Chevron Left
Back to Using Databases with Python

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Using Databases with Python by University of Michigan

4.8
stars
19,555 ratings
2,966 reviews

About the Course

This course will introduce students to the basics of the Structured Query Language (SQL) as well as basic database design for storing data as part of a multi-step data gathering, analysis, and processing effort. The course will use SQLite3 as its database. We will also build web crawlers and multi-step data gathering and visualization processes. We will use the D3.js library to do basic data visualization. This course will cover Chapters 14-15 of the book “Python for Everybody”. To succeed in this course, you should be familiar with the material covered in Chapters 1-13 of the textbook and the first three courses in this specialization. This course covers Python 3....
Highlights
High quality course material
(143 Reviews)
Top rated instructor
(176 Reviews)

Top reviews

MM
Mar 12, 2018

The course is great... You can definitely learn many things... Was kind of hard for me and i went many times back and forth through most of the lectures... However i think i learn many new things....

GB
Jan 13, 2018

It's an excellent course. Thanks for the oportunity to learn. Thanks to Coursera, to the University of Michigan and of course to Dr. Chuck, a very good an enthusiastic teacher! All the best for you!

Filter by:

2451 - 2475 of 2,878 Reviews for Using Databases with Python

By Paul H

Feb 17, 2016

Great to learn how easy the SQL and Python integrate. Very straightforward examples and tests. Well explained and exactly what was needed.

By John J

Jan 23, 2016

Very good introduction to databases and the use of this with python. uses python 2 version. Simple explanation for beginners. Recommended.

By Li

Feb 11, 2019

this course is just as a preparation for database with python, we need to learn more or to learn other courses if we want to be experts.

By James

Jan 20, 2018

Good course material but the assignments are too basic! Simply copying code or adding a few lines, but not as much hands on as I'd like.

By Bijoy K B

Nov 8, 2020

It is a good course to learn about the very basics of Databases. And use Python to create our own database files using python commands.

By Muralidhara B K

Jun 6, 2020

The Coursera and this course both helped me with my dreams. The course was way better than I thought and classes were extremely lively.

By Bryan L

Jan 15, 2016

lectures are good. hw assignments are just a tad too easy. i believe diligent students could handle slight;y more difficult assignments

By Harshal M

Oct 12, 2017

There are some concepts which were not elaborated very well. I request the faculties to add extra lectures as it might help beginners.

By Daniel R

Sep 10, 2016

Very good, felt like we could have done more work with hands on file writing and coding but it was nice to build off of someone elses.

By Arun K

Mar 23, 2017

It was a very great experience to have this course. this has given me a lots of things to gain. I thanks to courser and group for p

By Deepesh A

Feb 26, 2016

It is good short course but could be better if it is more detailed and l could work on more examples but the last week was awesome.

By David K

May 18, 2019

The course gives you a quick overview on how web-data, database, and html work together . It is great to practice the techniques.

By Zhai Y

Jan 10, 2016

A bit too easy. I really wish there'd be a more advanced project for us to better understand and implement the database and python

By sandeep a

Jun 14, 2016

Touches on a lot of subjects. Each having its own complexity. I'd have loved of the concepts are covered in a little more depth.

By Igor M

Jan 13, 2016

As always great level of teaching by Dr. Chuck, but milestone tasks was not so challenging as within previous course. Thanks!

By Andrew A

Dec 27, 2015

This course could do with harder assignments. This last one was just "run my code" and screenshot stuff. Learned a lot though

By Daniel H

Mar 3, 2019

Very practical course introducing into using Python to access Data Base, and manipulating SQL commands to interact with DB.

By Luis D B O

Apr 29, 2016

The course is good but the Content can be improved and enriched. It shall be deeper 'cause databases are a very important t

By Anson C

Feb 17, 2021

Great course but personally I think it will better if Pandas is taught instead of SQL, especially for a beginners course.

By Shane M

Jan 20, 2018

Great course with LOTS of info. I only wish some of the techniques seen in more complex code was talked about a bit more.

By Alaz G Ö

Jun 4, 2016

Lecturer is in the right mind, I really liked his presentation and the course itself. Very beneficial for my profession.

By Jingshu G

Mar 29, 2018

I like this course, but not as good as the previous three. I think it did not present the database models very clearly.

By YN W

Aug 14, 2016

An enjoyable presentation of this topic. Gives a decent overview without going into depth. Charles is a great teacher.

By Wojtek G

Jan 25, 2016

Very neat course. I really recommend it for these who start with Python,

or just want to remind themselves such topics.

By Juan C H V

Aug 16, 2020

Good course, maybe a more hands on assignments to write code starting from scratch. Thanks a lot for the teachings.