Chevron Left
Back to Python for Data Science and AI

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Python for Data Science and AI by IBM

4.6
stars
19,328 ratings
3,032 reviews

About the Course

Kickstart your learning of Python for data science, as well as programming in general, with this beginner-friendly introduction to Python. Python is one of the world’s most popular programming languages, and there has never been greater demand for professionals with the ability to apply Python fundamentals to drive business solutions across industries. This course will take you from zero to programming in Python in a matter of hours—no prior programming experience necessary! You will learn Python fundamentals, including data structures and data analysis, complete hands-on exercises throughout the course modules, and create a final project to demonstrate your new skills. By the end of this course, you’ll feel comfortable creating basic programs, working with data, and solving real-world problems in Python. You’ll gain a strong foundation for more advanced learning in the field, and develop skills to help advance your career. This course can be applied to multiple Specialization or Professional Certificate programs. Completing this course will count towards your learning in any of the following programs: IBM Applied AI Professional Certificate Applied Data Science Specialization IBM Data Science Professional Certificate Upon completion of any of the above programs, in addition to earning a Specialization completion certificate from Coursera, you’ll also receive a digital badge from IBM recognizing your expertise in the field....

Top reviews

HM
Nov 17, 2019

it becomes easier wand clearer when one gets to complete the assignments as to how to utilize what has been learned. Practical work is a great way to learn, which was a fundamental part of the course.

MA
May 16, 2020

The syllabus of the course takes you in a roller-coaster ride.\n\nFrom basic level to advance level and you won't feel any trouble nor hesitate a bit.\n\nIt's easy, it's vast, and it's really usefull.

Filter by:

201 - 225 of 2,998 Reviews for Python for Data Science and AI

By Antonel N

Sep 27, 2020

Not an easy course, yet a truly excellent one! It is a solid starting point on mastering advanced concepts related to understanding and using Python programming language to manage data. Not only you learn the Python libraries involved in data science, but also how to work work with APIs to connect to other platforms or web services to build a powerful application.

By Fitrie R

Aug 23, 2020

Eventhough this is not my first time to learn python, I found the course could define the terms of python pinpoint and helps our brain to use the terms correctly. However, updating the materials such as hands on lab is essential to reduce the time learning (as there's one or some files are no longer exist but still need to use in the final assignment)

By Ankur G

Mar 29, 2020

A good course to learn basics of Python so as to facilitate analysis and visualization of data to make effective decisions. I thank the professors to make this course interesting and worth it. Only thing is, videos can be made in a better way so as to facilitate people with non programming background. Maybe some basics of programming would help.

By Anderson C T

Jan 9, 2020

Es un buen curso para introducirse a la programación en Python, mi recomendación para los estudiantes es replicar los laboratorios en su computador variando los casos, así aprenden más. El nivel de ingles en los vídeos es comprensible para los que no manejamos completamente ese idioma, pero sí sería muy bueno colocar los subtitulos en español.

By VIMAL J R A

Jun 20, 2019

This course provided me an ample of basics knowledge in python for data science. I surely recommend everyone to take this course and it's not necessary that you must have a computer science or IT technology related knowledge to take this course. Everyone who has inspiration to learn about python in data science can take this course.

By Ankit R

May 7, 2020

Earlier I was keen interested in doing this course and thought what I will learn in just a small video but I'm amazed how good the course is structured and learned a basics of Data Analysis. The project at the end was really helpful. It was my 3rd course in a row and happy to learn more. Thanks faculty members and Coursera team.

By Berkay T

Sep 11, 2019

I think overall the course is fairly good in teaching the fundamentals of python. The only thing I'd say is that you get to learn a lot of codes during the lecture, but examples aren't that abundant or challenging to really test the skills. I think there should be less coding more practicing to learn these fundemantals by heart.

By ADARSH K P

Aug 16, 2019

Very good course to get familiar with all the basics of Python and it's application in Data Science.Ton of knowledge is packed in just a few minutes of video and also there are quizes in the video to check if you are paying attention or not...(TIP: always try to search for a little extra by googling stuffs if u are a beginner. )

By Samuel J N

Sep 9, 2020

This was a great paced intro to Python. I thoroughly enjoyed the examples used.

It would be nice if the Final lab was updated to reflect the correct instructions on using the IBM Cloud Based Storage to create a URL link fo the dashboard the student creates. Luckily this information was at the top of the Week 5 discussion page.

By Vikas K S

Apr 23, 2020

Well! Course is quite better as expected from Coursera. Content of the course is specifically related to the core data science modules and with an extraa advantage as basics of Pyhton Programming fundamentals. Overall, the course is excellent for begineers who wants to build their career in the field of Data science and AI.

