Chevron Left
Back to Applied Machine Learning in Python

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Applied Machine Learning in Python by University of Michigan

4.6
stars
7,741 ratings
1,414 reviews

About the Course

This course will introduce the learner to applied machine learning, focusing more on the techniques and methods than on the statistics behind these methods. The course will start with a discussion of how machine learning is different than descriptive statistics, and introduce the scikit learn toolkit through a tutorial. The issue of dimensionality of data will be discussed, and the task of clustering data, as well as evaluating those clusters, will be tackled. Supervised approaches for creating predictive models will be described, and learners will be able to apply the scikit learn predictive modelling methods while understanding process issues related to data generalizability (e.g. cross validation, overfitting). The course will end with a look at more advanced techniques, such as building ensembles, and practical limitations of predictive models. By the end of this course, students will be able to identify the difference between a supervised (classification) and unsupervised (clustering) technique, identify which technique they need to apply for a particular dataset and need, engineer features to meet that need, and write python code to carry out an analysis. This course should be taken after Introduction to Data Science in Python and Applied Plotting, Charting & Data Representation in Python and before Applied Text Mining in Python and Applied Social Analysis in Python....

Top reviews

AS
Nov 26, 2020

great experience and learning lots of technique to apply on real world data, and get important and insightful information from raw data. motivated to proceed further in this domain and course as well.

FL
Oct 13, 2017

Very well structured course, and very interesting too! Has made me want to pursue a career in machine learning. I originally just wanted to learn to program, without true goal, now I have one thanks!!

Filter by:

301 - 325 of 1,399 Reviews for Applied Machine Learning in Python

By Baran T

Aug 6, 2017

really great course, using online jupyter notebook is a great way to increase hands on experience. auto-grader needs some improvements but not a huge problem

By Hafiz M S Z

Jan 29, 2020

I learn many new things which I have not learn in my university.The best quality courses encourage me to learn and explore more in deep Machine learning.

By Ji W P

Jul 22, 2017

excellent course. Lectures were good, not too heavy on theory, and assignments were challenging but doable. I liked assignments much better than the quizzes

By Jose S

Jun 16, 2017

Great course. The material is well thought, the assignments are excellent. I learned a lot and I am already leveraging what I learned in the course at work.

By Ramazan A

Jul 16, 2020

Perfect course! No math, only applications, definitely I will use it later in my studies since course provides many useful examples / explanations / codes.

By Krishna D

Dec 8, 2017

Excellent Course. Well presented and good organized python notebooks, quiz and assignments.

Enjoyed the project very much.

Looking forward for future classes

By Harry A

Feb 15, 2020

An ideal platform to start your discovery and exploration of the world of Machine Learning. A programming knowledge, however, is a necessary prerequisite.

By Gabriella J

Jan 27, 2018

Great course, very useful, with a very practical approach.

I suggest to everyone, working on datascience and that needs to familiarize with Python language

By Dontham S R

Jun 30, 2020

It is a good course that teaches how to apply machine learning models. I learnt basics from Machine Learning by Andrew Ng and learned to apply them here.

By 李向杰

Sep 19, 2018

quite good, through this course I have gained knowledge and basic concept of machine learning and how to use python to run these machine learning models.

By Rishabh R

Jun 18, 2020

It is a really an awesome hands on short course. This course and the assignments mainly focuses on efficient and smart way of python programming for ML.

By Lakshman

May 20, 2020

Great course which concentrates on practical application of where algorithms can be applied, also taking into consideration on how each algorithm works.

By mohit t

Jan 16, 2019

Truly enjoyed the course, especially the assignment in module 4. Course is different from other similar courses as it provides good hands on experience.

By Manuel T

Jan 14, 2018

very good course: fast-paced, very straight-forward explained. Assignments do make sense and repeat what you learn during the course. I can recommend it

By Emmanuel M

Jun 18, 2020

It is an excellent course, an incredible guide. When I started, I had no idea where to start. This course has given me many tools to continue learning.

By Christian L

Mar 21, 2019

Very good hands-on course to explore the implementation of the major ML algorithms with Python - Probably more valuable with prior general ML knowledge

By Vishy R

Feb 25, 2020

Amazing course. Initially frustrating, as assignments are pretty hard, but once you get into it, the learning is just immense. Thank you, Professors!!

By Rafael A A S

Jul 29, 2018

Extraordinary course. Contents were very useful for the learning process. This is a good start for diving into this amazing world of machine learning.

By Aneek A

Sep 30, 2017

Very informative and covers Machine Learning (along with scikit learn) in great breadth!! Would love to see a bit more challenging assignments though.

By Alexandre G

Oct 24, 2019

This is a very good course. Probably, much time should be given, especially for Week 2 and Assignment of Week 4. Thank you very much for the course!

By Surya P M

Apr 1, 2019

complex topics are explained in a simple way. coding assignments, quiz helped a lot to learn and apply numerous machine learning concepts perfectly.

By Jay N

Oct 18, 2018

very very excellent, got to learn whole lot of machine learning models and approaches. i'm straight away going for kaggle competitions after this.

By Carlos F P

Sep 20, 2018

It gives a great overview of different machine learning methods. I found useful information that can be missing in other ML courses. Great course!

By DESHPANDE J S

Jul 9, 2017

I am a beginner in Machine Learning. I find this course very easy to follow, interesting and informative. Thank you for the efforts you've put in!

By Jack R

Sep 23, 2020

Great course. A LOT of information but great job at teaching conepts and how to apply them. It got me really interested in Deep Learning and MLP.