Chevron Left
Back to Using Databases with Python

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Using Databases with Python by University of Michigan

4.8
stars
19,035 ratings
2,882 reviews

About the Course

This course will introduce students to the basics of the Structured Query Language (SQL) as well as basic database design for storing data as part of a multi-step data gathering, analysis, and processing effort. The course will use SQLite3 as its database. We will also build web crawlers and multi-step data gathering and visualization processes. We will use the D3.js library to do basic data visualization. This course will cover Chapters 14-15 of the book “Python for Everybody”. To succeed in this course, you should be familiar with the material covered in Chapters 1-13 of the textbook and the first three courses in this specialization. This course covers Python 3....
Highlights
High quality course material
(143 Reviews)
Top rated instructor
(176 Reviews)

Top reviews

MM
Mar 12, 2018

The course is great... You can definitely learn many things... Was kind of hard for me and i went many times back and forth through most of the lectures... However i think i learn many new things....

JL
Jun 22, 2017

Wonderful course! I learnt many useful SQL statements and know how to combine database operations into python program. Dr. Chuck's lectures are always comprehensible and clear. Thank you, professor.

Filter by:

76 - 100 of 2,797 Reviews for Using Databases with Python

By Abhijeet G

Dec 16, 2019

This course helped me understand all the fundamentals and basics of database, relational database and programming python application with Python. Thanks to Dr. Chuck and University of Michigan for this amazing course. Dr. Chuck has made the learning very easy with adding a lot fun with the study.

Last but not least, thank you Coursera for making this course available to us on this platform. Appreciate !

By Gianpietro P

May 26, 2016

Again another good course by one of your instructor, Mr. Severance.

I like to attend course where there is fun and passion and this is quite usual with him. I understand the choice of sqlite over fully fledged sql server: simple and widely available. I was tempted to give 4 stars because of it but I can see that it will add unnecessary and misleading complexity since the course is about Python mostly.

By Tong Y H

Sep 20, 2019

The 4th class I had for python with Dr Chunk

much better than last one, "Exploring Data Sources (Project)", with quite a lot arguments among the student and community

this time Dr Chunk knows there are so namy noobs like me, who need case study with lines to line intrepretation everything he do Worked Examples. It really helps in keep reminding us and understand how things works.

So, now

I know python

By Kainka

Mar 6, 2017

This was a very exciting course giving an insight into data modelling challenges, working with databases and visualization of data and showing smart ways of how Python can making our lives much easier by automating processes around databases. The course also covers the basic terminology of Object Orientated Programming making it a good liaison with what's been discussed in the previous lectures.

By Carlo C

Jun 12, 2017

This course tied in all the various uses of Python for data analysis, including data scraping, data loading, data cleansing, database design, data analysis, and visualization. I am now going to take the Data Science with Python Course, after completing the capstone for this certification! Thanks again Dr. Chuck, and hope to meet you in an office hours when you visit Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada!

By Koh E A

Sep 18, 2019

Prof Chuck did an excellent job introducing this course. It may not be explained in detail, and students are not expected to understand every single line of code but that's OK because as he mentioned previously, this course is just a beginning, a stepping stone to learning Python better in future.

Take further courses and look up information on the Internet. Keep learning and all the best!

By Joe W

Jul 3, 2017

Would have liked a bit more hands-on with the code in this section, plus some material felt a bit forced here because there was nowhere else for it to go. The course changed from Python 2 to 3 while I was doing it, which I think could have been handled better.

That said - it's enough to start using Python in a real-world context, and I have respect for anyone who gets through these courses.

By Mritunjay S

Aug 4, 2019

It was awesome experience to developed database skill using python programming language and i would like to say thanks to Dr. Chuck, you really make it simple by the way you taught.

So, i highly recommend this course who like to go with the beginning of the database skill with python programming. In fact, i recommend to go with all the previous course in python for everyone specialization.

By Alexander G

Apr 5, 2020

The course is well-structured, nicely presented by Dr. Charles Russell Severance and has a lot of interesting additional materials such as interviews with the top names from the world of computer science (Andrew Tanenbaum, Niklaus Wirth, etc.) and selfie-like meetings with the course students. Though I expected this course to be a little bit more challenging, I have really enjoyed it.

By Umut S

Nov 22, 2019

Great course to get your step into the database world with Python. Professor Severance shares some nice code applications and examples that you can help you understand basic database solutions. Fundamentals of databases are also quickly and nicely elaborated. This is not a deep course by any means but it's a great way to start if you don't want to spend too much time with theories.

