Chevron Left
Back to Applied Machine Learning in Python

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Applied Machine Learning in Python by University of Michigan

4.6
stars
8,296 ratings

About the Course

This course will introduce the learner to applied machine learning, focusing more on the techniques and methods than on the statistics behind these methods. The course will start with a discussion of how machine learning is different than descriptive statistics, and introduce the scikit learn toolkit through a tutorial. The issue of dimensionality of data will be discussed, and the task of clustering data, as well as evaluating those clusters, will be tackled. Supervised approaches for creating predictive models will be described, and learners will be able to apply the scikit learn predictive modelling methods while understanding process issues related to data generalizability (e.g. cross validation, overfitting). The course will end with a look at more advanced techniques, such as building ensembles, and practical limitations of predictive models. By the end of this course, students will be able to identify the difference between a supervised (classification) and unsupervised (clustering) technique, identify which technique they need to apply for a particular dataset and need, engineer features to meet that need, and write python code to carry out an analysis. This course should be taken after Introduction to Data Science in Python and Applied Plotting, Charting & Data Representation in Python and before Applied Text Mining in Python and Applied Social Analysis in Python....

Top reviews

AS

Nov 26, 2020

great experience and learning lots of technique to apply on real world data, and get important and insightful information from raw data. motivated to proceed further in this domain and course as well.

OA

Sep 8, 2017

This course is ideally designed for understanding, which tools you can use to do machine learning tasks in python. However, for deep understanding ML algorithms you should take more math based courses

Filter by:

226 - 250 of 1,510 Reviews for Applied Machine Learning in Python

By David A d A S

Jul 31, 2017

Awesome.

I learned a lot of fundamentals machine learning. The lectures are very clear and the assignaments focus on practical examples.

I recomend this course for everyone who want to have a global view of machine learning.

I enjoyed a lot.

By Michael D

Jul 19, 2017

I thought this was a fascinating course that tried to do the near impossible and succinctly summarise the key techniques of machine learning. And it did that very well. Very challenging tasks, but also overall inspiring for the next step.

By DHANANJAY A 2

Nov 23, 2021

Excellent Course To Strengthen Your Skills In Machine Learning. Not Recommended For Beginners because It requires some amount of basic knowledge about python programming and also some basic terminologies knowledge of machine learning.

By Vishesh G

Sep 8, 2018

This was an amazing course that I absolutely loved working on. It gave a deep insight into machine learning. I gained a lot of knowledge from this course. A must for the students who are just stepping in the field of Machine Learning.

By Arturo B E G

May 31, 2020

It's a nice course, that accomplishes what it promised: overviewing ML algorithms from an applied perspective; however, I think that some other model selection methods (especially when comparing regressions) should have been included

By Ganesh K

Apr 14, 2018

Tough and exhausting, but thoroughly worth it. I learnt a lot - and I already knew machine learning before taking this course. Be prepared to spend a lot of time preparing for the quizzes. The assignments are easier than the quizzes.

By Manikant R

May 9, 2020

The course is well taught, by covering a lot of topics in short time, Yes you have to research a lot to get a full understanding, as the ML itself is not easy, you have to do hard work. I liked the references provided in the course.

By Andrew

Mar 11, 2019

Really well explained theory without too much of a mathematical deep dive that provides a perfect set up to learn about machine learning from a purely math/stats perspective through Andrew Ng's Machine Learning course or self study

By Lina J

Jan 25, 2021

That was a great and challenging course.

I am glad I took it, I learned a lot from the videos and especially from the labs. The last lab took me 5 days to figure out while I was benefit a lot from succeeding in coding it.

Thank you,

By Michael L

Jun 17, 2017

Excellent high level advance course with in depth explanations. It is well structured. It learn me to applied Machine learning from very basics to optimum level. It help me to understand details of Machine Learning in Python.

By anurag s

Jun 29, 2017

Clear, smooth and awesome course. Had fun learning the theoretical stuffs . Assignments and quizzes are really helpful in understanding the concepts. Last assignment helped a lot in applying the things learned in this course

By Shreyas M T

Sep 22, 2018

Everything builds up very nicely on top of each other. A qualm some might have is that part of the assessments might be very simple. However, this is an applied course and the course material stays true to what it promises.

By atul s

May 21, 2020

Making ML concepts accessible to the general public. If you are interested in gaining a basic understanding of the broad field, dive right in. Final assignment of Week 4 will really test all you have learned in the course.

By Daniel N

Jul 10, 2017

I think this course is a real challenge and gives a great introduction to machine learning. I enjoyed it

thoroughly even if I had my troubles with the Quiz questions.. Great course overall, I would recommend it to anyone.

By Mohamed H

Jun 26, 2018

C'est le meilleure cours en pratique que j'ai rencontré dans toute ma vie.je vous remercie énormément pour m'offrir cette cours et je remercié mon professeur pour la simplicité et la méthode avec laquelle a fait ce cours.

By Dennis W

Jun 7, 2020

Absolutely must take for hands-on experience and practical knowledge. Instructor explained the tough course material in easy to grasp way. The assignments are challenging but achievable with time and reinforce learning.

By Ashish C

Nov 29, 2019

This is the best course for machine learning. Assignments are really good. It make sure you know all the things that are taught to you. Even some times I had to go through the lectures again to complete the assignment.

By MARKANTI B S

Aug 14, 2020

This is one of best machine learning course among I did . It about how to apply machine learning alogrithms rather than explaination how alogrithms works but a brief idea is given about that machine learning alogrithm

By Pablo S C S

Aug 25, 2019

This course was a very very good introduction to ML focusing on SciKitLearn and using many real-life examples and datasets. Prof. Kevyn Thompson is very engaging and professional. I don't know how it could be better.

By Abhay S

Feb 4, 2021

A great high-level overview course on machine learning. Great challenging assignments and highly conceptual. Putting everything together, building intuitions on different topics that one can leverage for lifetime.

By Prateek D

Oct 19, 2021

Best course that I did on coursera. Learnt a great deal helped me a lot, thanks a lot University of Michigan and coursera as this course taught so many things which helped me to get placed in college placements.

By Piotr K

Nov 29, 2017

Great course to gain basic ML skills and start building first models. Excellent starting point. Combined with Andrew Ng`s course on Machine Learning it`s great foundation for futher development as AI specialist.

By Edwin V

Jun 17, 2020

Machine Learning Fundamentals are taught in concise and easy to understand manner. Some of the ML algorithms such as Kernelized SVM have been explained brilliantly. Thanks for putting up this wonderful course.

By Limber

Dec 3, 2017

It is a very practical course if you have learned the Andrew Ng's Machine Learning course. It is much much more practical and I have gained a lot from it. I really wish I could learn it soon. Thanks very much.

By Ayush D

May 30, 2020

Learned a lot from this course, very informative. One thing have to say that its not for absolute beginners, this course required prior knowledge of ml and python which will ease completion of course. Thanks!