Chevron Left
Back to Applied Machine Learning in Python

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Applied Machine Learning in Python by University of Michigan

4.6
stars
7,522 ratings
1,372 reviews

About the Course

This course will introduce the learner to applied machine learning, focusing more on the techniques and methods than on the statistics behind these methods. The course will start with a discussion of how machine learning is different than descriptive statistics, and introduce the scikit learn toolkit through a tutorial. The issue of dimensionality of data will be discussed, and the task of clustering data, as well as evaluating those clusters, will be tackled. Supervised approaches for creating predictive models will be described, and learners will be able to apply the scikit learn predictive modelling methods while understanding process issues related to data generalizability (e.g. cross validation, overfitting). The course will end with a look at more advanced techniques, such as building ensembles, and practical limitations of predictive models. By the end of this course, students will be able to identify the difference between a supervised (classification) and unsupervised (clustering) technique, identify which technique they need to apply for a particular dataset and need, engineer features to meet that need, and write python code to carry out an analysis. This course should be taken after Introduction to Data Science in Python and Applied Plotting, Charting & Data Representation in Python and before Applied Text Mining in Python and Applied Social Analysis in Python....

Top reviews

AS
Nov 26, 2020

great experience and learning lots of technique to apply on real world data, and get important and insightful information from raw data. motivated to proceed further in this domain and course as well.

FL
Oct 13, 2017

Very well structured course, and very interesting too! Has made me want to pursue a career in machine learning. I originally just wanted to learn to program, without true goal, now I have one thanks!!

Filter by:

1326 - 1350 of 1,355 Reviews for Applied Machine Learning in Python

By M S V V

Jun 29, 2020

Too much of information compressed within a short span.

By José D A M

Jun 21, 2020

Too fast, yet too difficult. Needs deeper explanation.

By Navoneel C

Nov 21, 2017

Nice and Informative but not practically effective

By Priyanka v

May 8, 2020

if it is more detailedthen it will be more useful

By Sameed K

Mar 15, 2018

have to figure out a lot of things on you own.

By Andy S

Jun 4, 2019

It could have been better with more examples.

By Shan J

Apr 12, 2020

The explanation could have been much better.

By Sagar J

Mar 21, 2021

Good start but i was very boring later on.

By Jeremy D

Jul 10, 2017

The topics were good, but too many were d

By Ryan S

Dec 12, 2017

Homeworks are inconvenient to submit

By PIYUSH A

May 16, 2020

The narration was a bit boring.

By shreyas

Jun 29, 2020

Teacher wasn't very good

By Abir H R

Jun 30, 2020

very long videos

By Wojciech G

Oct 28, 2017

To fast paced.

By Aarya P

Sep 30, 2020

Really disappointed with the course ...you may ask why??

The first thing is the instructor , super boring. The instructor (with all due respect) was very dry and the lectures were super uninteresting. When he keeps on talking code, but doesn't really explain stuff. The material and lectures were dry and colorless.

Me without having good statistics background had huge difficulties understanding the concepts. Please i recommend everyone to have good knowledge in statistics before starting the course. ABSOLUTELY NOT THE BEGINNER LEVEL AND NEITHER INTERMIDIATE LEVEL .the course is quiteeeee difficult.

You also need to have a lot of self study , which i am not a big fan of. I hope they make the course more fun rather than a man constantly talking on the screen .

By Daniel J

Apr 30, 2021

I found this course quite challenging to complete. The assignments are difficult (which is good, they are practical and I enjoyed them) and only a fraction of things is explained in the videos. I really found much better learning materials around the web (and for free!). For applied machine learning course, I would expect more practical videos. Also the process of submitting assignments is really frustrating, I spent half the time correcting errors that were not related to the assignment objective. If this course was not part of specialization, I would not complete it.

By Douglas H

Apr 10, 2021

Lectures are good but they expect you to extract too many fine details from them in order to pass the quizzes and assignments. You'd have to watch these oral lessons ten times in order to pass the tests, which are needlessly nitpicky.

By Oswaldo C

Aug 22, 2020

Los videos no son suficientemente extensos ni para explicar el código, ni para explicar la teoría detrás de los algoritmos, se queda a medio camino de los dos siendo insuficiente en ambos casos

By Jean-Michel P

Jun 2, 2021

The better course of this stack... and that's all the positive feedback I have. This course is still very poorly designed and unstructured with a bunch of unfixed mistakes after 4+ years.

By Vjaceslavs M

Apr 4, 2021

This course is outdated by few years and not been updated in general with lots of mistakes in assignments and on slides making it very not ejoyable to use.

By David C

Nov 8, 2020

Not as good as prev. courses. Univ. of mic. should update or get ride of this module

By Paul C

Mar 27, 2021

Frankly the quiz questions are ridiculous and no explanation is given why answers are considered incorrect. The wording of the answers is not clear and any from 5 is 120 permutations. You get three attempts and then you have to wait 8 hours. Not great if you are studying part-time. I gave a star for the quality of the video which seemed good although I already know the theory from my university course. However, there was no written material - which again helps answer the questions. This is only a coursera courses, tests should be there to help learning not hinder it.

By Michael O S

Sep 16, 2021

There's a bug in the final homework that the TA and peers don't sufficiently explain how to solve so I can't get the course certificate just by knowing the content taught in the course. It's not fair.

By Topiltzin H

Mar 22, 2021

Course was not as expected, I think XG Boost for instance is quite large and was covered in less than 20 minutes.

By SAMADRITO B

Mar 19, 2021

The course is full of faulty assignment grader and the concepts given are not up to the mark