Chevron Left
Back to Applied Machine Learning in Python

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Applied Machine Learning in Python by University of Michigan

4.6
stars
7,024 ratings
1,278 reviews

About the Course

This course will introduce the learner to applied machine learning, focusing more on the techniques and methods than on the statistics behind these methods. The course will start with a discussion of how machine learning is different than descriptive statistics, and introduce the scikit learn toolkit through a tutorial. The issue of dimensionality of data will be discussed, and the task of clustering data, as well as evaluating those clusters, will be tackled. Supervised approaches for creating predictive models will be described, and learners will be able to apply the scikit learn predictive modelling methods while understanding process issues related to data generalizability (e.g. cross validation, overfitting). The course will end with a look at more advanced techniques, such as building ensembles, and practical limitations of predictive models. By the end of this course, students will be able to identify the difference between a supervised (classification) and unsupervised (clustering) technique, identify which technique they need to apply for a particular dataset and need, engineer features to meet that need, and write python code to carry out an analysis. This course should be taken after Introduction to Data Science in Python and Applied Plotting, Charting & Data Representation in Python and before Applied Text Mining in Python and Applied Social Analysis in Python....

Top reviews

AS
Nov 26, 2020

great experience and learning lots of technique to apply on real world data, and get important and insightful information from raw data. motivated to proceed further in this domain and course as well.

FL
Oct 13, 2017

Very well structured course, and very interesting too! Has made me want to pursue a career in machine learning. I originally just wanted to learn to program, without true goal, now I have one thanks!!

Filter by:

326 - 350 of 1,258 Reviews for Applied Machine Learning in Python

By Quan S

May 8, 2019

Course materials are very systematic and instructive, and the professor teaches very clearly. I like this course and recommend it.

By Flavia A

Mar 11, 2018

Practical class to learn well-known models and scikit-learn. The practice tests are great to help you move from theory to practice.

By Aniket S K

Jul 1, 2020

Good Course. Not for beginners starting with Machine Learning. Intermediate level. Prior knowledge of python libraries would help.

By Émile J

May 19, 2020

The exercices and evaluations are more complex than in the previous courses in this short program, but also much more instructive.

By Himanshu B

May 15, 2020

It was really an excellent well designed course, I gained valuable information that I will use as a business analytics in future.

By Ivan S F

Mar 23, 2019

Very good course. Not very deep, but definitively very wide and appropriate for an overview course of machine learning in python.

By abdulkader h

Jul 4, 2017

I appreciate so much this course even it was so dense and slitly short. It would be useful to extend it over several weeks again.

By usama i

Oct 12, 2020

Excellent course to understand and learn about how to work with available classifiers in scikit learn. Thanks for this course :)

By Ari W R

Aug 28, 2020

it is a pleasure to learn about machine learning course. I can remind and study again about the main things in machine learning.

By Jason L

Aug 26, 2020

Very solid course. Covers so many key machine learning concepts in a short period of time. Week 2 is intense - but awesome!

By Mahindra S R

Mar 27, 2020

Useful for understanding the application part of ML whereas Andrew Ng's course gives a more in-depth understanding of the topics

By SURENDRA O

Dec 25, 2018

The course was very well designed. The pace of the lectures are perfect unlike other course when the instructor moves very fast.

By Ram N T

Jan 2, 2020

The course material and Professor Kevyn Collins-Thompson is awesome. A person who's seeking to learn ML should try this course.

By STEVEN V D

Jan 21, 2018

World class course.

Covers a lot of core machine learning subjects in an accessible way with a practical focus in Python.

Thanks!

By Peter D

Nov 6, 2017

Nice pragmatic approach how to apply machine learning. Compelling examples, datasets and useful tips how to visualise features.

By Manoj K K M

Jun 30, 2018

For applied machine learning, outstanding. It could be improved with bit more theory, which gives more insight to the concept.

By SHRISH T

Aug 20, 2017

Very good course, for people who want to apply Machine Learning without worrying too much about the theoretical aspects of it.

By Raga

Jun 9, 2017

Very well designed courses! There are many materials to go in depth even if you have done Python Machine Learning in the past.

By Roger A G

Jun 3, 2019

Excellent course! It teaches you the basics of Machine Leaning, and merges the knowledge already acquired in the first module

By Stephen S

May 3, 2019

Had all the basics of Machine Learning algorithms, but they need to update the syllabus with some trending boosting concepts

By Ivan Y

Oct 24, 2018

Great! loved the final project, which is a machine learning project that you can actually put on your resume and talk about!

By Muhammad S

Apr 1, 2020

I am very satisfied with this course. I learnt a lot of techniques from the course that I can apply in my research project.

By Hrishikesh B

Mar 14, 2019

very good course for intermediate level learners .learned a lot in such a short time.thanks to prof.Kevyn Collins-Thompson.

By Bui T D

Oct 29, 2018

It is a great course with best practices. Thank you for your time and consideration. I learnt many things from your course.