Chevron Left
Back to Python for Data Science, AI & Development

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Python for Data Science, AI & Development by IBM

4.6
stars
22,923 ratings
3,769 reviews

About the Course

Kickstart your learning of Python for data science, as well as programming in general, with this beginner-friendly introduction to Python. Python is one of the world’s most popular programming languages, and there has never been greater demand for professionals with the ability to apply Python fundamentals to drive business solutions across industries. This course will take you from zero to programming in Python in a matter of hours—no prior programming experience necessary! You will learn Python fundamentals, including data structures and data analysis, complete hands-on exercises throughout the course modules, and create a final project to demonstrate your new skills. By the end of this course, you’ll feel comfortable creating basic programs, working with data, and solving real-world problems in Python. You’ll gain a strong foundation for more advanced learning in the field, and develop skills to help advance your career. This course can be applied to multiple Specialization or Professional Certificate programs. Completing this course will count towards your learning in any of the following programs: IBM Applied AI Professional Certificate Applied Data Science Specialization IBM Data Science Professional Certificate Upon completion of any of the above programs, in addition to earning a Specialization completion certificate from Coursera, you’ll also receive a digital badge from IBM recognizing your expertise in the field....

Top reviews

MA
May 16, 2020

The syllabus of the course takes you in a roller-coaster ride.\n\nFrom basic level to advance level and you won't feel any trouble nor hesitate a bit.\n\nIt's easy, it's vast, and it's really usefull.

HM
Nov 17, 2019

it becomes easier wand clearer when one gets to complete the assignments as to how to utilize what has been learned. Practical work is a great way to learn, which was a fundamental part of the course.

Filter by:

3576 - 3600 of 3,785 Reviews for Python for Data Science, AI & Development

By T W

Apr 14, 2020

There are simpler ways to present information. The narrative was extremely fast paced. I found myself having to slow the narration down quite a bit. The course was not for me and I will seek to learn Python through a different means. I do appreciate the limitless opportunities to test and run your code, which is why I gave two stars.

By karl r

Sep 7, 2021

Course is full of typos, random words in random places and other kinds of errors. I wish the instructors would at least once go through the course to see what a mess it is. I really am grateful but this course was a constant headache. Not because it was difficult but because of all the mistakes. Thanks and please fix it !

By Touhami W

Feb 2, 2021

I am disappointed with this course and especially with the APIs part and the use of IBM Watson Studio. It is very poorly explained, we talk about predicting house prices and then we work on US economy. It deserves to be reworked. I wasted a lot of time figuring out what is required and not getting started with python

By Krzysztof O

Dec 21, 2019

The course is too easy, there are not enough examples for self-practicing. The examples should demand enough effort to get rid of people who are just "certificate collectors". After all, the value of the certificate will be almost zero, anyone how just wants and has money to pay the fee is able to get it.

By Florent M

May 7, 2019

Cours intéressant mais pas très concret dans son approche. Evaluation très décevante ne permettant pas de mettre en oeuvre le langage mais encore une fois tournée vers une publicité déguisée pour IBM. Le fait que l'entreprise soit à l'origine du cours ne devrait pas impacter la pertinence de son contenu.

By Xuebin C

Aug 28, 2021

unclear structure, jumping between weeks and modules, for example course went back to process different types of data mainly using pandas after API and scrapping sessions. Even for me as who already has experience with python, it's a bit confusing to understand why the course is organized in such a way.

By Roque G G

May 15, 2019

It jumps to some slightly more advanced code without enough explanation or breakdown to explain how to use it for other things. A ton of stuff in the labs does not work when trying it out for yourself. Seems a little packed with information that should be expanded upon over the several more weeks.

