Chevron Left
Back to Using Databases with Python

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Using Databases with Python by University of Michigan

4.8
stars
20,494 ratings
3,147 reviews

About the Course

This course will introduce students to the basics of the Structured Query Language (SQL) as well as basic database design for storing data as part of a multi-step data gathering, analysis, and processing effort. The course will use SQLite3 as its database. We will also build web crawlers and multi-step data gathering and visualization processes. We will use the D3.js library to do basic data visualization. This course will cover Chapters 14-15 of the book “Python for Everybody”. To succeed in this course, you should be familiar with the material covered in Chapters 1-13 of the textbook and the first three courses in this specialization. This course covers Python 3....
Highlights
High quality course material

(143 Reviews)

Top rated instructor

(176 Reviews)

Top reviews

MM

Mar 12, 2018

The course is great... You can definitely learn many things... Was kind of hard for me and i went many times back and forth through most of the lectures... However i think i learn many new things....

GB

Jan 13, 2018

It's an excellent course. Thanks for the oportunity to learn. Thanks to Coursera, to the University of Michigan and of course to Dr. Chuck, a very good an enthusiastic teacher! All the best for you!

Filter by:

526 - 550 of 3,067 Reviews for Using Databases with Python

By Krishna R

Aug 7, 2020

A great course, taught by Dr. Chuck and the course content is as good as it gets..Thank you Dr. Chuck and U-M for the same..

By Frederik

Aug 27, 2018

Good, I particularly enjoyed how understandable Charles Severance makes the basics of SQL and how it integrates with Python.

By Rudy B

Feb 13, 2017

Great course, well explain and with good example. This is really an interesting course to learn about python with databases.

By Aditya C

Oct 4, 2016

Chuck is one of the funniest tutors I've ever listened. The course was always entertaining despite their length and content.

By Jose C A B

May 31, 2016

Excellent course! Dr. Chuck teaches in a very interesting, fun and professional way. One of the best teachers I've ever had.

By Imran T

Dec 16, 2019

very well put together. Dr Chuck takes you right from the basics and enables you to be confident in dealing with databases.

By Jose M M

Jun 25, 2016

Great course. I learned a lot in very little time. Excellent instructor. Dr. Chuck inspires people to move forward. Thanks!

By Julianna M

Feb 1, 2016

Excellent course. Would highly recommend for students looking to further their knowledge in python and introduction to SQL.

By Çağatay S

Dec 15, 2020

I took several database classes before, but in this one I actually could understand what I was doing. Thank you Dr. Chuck.

By Hristina

Aug 9, 2020

The best online platform Coursera, the best team. I appreciate you so much :). The course is super interesting and useful.

By Karan M

Sep 14, 2019

This course is awesome for understanding object-oriented concepts and also understanding the fundamentals of the database.

By kartikey t

Jun 9, 2018

Good structured course on database will help you to built a good base for databases, moreover SQL is always a fun to read.

By Derek B

Aug 13, 2016

Excellent. This and the other Python for Informatics classes have taught me a lot as I've started my journey with Python.

By Pilar M

Aug 6, 2016

Beginning was a bit rough but once you get into the mindset, the video lectures and assignments come together very easily.

By Martin W

Jan 10, 2016

i really like this course, brings together various aspects of using Python in real world situations (career or enthusiast)

By PRAKASH K

Aug 10, 2020

Love the way Mr. Severance put forward the concepts,he was very good at explaining the database intersection with python.

By Yufei Z

Oct 1, 2018

I was not able to use the geo code from Google... anything else is perfect, instructions are clear and I did learn a lot!

By Arnab G

Jan 15, 2016

Nice introduction with easy exercises, very good starting point from where students can explore and do more on their own.

By Oscar R S

Jan 5, 2016

Excellent course, excellent instructor. Dr. Chuck has a great way of introducing concepts and explaining them thoroughly.

By Juan C P C

May 4, 2020

Learned a lot about databases! I like the way Dr. Chuck explains everything, and it's easy to learn new stuff in Python.

By Eric S

Mar 3, 2017

Outstanding course material prepared by a great instructor. I am looking forward to complete the entire series. 5-stars!

By Sebastian D

Jan 3, 2016

Excellent

Very good course for learning how to use the library SQLite in python and how to manipulate data in a database.

By Francesco

Dec 15, 2015

Charles Severance is a great professor. He explains clearly every argument making the lessons enjoyable. Thanks so much.

By Harsh B

Nov 6, 2018

Very well structured course. This course drew my attention into database management and data science. Thanks Dr. Chuck.

By Murray B

Oct 18, 2017

G

r

e

a

t

c

o

u

r

s

e

t

o

g

e

t

a

s

t

a

r

t

w

i

t

h

S

Q

L

a

n

d

h

o

w

y

o

u

c

a

n

i

n

t

e

g

r

a

t

e

i

t

w

i

t

h

p

y

t

h

o

n

.

W

i

l

l

d

e

f

i

n

i

t

e

l

y

u

s

e

t

h

e

s

e

s

k

i

l

l

s

i

n

t

h

e

f

u

t

u

r

e

i

n

a

w

o

r

k

s

i

t

u

a

t

i

o

n

.