Chevron Left
Back to Applied Machine Learning in Python

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Applied Machine Learning in Python by University of Michigan

4.6
stars
7,721 ratings
1,413 reviews

About the Course

This course will introduce the learner to applied machine learning, focusing more on the techniques and methods than on the statistics behind these methods. The course will start with a discussion of how machine learning is different than descriptive statistics, and introduce the scikit learn toolkit through a tutorial. The issue of dimensionality of data will be discussed, and the task of clustering data, as well as evaluating those clusters, will be tackled. Supervised approaches for creating predictive models will be described, and learners will be able to apply the scikit learn predictive modelling methods while understanding process issues related to data generalizability (e.g. cross validation, overfitting). The course will end with a look at more advanced techniques, such as building ensembles, and practical limitations of predictive models. By the end of this course, students will be able to identify the difference between a supervised (classification) and unsupervised (clustering) technique, identify which technique they need to apply for a particular dataset and need, engineer features to meet that need, and write python code to carry out an analysis. This course should be taken after Introduction to Data Science in Python and Applied Plotting, Charting & Data Representation in Python and before Applied Text Mining in Python and Applied Social Analysis in Python....

Top reviews

AS
Nov 26, 2020

great experience and learning lots of technique to apply on real world data, and get important and insightful information from raw data. motivated to proceed further in this domain and course as well.

FL
Oct 13, 2017

Very well structured course, and very interesting too! Has made me want to pursue a career in machine learning. I originally just wanted to learn to program, without true goal, now I have one thanks!!

Filter by:

276 - 300 of 1,397 Reviews for Applied Machine Learning in Python

By John J M

Jun 5, 2020

Feel strongly, that this is the best of the 3 core courses in the specialization. The lectures were excellent and the notebook modules supplemented the lectures very well.

By Jean A S

May 3, 2021

The course is very interesting, well structured, and the videos are well done.

The teacher's speaking speed is very interesting, it allows to better understand the lessons

By Fahad R

Apr 12, 2020

This is a very first course of Machine Learning that I have ever completed. I believe, this is a very good course to understand some basic applications of ML in real life.

By Georgios C

Dec 16, 2020

One of the best machine learning course! The professor is very talented! Even with a good ML background it is still a very valuable course. The final project is perfect.

By vipul s

Dec 27, 2019

Really good course. The instructor taught in a very precise way. The teachings were spot on and comprehensive. After this, now I can start to work on real-life projects.

By Dylan E

May 3, 2018

I enjoyed this course it was fun and very informative. This course also gave me a bunch of resources such as The Elements of Statistical Learning which is a great book!

By Shahanavaj

Aug 25, 2019

It's a best course for the one who wants to learn machine learning with python. All you need to do hard work for the certification. Give your best and crack the codes.

By Steffen H

Nov 13, 2018

Liked the course! At times a bit challenging but the discussion forums are helpful. Gave me a good overview of the topic, but I feel I have just scratched the surface!

By Leandro B

Jun 14, 2020

Well designed course. The last assignment really makes you review every lesson learned in previous modules. I recommend this course for intermediate python developers

By GANG L

Nov 4, 2017

It's very hard to teach ML in such short course. But this course did very well, focus on how to use sci-kit classifier from clean data to select model. Very practice.

By Emiliano C

Apr 29, 2021

Increíble curso. Ejercicios muy aplicados, a la larga ya el señor da un poco de flojera y los artículos para leer como opcionales son muy buenos, recomiendo leerlos.

By Qiaochu S

Mar 11, 2019

This course has been really helpful to me! All the contents we need to grasp each week were well-designed and the assignments are easy, interesting and enlightening.

By Giuliano G

Oct 29, 2017

The course is overwhelmingly interesting and provides readily available tools. The teaching assistants and professor are all extremely helpful. Absolutely suggested!

By Ishita B

Oct 29, 2021

I COMPLETELY ENJOYED LEARNING THIS COURSE. I LOVED THE MANNER IN WHICH OUR TEACHER JUST MADE ALL THE TOPIC EASY TO UNDERSTAND. LOOKING FORWARD TO LEARN MORE SKILLS

By James S

Feb 21, 2019

Very excellent course. Well done explanations even if there is some language confusion. Taking the time to really understand the concepts makes all the difference.

By Pieter J V V V

Feb 13, 2019

Inspirational course, learning you in a comprehensive manner, a thorough approach to machine learning with the target specific peculiarities and possible pitfalls.

By Vladimir

Sep 27, 2017

A course that gives not only solid understanding of Machine Learning, but provides with skills to actually practice it on real world datasets. Highly recommended.

By Jeroen v L

Jul 24, 2017

I like how the many different ML algorithms are explained in such a high-level. This is a good anti-dote to more theoretical courses. Best MOOC I have done so far.

By Obed I R

Jul 20, 2017

Fantastic, and challenging course, a must and recommended. For those who are interested in Machine Learning and have experience with Pandas and Python programming.

By Kevin

Aug 28, 2020

Great course, with clear explanations. It is a great introductory course. As the name implied, this is for applying the tools needed for Machine Learning practice

By Fatemeh H

Oct 27, 2020

It was really great and improved my knowledge of machine learning algorithms. However the assignment were so diffrent from what have been teached in the courses.

By Daniel B

Dec 18, 2020

Very good introduction to machine learning with scikit-learn. The main important algorithms are discussed, and you learn how to apply them to real world data.

By Karen Y

Jul 30, 2017

A very good course that I would recommend for others to take. It covers quite a bit of material but it is still worth it. Very satisfied with what I learned.

By Eduard M

Jul 5, 2017

The evaluation is sometimes problematic, otherwise is very good. I had a problem with matplotlib which was just imported and nowhere was written to remove it.

By Baran T

Aug 6, 2017

really great course, using online jupyter notebook is a great way to increase hands on experience. auto-grader needs some improvements but not a huge problem