By Md. R H

Sep 3, 2019

I think it's difficult to understand for who are new in programming. And I think some topic must be added in course. Such as, how can we take input and the key features of object oriented programming . But for the beginner the whole shyllabus of this course is enough to understand the basic operation of python programming.

By Zubair H

Jul 11, 2020

A very useful and insightful course for any one looking to rewind its structured programming basics and develop functional knowledge of python and more advance libraries i.e. numpy, pandas, matplotlib, bokeh plots and many more. Cloud computing in practice, fundamental intelligence in speech recognition and much much more

By Leon A

Apr 10, 2020

The course itself is very interesting and has taught me a lot. There were some technical problems with accessing the final project but these were resolved quickly and my final project was marked within less than two hours. Overall a good experience which I can recommend for anyone interested in Python and Data Science.

By Ruchita K

Jun 15, 2020

I am a complete fresher when it comes to Python. I have only a little background of learning a bit of Java. I found this course very easy to understand and the Labs were the actual highlight of this course where I learned the most. If you are taking this course, do the labs thoroughly there a lot to take away. Enjoy!!

By Ashwin C P

Dec 16, 2019

On of the best course that I took on Coursera since it covers python from the basics. It gives an good idea about how to use the tool in an application oriented manner. The final assignment was the best as it covers almost all the exercises of past weeks. also it gives an real life application of how to use python.

By Amin N

Nov 13, 2020

The Watson Studio interface has changed compared to the instructions in the course for final assignment submission. I think it would be better to update that part or change the way of final project assignment. On overall, the IDE of Watson Studio is not user friendly at all and very complicated to work with.

Thanks :)

By Athira A

Jul 2, 2020

This course covers the basics of Python in great detail. The videos were easy to follow and backed by exercises giving the student an opportunity to see the code and its effect in action. I do have programming experience but am new to Python and I am very glad I utilized the pandemic period to start with a new skill.

By Tareq M F

Jun 17, 2020

Well organized course with effective material to get acquainted with the usage of Python in Data analysis. Thanks, Coursera and IBM also for this platform, if anyone really cares about learning definitely they should have a look into it. One more thing a basic knowledge of Python will help to make it smooth learning.

By Andreas E

May 15, 2020

Well organized course. First couple of lessons are a bit slow (at least if you have experience from other statistical software), but quickly picks up pace and has some really interesting assignments. A few bugs/typos in some of the exercises but maybe that was on purpose to keep us on our toes? Would recommend.

By Abhishek B

Apr 10, 2020

Covered the basic pretty well. Introducing some challenging problems would have been really helpful, even if it was to be made optional. Rather than giving 5-10% grades for each quiz, we could have made the final assignment tougher & with more problems for testing. The test only incorporated problems on pandas.

By Andru F

Dec 30, 2019

This course was really great, it helped grow a foundation for Python in context of Data Science. It helped me get over a learning plateau I've been at for some time to feel more comfortable with coding. The coursework and labs were top notch, I'm quickly becoming a fan of IBM Watson Studio from this as well.

By dharmesh s

Aug 18, 2020

MOST IMPORTANT PART OF THE COURSE THIS PYTHON FOR DATA SCIENCE AND AI DUE TO PROGRAMMING SKILL DEVELOPMENT AND IMPROVE YOUR SKILL FOR DATA SCIENCE FIELD PANDA AND NUMPY SMALL INTRODUCTION STARTING BASE WORK VERY GOOD MOST IMPORTANT COMPLETE THE ASSIGHNMENT

THANK YOU FOR THE COURSERA COMMUNITY

By Ioana B

Apr 21, 2020

Very good course, you can gain a lot of knowledge through well explained videos and labs.

One small issue though. There's a reference in the final Lab to a tutorial called PROVISIONING AN OBJECT STORAGE INSTANCE ON IBM CLOUD. This tutorial was not previously mentioned at all throughout the course.

By Gracia C

May 3, 2020

This course definitely helps guide you through some basics of Python but it really is up to you to practice on your own in the labs. The video lectures with the diagrams and the voiceover are extremely helpful. Overall, I'd recommend this course to any beginner who is looking to learn Python.

By SALIL R

Jun 30, 2020

It was a good course. Not that. I leaned lot but I believe I haveth to learn bit more on Functions, API Calls and applications of different API to match with parameters.

However the instructions were good, understandable and lucid in substantiation. Helpful are the aspects of taking Notes.