and they've all been really useful and enjoyable to me, thanks!