By Karolis V

Jan 26, 2021

This is too fast and not detailed enough for someone who is new with Python. Also, always trying to plug IBM Watson studio, which is slow and sometimes requires multiple attempts to de-bug. Why wont you let us use local jupyter notebook? There are definitely better python courses on this site

By Carsten K

Apr 25, 2020

Good course but needs a major review. Some things are wrong, others not very precise and vague. Video lessons are often a bit sloppy (misaligned graphics, questions come seconds before the answer was given and the like). Overall feels a bit unprofessional and could use some polish...

By nicholas e o

Nov 14, 2018

felt very unprepared for final assignment. Week 5 assignment would only be appropriate if we had a video walking us through, and explaining the specific requests, and the why and hows of each point of the task. then it would potentially be a great way to finish off this course.

By Magdalena R

Nov 23, 2018

The course material is ok (a bit to basic) but personally I don't like robotic teaching. I prefer to see the profesor during the online course. The last assingment isn't very well explained and is a Little bit confusing the section of grading peers with the section of complet

By Tiffany W S

Sep 19, 2018

The Peer Assignment did long go along with the lessons. It was almost completely unrelated. You need to include a lesson work with XML if that is going to be the Peer Assignment for this course.

The videos need to be updated. The audio and video don't match for some lessons.

By Ed P

Apr 5, 2020

The labs did not always function properly, I found the external sites to be spotty (both IBM and the python lab site) as far as their reliability. I suggest that for the python labs that there be an alternative like downloading Anaconda to run Jupyter notebooks locally.

By Jon M G

Apr 13, 2021

I was not impressed by this course and felt the actual Python learnings were very superficial. The videos were very quick and hard to follow despite of the fact that I have a basic knowledge of Python already. Based on my experience I would not recommend this course.

By Nikolay B

Mar 18, 2021

authors have really bad programming knowledge. `File.append()` called "attribute, `\n` called "Python command", some variables named as `FileContent`. I really hope all Data Science related courses on this track have better quality. Total disappointment so far

By vicky t

Jul 16, 2019

more improvement in teaching can be done as only 3 quiz was there in most of the section if quiz from each topic should be present in my way min 10 question should be asked whether passing criteria can be reduced because when we do question boost our confident

By Martin V

Aug 15, 2020

The video lectures barely scratch the surface of Python's capability and the notebooks are littered up with advertisements.

Also, the quizes do not show up the right answer in case you made a mistake.

The final assignment was interesting though.

By Surya B

Jan 24, 2021

This moved way too fast for a beginner—while the quizzes and final project were reasonably simple, the labs were WAY too complicated, and this seems like a common sentiment. Would not recommend unless you're experience in Python already.

By Dina S

Apr 20, 2021

I'm halfway through and the lab notebooks just don't work at all. They load and load but never actually open. I've now read a bunch of other reviews saying the final project is a nightmare, so I'm not going to waste more time on this.

By William J

Sep 26, 2020

This course does not prepare you to use python outside of IBM's platform. It makes no effort to teach you how to use any of it's libraries of functions outside it's Watson nonsense place. I know less now than I did when I started.

By Jaya G

May 21, 2019

Was quite the challenge. Without the help of peers, it would be impossible. Course content compared to the assignment were very different levels of difficulty. Assignment was much more difficult. Instructions were somewhat vague

By Rohan B

May 28, 2019

The overall course is decent , it could have indulged in a deeper python understanding but the exercise were fine.

The final assignment in week 5 has no explanation or resource and is just left for the peers to do on their own.

By S. U

Jun 4, 2020

Explanations were ok, but almost no real exercises, quizzes are far too easy and the final exercise was also absurdly simple. Courses need to have more exercises to give students the opportunity to really learn the material.

By Sachini J

Nov 13, 2018

The material of this course was helpful in understanding Python, however the final peer graded assignment was very confusing. The instructions were not clear and also it tested skills that were not taught in this course.

By Vanessa C

Aug 9, 2019

very useful one but the content didn't update yet

I was lost when I started Week 3 as the steps for us to follow isn't sync with the actual platform in IBM studio already. Appreciate the organization will update it