Chevron Left
Back to Applied Machine Learning in Python

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Applied Machine Learning in Python by University of Michigan

4.6
stars
7,138 ratings
1,295 reviews

About the Course

This course will introduce the learner to applied machine learning, focusing more on the techniques and methods than on the statistics behind these methods. The course will start with a discussion of how machine learning is different than descriptive statistics, and introduce the scikit learn toolkit through a tutorial. The issue of dimensionality of data will be discussed, and the task of clustering data, as well as evaluating those clusters, will be tackled. Supervised approaches for creating predictive models will be described, and learners will be able to apply the scikit learn predictive modelling methods while understanding process issues related to data generalizability (e.g. cross validation, overfitting). The course will end with a look at more advanced techniques, such as building ensembles, and practical limitations of predictive models. By the end of this course, students will be able to identify the difference between a supervised (classification) and unsupervised (clustering) technique, identify which technique they need to apply for a particular dataset and need, engineer features to meet that need, and write python code to carry out an analysis. This course should be taken after Introduction to Data Science in Python and Applied Plotting, Charting & Data Representation in Python and before Applied Text Mining in Python and Applied Social Analysis in Python....

Top reviews

FL
Oct 13, 2017

Very well structured course, and very interesting too! Has made me want to pursue a career in machine learning. I originally just wanted to learn to program, without true goal, now I have one thanks!!

AS
Nov 26, 2020

great experience and learning lots of technique to apply on real world data, and get important and insightful information from raw data. motivated to proceed further in this domain and course as well.

Filter by:

351 - 375 of 1,274 Reviews for Applied Machine Learning in Python

By Raga

Jun 9, 2017

Very well designed courses! There are many materials to go in depth even if you have done Python Machine Learning in the past.

By Roger A G

Jun 3, 2019

Excellent course! It teaches you the basics of Machine Leaning, and merges the knowledge already acquired in the first module

By Stephen S

May 3, 2019

Had all the basics of Machine Learning algorithms, but they need to update the syllabus with some trending boosting concepts

By Ivan Y

Oct 24, 2018

Great! loved the final project, which is a machine learning project that you can actually put on your resume and talk about!

By Muhammad S

Apr 1, 2020

I am very satisfied with this course. I learnt a lot of techniques from the course that I can apply in my research project.

By Hrishikesh B

Mar 14, 2019

very good course for intermediate level learners .learned a lot in such a short time.thanks to prof.Kevyn Collins-Thompson.

By Bui T D

Oct 29, 2018

It is a great course with best practices. Thank you for your time and consideration. I learnt many things from your course.

By Mkhitar T

Aug 13, 2020

If anyone wants to gain practical skills in Machine Learning with Python, this course for them. Thank you for this course.

By Martin U

Jan 11, 2019

Tough class, learned not to give up and keep trying. Even went back and redid some quizzes in order to get a better grade.

By Boyan Z

Dec 16, 2019

A very useful course that gives very good overview for the applied side of machine learning for solving various problems.

By TEJASWI S

Aug 1, 2019

Concepts were clearly taught and helped me gain knowledge in techniques used in machine learning. Recommend it to others.

By SIMRAN S

Sep 6, 2020

An apt course who want to become Data scientist beautiful Basics of Machine Learning which is one of major topics in it.

By Oguzhan O

Jul 17, 2020

First assingment is kinda off the track with the topic mentioned in first week. overall very good and structured course.

By Henri

Mar 23, 2019

Excellent course, but be ready to spend some time on debugging the automatic grader especially for the final assignment!

By Sandeep S

Aug 3, 2017

Covered a lot of topics. Helps a beginner to get a good overview of the various tools and concepts on Machine Learning.

By João R W S

Jul 4, 2017

Excellent course! Learned a lot both about the concepts and how to apply the methods using scikit-learn. Very good job!

By JAYESH R S

Jun 27, 2020

Awesome course really loved it, especially the visualization techniques used to represent machine learning algorithms.

By Nikita

Jun 13, 2020

Very good explanations. Need full attention. Quizzes and assignments are really challenging. Good learning experience.

By Dave C

Oct 25, 2019

Very enjoyable, informative and I really believe I can go on and build my own ML system with confidence. Recommended.

By SUDHAKAR M S

Oct 16, 2019

Great Course. Helped to understand the basics of machine learning, the algorithms and their applications using python.

By Pratyush L

Sep 28, 2018

The course gives a good overview of the concepts and a great paced programming assignments to understand the concepts.

By Emanuele P

Oct 25, 2017

It gives you the methods and the essential knowledge to build a learning pipeline using Python and SciKit-learn tools.

By Angelika E

Oct 20, 2020

Excellent! I learned a lot in this course. Machine learning algorithms were clearly explained and easy to understand.

By Saiapin A

Jul 23, 2017

This is a great course for those who want to get acquainted with machine learning basics as well as its applications.

By Sergio A D A

Aug 20, 2020

Excellent course, for understand howw work whit dataset and throw the all ways in Machine Learning and Deep Learning