Chevron Left
Back to Python for Data Science, AI & Development

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Python for Data Science, AI & Development by IBM

4.6
stars
21,129 ratings
3,389 reviews

About the Course

Kickstart your learning of Python for data science, as well as programming in general, with this beginner-friendly introduction to Python. Python is one of the world’s most popular programming languages, and there has never been greater demand for professionals with the ability to apply Python fundamentals to drive business solutions across industries. This course will take you from zero to programming in Python in a matter of hours—no prior programming experience necessary! You will learn Python fundamentals, including data structures and data analysis, complete hands-on exercises throughout the course modules, and create a final project to demonstrate your new skills. By the end of this course, you’ll feel comfortable creating basic programs, working with data, and solving real-world problems in Python. You’ll gain a strong foundation for more advanced learning in the field, and develop skills to help advance your career. This course can be applied to multiple Specialization or Professional Certificate programs. Completing this course will count towards your learning in any of the following programs: IBM Applied AI Professional Certificate Applied Data Science Specialization IBM Data Science Professional Certificate Upon completion of any of the above programs, in addition to earning a Specialization completion certificate from Coursera, you’ll also receive a digital badge from IBM recognizing your expertise in the field....

Top reviews

MA
May 16, 2020

The syllabus of the course takes you in a roller-coaster ride.\n\nFrom basic level to advance level and you won't feel any trouble nor hesitate a bit.\n\nIt's easy, it's vast, and it's really usefull.

HM
Nov 17, 2019

it becomes easier wand clearer when one gets to complete the assignments as to how to utilize what has been learned. Practical work is a great way to learn, which was a fundamental part of the course.

Filter by:

2851 - 2875 of 3,355 Reviews for Python for Data Science, AI & Development

By Scott

Jun 13, 2019

A decent quick overview of the basics, and I found it worth my time, but only just barely: the videos are narrated by a computer voice (they couldn't even find a human to teach it?), some outdated Python 2 techniques are still included, and the whole thing is a bit of a plug for IBM's online services, including Watson, which you have to sign up for to complete assignments. But yeah, it takes you through the motions and teaches you enough Python to drive out of the parking lot, so to speak, so overall it's fine.

By Karen N

Apr 26, 2020

I enjoyed this course. However, I felt that there was a huge jump in the complexity of the subject matter between Weeks 3 and 4. I'm a newbee to Python, and Week 4 absolutely did not feel like a beginner's course, whereas the first three weeks were easy to digest. The videos were mostly good and informative, although I found that they rush through the material very quickly. I had to rewatch some of the videos multiple times to understand the concepts. The final project was challenging but enjoyable.

By Juan P S

Apr 13, 2020

Good for learning basic Python concepts and how to use them in theory. However, do keep in mind that it doesn't teach much about how to use a text editor or any type of software to code and run actual programs on your system. The course uses the IBM Watson notebook, which is implemented in a way with very little practical value. I feel like I came out of this course knowing a lot about Python but to gain practical knowledge and be able to make my own programs I had to research outside of it.

By Carlos

Oct 21, 2020

Im not a person who reviews things but I felt this may be helpful to some. As someone with no knowledge in programming whatsoever I found this difficult. Clearly, this is to be expected when diving into something new and my review is based off how i feel after completing everything. But I found this to be very challenging. Practice makes perfect, I didn't feel like this was beginner education. Hopefully over time ill understand better. Good luck to you all!

By Gouri B

Jan 12, 2020

This course is good for python beginners and to also receive a hands-on training for the same.However when it comes to Data science,this particular course does not offer or rather meet its expectations.

The final assignment requires an account creation on IBM's Watson Studio,not following which you wont be graded.So that was like a turn-off for me because assessment mostly relies on successful creation of a Watson Studio account rather than the core subject

By Sergio E T

May 1, 2020

Pretty solid foundations and labs. Would have given 5 stars but the course lacks coherence regarding the videos and different services(cloud.ibm, skills network labs) that are made available to students.

If one is already acquainted with the subject matter it is not difficult to navigate around these wrinkles. New students might find getting lost on silly steps of what the video shows and what the website actually shows adds unnecessary frustration.

By CH

Jun 30, 2019

While I learned a lot in this course, it could have been a more enjoyable process. The videos and labs basically had the same content. However, the labs are a better learning experience (can run code and see results) but come later, making them less valuable and boring. Please consider having the lab content be more unique, as it was in the previous course. Also, please update the materials as Watson Studio changes.

By Clifton S J

Jul 23, 2020

The videos and labs were helpful and the course does help one learn some Python fundamentals. However, I believe that the labs and quizzes could have been improved. More exercises within the lab environment would be beneficial to promote learning. The weak point of the course is that the tutorials for using IBM Cloud were weak. More information and walkthroughs (including videos) should have been provided.

By Adrien

Nov 19, 2019

Good content overall but weird level requirements; the course covers too many basics for somebody who already programs but also assumes a lot and therefore is not adapted to someone who has never programmed.

It relies on external platforms that will not always work.

