Chevron Left
Back to Applied Machine Learning in Python

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Applied Machine Learning in Python by University of Michigan

4.6
stars
7,573 ratings
1,384 reviews

About the Course

This course will introduce the learner to applied machine learning, focusing more on the techniques and methods than on the statistics behind these methods. The course will start with a discussion of how machine learning is different than descriptive statistics, and introduce the scikit learn toolkit through a tutorial. The issue of dimensionality of data will be discussed, and the task of clustering data, as well as evaluating those clusters, will be tackled. Supervised approaches for creating predictive models will be described, and learners will be able to apply the scikit learn predictive modelling methods while understanding process issues related to data generalizability (e.g. cross validation, overfitting). The course will end with a look at more advanced techniques, such as building ensembles, and practical limitations of predictive models. By the end of this course, students will be able to identify the difference between a supervised (classification) and unsupervised (clustering) technique, identify which technique they need to apply for a particular dataset and need, engineer features to meet that need, and write python code to carry out an analysis. This course should be taken after Introduction to Data Science in Python and Applied Plotting, Charting & Data Representation in Python and before Applied Text Mining in Python and Applied Social Analysis in Python....

Top reviews

OA
Sep 8, 2017

This course is ideally designed for understanding, which tools you can use to do machine learning tasks in python. However, for deep understanding ML algorithms you should take more math based courses

FL
Oct 13, 2017

Very well structured course, and very interesting too! Has made me want to pursue a career in machine learning. I originally just wanted to learn to program, without true goal, now I have one thanks!!

Filter by:

376 - 400 of 1,367 Reviews for Applied Machine Learning in Python

By Oguzhan O

Jul 17, 2020

First assingment is kinda off the track with the topic mentioned in first week. overall very good and structured course.

By Henri

Mar 23, 2019

Excellent course, but be ready to spend some time on debugging the automatic grader especially for the final assignment!

By Sandeep S

Aug 3, 2017

Covered a lot of topics. Helps a beginner to get a good overview of the various tools and concepts on Machine Learning.

By João R W S

Jul 4, 2017

Excellent course! Learned a lot both about the concepts and how to apply the methods using scikit-learn. Very good job!

By JAYESH R S

Jun 27, 2020

Awesome course really loved it, especially the visualization techniques used to represent machine learning algorithms.

By Nikita

Jun 13, 2020

Very good explanations. Need full attention. Quizzes and assignments are really challenging. Good learning experience.

By Dave C

Oct 25, 2019

Very enjoyable, informative and I really believe I can go on and build my own ML system with confidence. Recommended.

By SUDHAKAR M S

Oct 16, 2019

Great Course. Helped to understand the basics of machine learning, the algorithms and their applications using python.

By Pratyush L

Sep 28, 2018

The course gives a good overview of the concepts and a great paced programming assignments to understand the concepts.

By Emanuele P

Oct 25, 2017

It gives you the methods and the essential knowledge to build a learning pipeline using Python and SciKit-learn tools.

By Angelika E

Oct 20, 2020

Excellent! I learned a lot in this course. Machine learning algorithms were clearly explained and easy to understand.

By Saiapin A

Jul 23, 2017

This is a great course for those who want to get acquainted with machine learning basics as well as its applications.

By Sergio A D A

Aug 20, 2020

Excellent course, for understand howw work whit dataset and throw the all ways in Machine Learning and Deep Learning

By Bishnu M

May 27, 2018

I have increased my lots of machine learning skills specially with python language, I have got a very good practice.

By chris l

Jan 18, 2020

An excellent course if you are prepared to be patient and do lots of additional research outside the given content.

By akshat g

Sep 15, 2020

It was great learning, Though I had knowledge of this but some additional points of knowledge have made me better

By Said G

Oct 26, 2019

It was really a good experience. The content is rich and clear and the tools at our disposal are of good quality.

By Dindayal H P

Jul 20, 2019

The overall course structure was very good. Also the instructor was good at his knowledge and explaination skill.

By Pooja C

Jun 16, 2018

Helped me understand the fundamental concepts and practice them with assignemens. I highly recommend this course.

By Janesh D

Nov 14, 2017

It was a great course. This course covered a lot of material and Professor explained every concepts very clearly.

By Deepak G

Jun 24, 2020

A very nice course to get involved with the data from good resources and with great insights to draw from those.

By Yuwei Y

Jun 4, 2019

I like this course very much. It focuses on ML application and it's easy to understand. Definitely recommend it!

By Vasilis S

Aug 12, 2018

Great course! Assignment 4 is very interesting and allows you to apply all you've learnt in this course at once.

By Ryan J

Feb 11, 2018

Incredibly insightful and helpful for a recent master's graduate looking to augment his skills on the job market

By Matthias B

Aug 5, 2017

Great course, very hands-on. Maybe difficult to follow without any prior knowledge in machine learning, though.