Chevron Left
Back to Python Functions, Files, and Dictionaries

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Python Functions, Files, and Dictionaries by University of Michigan

4.8
993 ratings
137 reviews

About the Course

This course introduces the dictionary data structure and user-defined functions. You’ll learn about local and global variables, optional and keyword parameter-passing, named functions and lambda expressions. You’ll also learn about Python’s sorted function and how to control the order in which it sorts by passing in another function as an input. For your final project, you’ll read in simulated social media data from a file, compute sentiment scores, and write out .csv files. It covers chapters 10-16 of the textbook “Fundamentals of Python Programming,” which is the accompanying text (optional and free) for this course. The course is well-suited for you if you have already taken the "Python Basics" course and want to gain further fundamental knowledge of the Python language. Together, both courses are geared towards newcomers to Python programming, those who need a refresher on Python basics, or those who may have had some exposure to Python programming but want a more in-depth exposition and vocabulary for describing and reasoning about programs. This is a follow-up to the "Python Basics" course (course 1 of the Python 3 Programming Specialization), and it is the second of five courses in the specialization....

Top reviews

SG

Sep 16, 2019

It's amazing learn for beginner .A wonderful learning resource and very simple way explains everything . Excellent lessons ,check your understanding ,e-book ,practice, and quiz work and lot of thing

BA

Nov 07, 2019

The course met all my expectations and went beyond. The instructors' explanations were easy to understand and the innovative method of having a digital textbook was undoubtedly convenient.

Filter by:

51 - 75 of 138 Reviews for Python Functions, Files, and Dictionaries

By Jason J D

Jun 24, 2019

I absolutely enjoyed this course. Not only did it help me gain an insight on Python files, dictionaries and functions, but it also helped me use these concepts smartly to create a project. A very well paced and well structured course. I would definitely recommend it to anyone interested in Python, and especially to those who have completed the first course of this Python specialization.

By Yam H L L

Jun 26, 2019

One of the best online courses i ever had.

By IM S H

Jun 26, 2019

very helpful course, thank you!

By Manik M

Jun 26, 2019

Full of glitches

By Brian C

Jun 25, 2019

Great Course, it's a good gradual increase in complexity coming from the Python Basics course. I'd highly encourage anyone reading this to jump right in if they've finished the first course already (this is course 2/5)

By Benoit R

Jun 27, 2019

Teaching at the right speed, with the right tools

By Emanuele A

Jul 01, 2019

that's all ok!

By M N K

Jul 03, 2019

Great Course! Awaiting more courses from University of Michigan.

They deliver with real fluency and great interaction.

Thank you for everything!

By Dao X H

Jul 06, 2019

good

By RAKIBUL A

Jul 09, 2019

One of the best courses I have ever taken!

I very well organized, teach step by step. Only thing I would request to improve is to add even more exercise since wring code is the best way to learn programming.

By Phillip D

Jul 08, 2019

I loved this class. They cover the material is a slow and methodical manner. The instructors are clear and concise in their lectures. I've learned a lot and look forward to finishing this specialization before moving on to more advanced Python classes.

By Shubhra B G

Jul 10, 2019

best!!!

By Victoria

Jul 13, 2019

It was my best studying, thank you!

By George M

Jul 15, 2019

Great overall. Some of the exercise were a little repetitive. A few exercises might be essentially the same question just with different data/numbers. The course communicated the concepts it aims to effectively though.

By James U

Jul 16, 2019

Excellent lessons, check your understanding, e-book, practice, and quiz work. This is not easy. You must know how to implement the instructions and be a bit clever as well. It is not perfect, but close enough.

Only issues are more suggestions. 1. To have a Show Me and then get a new questions, when you are stuck. The user blogs are only of minimal help. 2. To be precise in expectations - QA the requests for comprehension by students. I found expert reviews to be of marginal help as they all have assumptions.

By Seishu M

Jul 25, 2019

Great lectures. This course was good to understand functions, files and dictionaries. Besides, you can get practical skills thought the last project

By Peter J B

Jul 30, 2019

Great course, challenging in parts and sufficient material to get through to completion.

By LUIS H S U

Aug 04, 2019

Excellent course

By Karen v E

Aug 08, 2019

A wonderful learning resource. So very thorough and explains everything. The lecturers are friendly and have easy voices to listen to. This is the best course teaching a programming language that I have encountered. Top recommendation.

By Tammireddy S

Aug 12, 2019

Excellent

By Lubomir D

Aug 09, 2019

This course will teach you how to write simple functions, how to work with dictionaries and files. And there are some good dad jokes in there as well. 5 out of 5

By Gildo M

Aug 15, 2019

One of the best courses available for learning Python. Amazing!

By Wood Z

Aug 16, 2019

very helpful

By atul k s

Aug 16, 2019

its amazing learn for beginner . i am very thank full coursera and michigan family . but your support not easy possible to learn python.........so very very thank you

By Joshua S

May 21, 2019

I felt very comfortable with the pace of this course. Very well thought out and structured.