By Melissa G

Jan 27, 2016

This course was awesome, as were the rest of the courses in this set by Dr. Chuck. He does a really good job of explaining the content so it's understandable. I found that I REALLY like working with database programming, so now I'm off to find more database programming courses to learn more. :-) Thank you so much for this course set, Dr. Chuck! Can't wait to see more from you! :-)

By abhijith

Apr 16, 2018

Great course!

When you have an awesome instructor(hats of to Dr.Chuck), well curated content and good mentor support you are going bound to like the lesson.

Qualifications:

As this is the 4th course of the specialization you will need a strong understanding of python,JSON and XML. If you are not familiar with the same try taking the starting courses.

Excellent course!

A 15 year old,

By Rohan K

Jul 16, 2017

The course is very good as it connects SQL and Python so you get to learn 2 things at the same time (more SQL). You also get to learn database management which is a very good skill to have these days. Instructor is very good and explains things in good detail. The course requires you to complete the previous courses of this specialization otherwise you can miss a lot of things.

By Vijai K S

Dec 14, 2015

I knew python to some extent before this course. Now i have learned so much and even started writing small command line applications and web scrapers on my own. This course is just a great way for me to get started on databases too. This will be help me write really useful command line applications. Thanks to coursera for bringing this wonderful specialization into my life.

By Pedro H

Jul 8, 2018

After completing the specialization, I can say that this is a thorough course for Python programming that starts from the very basics to a pretty in depth understanding of the programming language. It provides with a complete set of skills that can be applied to your very needs. Highly recommended for beginners and people that want to consolidate their knowledge in Python.

By Luis A G

Dec 3, 2017

This course helped me better understand how python can be a powerful ally of databases. With the interaction of python and SQL database management, Dr. Severance explains with detail all the concepts, without loosing his histrionic style of teaching that makes it so easy to watch. I am planning to finish the last Capstone project to complete my sets of skills in this area.

By B.Abraham A

Feb 14, 2016

I really appreciate the course. Professor Charles explained ​ every line of the code written by him and also gave real time examples and problems for assignments, which is my favorite part. I'd also be elated if the course fee had been a bit lesser than the mentioned as I cannot afford that amount for a single course. Nevertheless, overall it's a good course to enroll.

By Vikas R

Nov 23, 2017

Now, I am going to a take up the next capstone project, and after the I have completed this specialization and than I am going to give really a good comment.

And for now you you Dr. Charles, you are amazing and also the team member who really help me a lot in resolving my issues so a special thank to them also

and finally this thanks to all you guys

Vikas Rathee

By Young P

Jan 18, 2016

Great course for those not familiar with databases and SQL. Well paced and the program templates are very good in making sure that the students understand what it is they're trying to do without letting the writing of the same code that was written for previous courses and assignments get in the way of the new material. Dr. Severance is an incredible instructor.

By Shayan A B

Jan 11, 2016

Dr. Chuck is a genius who can teach anything with so much ease in just 5-10 minutes and i have been taking his courses regularly. But this one i found it just a bit difficult and sometimes lost specially in Many-to-Many Relationship. That was the hardest i think. But still I am now comfortable in using SQL Lite with Python which is a big step forward for me :)

By Robert S

Mar 15, 2016

I learned much more about what programming is used for and how it works. This last part of the course built on the 'building blocks' of the earlier modules and thought it went a bit fast in the final stages it left me feeling a real sense of achievement.

The materials are really well organised and engaging. When I look back I see that I've come a long way.

By Sastry D

Dec 23, 2016

An amazing course that concludes the Python set nicely. Dr Chuck does an excellent job and his textbook adds considerably to the convenience. The test questions and programming exercises are thought out well. They help to consolidate the material nicely without having to spend tens of hours but at the same time requiring some thought. Highly recommended.

By Feras M

May 4, 2020

It is a great course! This course is considered another proof of that Python has powerful tools and the flexibility to deal with different kinds of data sources. Thank you Dr. Chuck for everything, you made every thing simple and easy to grasp, I will continue with more advanced Python topics with the same mentality that I have learn during this course

By RUTVIK B P

Jul 9, 2020

I loved all the 4 specializations, they were well taught, great for beginners to get a hang of coding, and especially Python. Loved the Instructor and his codes/explanations. Dr. Chuck has been one of the best teachers I've ever had in my life and this comes from the heart.

100% recommend it to anyone wishing to upskill or/and learn Python programming!

By Vishal G

Dec 12, 2016

Dr. Charles makes these modules much more interesting than I have ever seen before. I am a Masters graduate from a reputed university, which is one among top 10 in the world, but I can strongly say that Dr. Charles is something different and I would love to study forever under him.

The way he connects technology to real world is something fantastic.