Chevron Left
Back to Python for Data Science and AI

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Python for Data Science and AI by IBM

4.6
stars
17,917 ratings
2,762 reviews

About the Course

Kickstart your learning of Python for data science, as well as programming in general, with this beginner-friendly introduction to Python. Python is one of the world’s most popular programming languages, and there has never been greater demand for professionals with the ability to apply Python fundamentals to drive business solutions across industries. This course will take you from zero to programming in Python in a matter of hours—no prior programming experience necessary! You will learn Python fundamentals, including data structures and data analysis, complete hands-on exercises throughout the course modules, and create a final project to demonstrate your new skills. By the end of this course, you’ll feel comfortable creating basic programs, working with data, and solving real-world problems in Python. You’ll gain a strong foundation for more advanced learning in the field, and develop skills to help advance your career. This course can be applied to multiple Specialization or Professional Certificate programs. Completing this course will count towards your learning in any of the following programs: IBM Applied AI Professional Certificate Applied Data Science Specialization IBM Data Science Professional Certificate Upon completion of any of the above programs, in addition to earning a Specialization completion certificate from Coursera, you’ll also receive a digital badge from IBM recognizing your expertise in the field....

Top reviews

MA

May 17, 2020

The syllabus of the course takes you in a roller-coaster ride.\n\nFrom basic level to advance level and you won't feel any trouble nor hesitate a bit.\n\nIt's easy, it's vast, and it's really usefull.

HM

Nov 18, 2019

it becomes easier wand clearer when one gets to complete the assignments as to how to utilize what has been learned. Practical work is a great way to learn, which was a fundamental part of the course.

Filter by:

2651 - 2675 of 2,736 Reviews for Python for Data Science and AI

By Amit D

Jul 11, 2020

This course could have been more detailed and with better exercises.

By shreya m

Jul 24, 2019

The course material was not good enough to complete the assignments.

By Alexander V

Jul 12, 2019

Final Assignment posting is confusing and instructions DO NOT help.

By MD. Z

Jun 18, 2019

Course material is just too bad, Explainations are very bad as well

By Adarsh S

May 05, 2019

Instructions unclear. Required forum for certain things to work.

By Amy D

Sep 24, 2019

There were numerous errors, and it was hard to follow.

By Salvador C

Dec 30, 2019

The content is abit outdated with links not working.

By Abhinav V

May 15, 2020

Explanation not satisfactory

Animations are very bad

By Ashish D

Dec 22, 2019

Only worth an introductory course.

Better avoided.

By Ritayan G

Jun 09, 2020

Good for basics. I was expecting something else.

By KARTHIK S

Sep 13, 2019

There is no deep contents for AI in this course.

By Rudy S

Jun 25, 2018

Lots of typos in labs, which are not graded.

By Larry P

Mar 02, 2020

so fast for a beginner to understand

By Michel R

Apr 30, 2020

Exercise a little bit disappointing

By FENG L

May 31, 2019

the lab is not clear and missing

By Davide B

May 17, 2019

to many time spent on IBM Watson

By MICHAEL K M

Apr 22, 2020

Very confusing final assignment

By Saumya G

May 26, 2019

Not very user friendly

By Mariano J G C

Jul 20, 2020

poor instructing

By prattya d

Aug 03, 2018

robotic teaching

By Yuhuan Z

Jan 30, 2020

Too simple

By Kevin F

Jan 24, 2020

Very basic

By Yuanjia Y

Dec 30, 2019

too easy

By Hakki K

Jul 09, 2020

Hi,

I completed entire program and received the Professional Certificate. On the Coursera link of my certificate "3 weeks of study, 2-3 hours/week average per course" is written. This information is not correct at all, it takes approximately 3 times of that time on average! I informed Coursera about it but no correction was made. It should be corrected with "it takes approximately 19 hours study per course" or "Approx. 10 months to complete Suggested 4 hours/week for the Professional Certificate".

Here is the approximate duration for each course can be found one by one clicking the webpages of the courses in the professional certificate webpage: (*)

Course 1: approximately 9 hours to complete

Course 2: approximately 16 hours to complete

Course 3: approximately 9 hours to complete

Course 4: approximately 22 hours to complete

Course 5: approximately 14 hours to complete

Course 6: approximately 16 hours to complete

Course 7: approximately 16 hours to complete

Course 8: approximately 20 hours to complete

Course 9: approximately 47 hours to complete

This makes in total approximately 169 hours to complete the Professional Certificate. As there are 9 courses, each course takes approximately 19 hours (=169/9) to complete.

(*): https://www.coursera.org/professional-certificates/ibm-data-science?utm_source=gg&utm_medium=sem&campaignid=1876641588&utm_content=10-IBM-Data-Science-US&adgroupid=70740725700&device=c&keyword=ibm%20data%20science%20professional%20certificate%20coursera&matchtype=b&network=g&devicemodel=&adpostion=&creativeid=347453133242&hide_mobile_promo&gclid=Cj0KCQjw0Mb3BRCaARIsAPSNGpWPrZDik6-Ne30To7vg20jGReHOKi4AbvstRfSbFxqA-6ZMrPn1gDAaAiMGEALw_wcB

By Aleksey A

Dec 09, 2019

Lots of mistakes and imprecisions. In case of technical issues, staff will leave you alone with your problem after one formal and meaningless reply. The staff does not comment more than once on a topic, even if the issue is not resolved. Get ready to work through your problems with the help of a chatbot, that is in a beta development stage.

You have to deal with Watson studio in this course. Oh, this is such a pain... I couldn't even create a new project there dew to technical issues. After getting in a dead end with Coursera stuff I tried to use IBM support and that was so fun, just check it out:

reply1:

"Hello Alexey

blah blah blah

Regards Raino Soikkeli IBM Watson Services Support"

solution provided not working

reply2:

"Hello Alexey , My name is Nigel Terry and I on following up on this ticket as my colleague Raino is off-shift at the moment.

exactly the same blah blah blah

Please confirm and I will follow up accordingly. Kind regards, Nigel "

not working again. no wonder, he gave me the same instructions the first guy did.

reply3:

"Hi Alexey, Nigel and Raino are not available at this time. I also work with the IBM Watson Studio Cloud (WSC) team. I do not have access to your services (LOL, same as previous two guys), but I can list them.

exactly the same blah blah blah"

and not working again, to no wonder.

I am thrilled to find out how many people work at IBM