Chevron Left
Back to Applied Machine Learning in Python

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Applied Machine Learning in Python by University of Michigan

4.6
stars
7,163 ratings
1,299 reviews

About the Course

This course will introduce the learner to applied machine learning, focusing more on the techniques and methods than on the statistics behind these methods. The course will start with a discussion of how machine learning is different than descriptive statistics, and introduce the scikit learn toolkit through a tutorial. The issue of dimensionality of data will be discussed, and the task of clustering data, as well as evaluating those clusters, will be tackled. Supervised approaches for creating predictive models will be described, and learners will be able to apply the scikit learn predictive modelling methods while understanding process issues related to data generalizability (e.g. cross validation, overfitting). The course will end with a look at more advanced techniques, such as building ensembles, and practical limitations of predictive models. By the end of this course, students will be able to identify the difference between a supervised (classification) and unsupervised (clustering) technique, identify which technique they need to apply for a particular dataset and need, engineer features to meet that need, and write python code to carry out an analysis. This course should be taken after Introduction to Data Science in Python and Applied Plotting, Charting & Data Representation in Python and before Applied Text Mining in Python and Applied Social Analysis in Python....

Top reviews

FL
Oct 13, 2017

Very well structured course, and very interesting too! Has made me want to pursue a career in machine learning. I originally just wanted to learn to program, without true goal, now I have one thanks!!

AS
Nov 26, 2020

great experience and learning lots of technique to apply on real world data, and get important and insightful information from raw data. motivated to proceed further in this domain and course as well.

Filter by:

376 - 400 of 1,277 Reviews for Applied Machine Learning in Python

By Sergio A D A

Aug 20, 2020

Excellent course, for understand howw work whit dataset and throw the all ways in Machine Learning and Deep Learning

By Bishnu M

May 27, 2018

I have increased my lots of machine learning skills specially with python language, I have got a very good practice.

By chris l

Jan 18, 2020

An excellent course if you are prepared to be patient and do lots of additional research outside the given content.

By akshat g

Sep 15, 2020

It was great learning, Though I had knowledge of this but some additional points of knowledge have made me better

By Said G

Oct 26, 2019

It was really a good experience. The content is rich and clear and the tools at our disposal are of good quality.

By Dindayal H P

Jul 20, 2019

The overall course structure was very good. Also the instructor was good at his knowledge and explaination skill.

By Pooja C

Jun 16, 2018

Helped me understand the fundamental concepts and practice them with assignemens. I highly recommend this course.

By Janesh D

Nov 14, 2017

It was a great course. This course covered a lot of material and Professor explained every concepts very clearly.

By Deepak G

Jun 24, 2020

A very nice course to get involved with the data from good resources and with great insights to draw from those.

By Yuwei Y

Jun 4, 2019

I like this course very much. It focuses on ML application and it's easy to understand. Definitely recommend it!

By Vasilis S

Aug 12, 2018

Great course! Assignment 4 is very interesting and allows you to apply all you've learnt in this course at once.

By Ryan J

Feb 11, 2018

Incredibly insightful and helpful for a recent master's graduate looking to augment his skills on the job market

By Matthias B

Aug 5, 2017

Great course, very hands-on. Maybe difficult to follow without any prior knowledge in machine learning, though.

By Andrii T

Jul 13, 2020

Excellent course. I'm particularly thankful to the instructor, who was warm-hearted and explained well enough.

By Liu L

Jan 2, 2019

This course provides a good introduction to using python in machine learning. It helps me to get hands on it.

By Mikhail S

Aug 27, 2017

Thank you for the very well done course! It's really helpful, has a clear explanation of topics and examples.

By Ahmad A

Jul 11, 2020

Excellent Course each topic is both theoretically as well as as practically explained. Really a good course

By Akshay S T

May 24, 2020

Very Intuitive and helpful course for clearing concepts of machine learning and Python's SciKit Learn module

By Nitin K

Apr 22, 2019

Great Course. Helped me to learn the concepts of Machine Learning and uses of respective Sklearn libraries.

By Mohamed A M A

Jan 19, 2019

The theoretical part is comprehensive with an excellent balance between the theory and practical exercises.

By HISHAM I A

Nov 5, 2018

Excellent collection of various types of Machine Learning Algorithms with visual demonstration and example.

By Rahul S

Dec 8, 2019

This course is Beautifully crafted to cover most of the important concepts of supervised machine learning.

By Christian E

Jan 19, 2019

Content and phase are very good. Very clear explanation of topic by the instructor. Appreciate it so much.

By abdelrahman a

Dec 9, 2020

the most interesting thing in the course was treating the students as if they are already data scientists

By Anurag W

Jul 18, 2019

This Course really provides great learning on Advance Machine learning techniques with Python application