Chevron Left
Back to Python Functions, Files, and Dictionaries

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Python Functions, Files, and Dictionaries by University of Michigan

4.8
stars
4,244 ratings
669 reviews

About the Course

This course introduces the dictionary data structure and user-defined functions. You’ll learn about local and global variables, optional and keyword parameter-passing, named functions and lambda expressions. You’ll also learn about Python’s sorted function and how to control the order in which it sorts by passing in another function as an input. For your final project, you’ll read in simulated social media data from a file, compute sentiment scores, and write out .csv files. It covers chapters 10-16 of the textbook “Fundamentals of Python Programming,” which is the accompanying text (optional and free) for this course. The course is well-suited for you if you have already taken the "Python Basics" course and want to gain further fundamental knowledge of the Python language. Together, both courses are geared towards newcomers to Python programming, those who need a refresher on Python basics, or those who may have had some exposure to Python programming but want a more in-depth exposition and vocabulary for describing and reasoning about programs. This is a follow-up to the "Python Basics" course (course 1 of the Python 3 Programming Specialization), and it is the second of five courses in the specialization....

Top reviews

SD
Jun 24, 2020

Good course, had a great hands on practice with the Runestone Notebook Environment.\n\nAppreciate the efforts of the instructors and whoever has designed in making the course and helped delivering it.

SG
Sep 15, 2019

It's amazing learn for beginner .A wonderful learning resource and very simple way explains everything . Excellent lessons ,check your understanding ,e-book ,practice, and quiz work and lot of thing

Filter by:

201 - 225 of 671 Reviews for Python Functions, Files, and Dictionaries

By Robert F

Jun 27, 2020

I had already taken two graduate school courses in Python, and yet I still learned a lot in this course

By Habib H S

May 3, 2019

I have already done course 1 & now starting this second one... Its really awesome course . I love this.

By henloy A

Feb 28, 2019

Great Course and materials. The instructors are great and easy to understand even for a newbie like me

By Chong L Y

Jul 19, 2020

This is a very excellent python course that have a very clear lecture video and a very good material.

By Aditya S

Feb 28, 2020

This leveled up my knowledge from basic python to intermediate, got to know about a lot of concepts

By Anshuman S

Jul 19, 2021

best material for specialization in python. Very helpful course for building the basics of python.

By Minal R

Oct 19, 2020

Excellent Course. They should upload more videos like these on other programming languages as well

By Yogesh S

May 12, 2020

A challenging course which taken in the right spirit has a lot to offer.

Keep learning Keep growing

By Vinit G

Jan 26, 2021

Great course to understand the basic concepts and constructs of Functions, Files and Dictionaries

By Olivier R

Aug 29, 2019

I Highly Advise anyone to take these Courses, they really Teach you how to think & Program Python

By Nurul I L N

Jul 25, 2020

its really good course, that teached us really complete so we can understanding with the lesson

By Elena A B

Mar 5, 2021

best course ever!! very good content, materials and professor! I'd give it 100 stars if I could

By O161247 D V P K

Sep 13, 2020

Excellent, by being more clear in content and in explanation. Thank you so much for the course

By Antonio A

Aug 22, 2020

Very clearly, and very interesting course about python. The instructors are very professional.

By Pavan K R

Jun 4, 2020

Great course structure and teaching! It was a wonderful experience through the entire course.

By kostas g

Jul 5, 2020

this was a great course! I truly enjoyed learning. Material and exercises are very helpful.

By Patrick B

Apr 16, 2019

Great Course and content, only the explanantion of the final test is a little bit confusing.

By Le H K

Jul 18, 2020

Its really helpful for people who wanna become with python. Tks all teacher for this course

By Partha M

Apr 26, 2020

Lucidly explained concepts with illustrated examples. Clears the fundamentals in a good way

By Frederic C

Oct 20, 2019

Very well structured course. Thank you! I'm on my way to complete the whole Specialization.

By Joshua S

May 21, 2019

I felt very comfortable with the pace of this course. Very well thought out and structured.

By Fabian C H R

Jun 11, 2020

buenas cosas en el contenido y una explicacion muy buena de parte del equipo de profesores

By Yvonne M C

Oct 14, 2019

Good course to get familiar with Python Functions, Files and Dictionaries basic knowledge

By Huy N Q

Apr 2, 2019

This is the first course of mine in Coursera. It is very interesting. Thank you Dr. Chuck

By yeisson i f p

Jan 29, 2021

excelente curso, aprendí los temas a profundidad y con muy buenos ejercicios de prectica