Instructional and useful nevertheless, recommend if you're already familiar with data analysis (in R for instance) and want further knowledge.

By Vincent Z

Jan 20, 2019

An adequate python crash course. The level is good for complete beginners. People with computer science background will find this slow. Also, the labs and the lectures are completely redundant, they almost match 1:1, except that the labs often fix a few mistakes in the slides. Don't expect a great numpy intro: you will basically get array creation, indexing and slicing and basic vector/matrix operations.

By Radwan n

May 18, 2020

I am new to python I used it for the first time in this course. I found the course to be well organized. I liked the labs and how they are organized and well written. I found the course to be hands-on which I needed. I did have some background using MATLAB and found that to be useful, however, there are some differences in the syntax and the data structures.

There are not many self-learning assignments

By Varun V

Nov 23, 2018

I would have given this course a 4 star rating if they had created the final assignment which would have make some better sense in terms of what this course content and course it about.

The assignment had no concept which was explained and in the course and it gets very difficult to understand the assignment. Never been through such a poor one in my entire 15 years career. One of the worst course.

By Joan P M

Sep 15, 2020

Even it is a nice course to start at Python focus on Data analysis, I hink that the influance in IBM Cloud is too big and take te initial push of the first 3 chapters. Also, if they want to put the focus on that cloud, a more extense tutorials will be needed in that course (mostly, I had to search th "know how" of many elements, wasting time).

Overall, it is a good introductory course to Python.

By TOLGA O

Apr 9, 2021

I am taking this course as a part of IBM Data Analyst Certificate. The program became suddenly and irrelevantly challenging with this course. Why do i need all these stuff? And the things are passed so quick that it is impossible to catch up with the speed. Doesn't tell properly why sth is done in order to do what. It does not teach the logic but rather it enforces memorization.

By Dan D

Nov 17, 2020

This is course is a primer to Python and some libraries used for working with data. It covers some of basics of what certain tools can do for you, but doesn't really cover how to think or plan to do things in Python. If you're already a programmer maybe this will be sufficient, but if you're new to programming it may not give enough of a foundation about how to think in python.

By Saman A

Jul 10, 2020

Pros: Concise, Informative, to the Point, Hands-On

Cons: Videos narrations were linear and fast, but you could catch in the lab of course. Not for once, I did not interact with the instructor. Some content was just mentioned at the end which I believe was having much for weight and could elaborate more.

Thank you for the effort and time to bring education to the world.

By Adam S C

Apr 9, 2019

The course itself was good but the final assignment seemed inappropriate for this entry level course. Specifically, the final assignment relied too much on pre-prepared code that was not introduced in this course and did not test very much of the knowledge of the course. Overall, the learning materials are good but the assignment wasn't a great end to the course.

By Marwa A E K

Nov 28, 2019

This course is comprehensive, but so easy. I haven't found any challenge during studying it! The concepts are delivered in a good way, yet the labs are just repetition of the videos. There's not enough hands on exercises. Everything is with the answers and you got not to try by yourself enough. It would be much better if more challenging exercises were added.

By Eugene N

Mar 26, 2020

The quizes involving API seem to have technical problems after running the codes provided. Also, in the final assignment, the credentials to be used in the optional exercise don't have information on some of the important inputs for the json file such as access key. Also, the tutorial which was specified is this part of the assignment was hard to find

By Neal D

Jan 17, 2020

As a first time learner, I definitely got a fair amount of info from the course, for which I'm grateful. However, I found the production and editing of the course material extremely sloppy. In the videos, the material is presented at a breakneck pace and the slides are rife with typos, not a great thing for course focused on learning/memorizing syntax.

By Josh J

Dec 20, 2019

There are a lot of errors in the Notebooks in this course. Some grammar is so bad I can't understand what they mean, lots of typos and spelling errors. The notebooks also did not have quiz sections to apply my learning. Working out new problems using skills I learned is an important part of my learning process and was useful in previous courses.

By Robert H

Feb 28, 2021

Many of the functions and methods used in this course, especially those in pandas, have been deprecated since this course was written. The course should reallly be updated to reflect these changes. Also, the description of the final project describes analysing housing market data, but the project itself is on GDP data. This also should be updated.

By Derrick J

Oct 19, 2020

The hands on lab notebooks for python were not all that great. Some of them even having syntax errors without any input from me. As someone who is learning the skill it was at times frustrating that the lessons that were given to me in that state wasn’t a one time thing, and I was expected to learn from it when it was in itself not right at times.

By Mar G A

Jan 30, 2019

The course content is great but the peer review exam is confusing. You really have to bring a lot of patience and determination in answering the final quiz. The resources are not in the content, and you need to research outside. Which I think was the intention (?). So bring a lot patience and just focus on breaking down the steps and instructions.

By Marilyn C

Dec 1, 2019

You learn how to do a lot of functional stuff in Python, but without the context as to "why" you would want to do these things in this language, I often found myself a bit confused. The lectures were a bit fast paced sometimes. It was not well explained how to actually do the work in the labs, and it was often the same material as in the lecture.