Chevron Left
Back to Using Python to Access Web Data

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Using Python to Access Web Data by University of Michigan

4.8
stars
37,422 ratings
6,729 reviews

About the Course

This course will show how one can treat the Internet as a source of data. We will scrape, parse, and read web data as well as access data using web APIs. We will work with HTML, XML, and JSON data formats in Python. This course will cover Chapters 11-13 of the textbook “Python for Everybody”. To succeed in this course, you should be familiar with the material covered in Chapters 1-10 of the textbook and the first two courses in this specialization. These topics include variables and expressions, conditional execution (loops, branching, and try/except), functions, Python data structures (strings, lists, dictionaries, and tuples), and manipulating files. This course covers Python 3....
Highlights
High quality content
(256 Reviews)
Practical assignments
(217 Reviews)

Top reviews

SM

Jun 19, 2020

This course was really interesting and did a good job introducing complicated topics in usefully simplified form. It was a pleasure to listen to the instructor and I got everything I wanted out of it.

AB

Jun 07, 2019

Getting a bit more challenging than the earlier courses in the specialization. The exercises require more struggle, but all the information is there. Another step along the way. Thank you, Dr. Chuck!

Filter by:

5451 - 5475 of 6,597 Reviews for Using Python to Access Web Data

By Dominik B

Nov 24, 2018

The whole course is absolutely great, but last assignment in JSON section should be improved. After passing the assignment I feel like I do not understand the point of it. Everything apart from that was great as always!

By Pablo G P

Jan 02, 2018

Not only interesting but also practical for all those interested in treating the web as a source of structured information. Also helps to understand how modern system that conect different services can be put together.

By Muhammad A B

Aug 20, 2020

It was a great course and learnt many new things which I'm sure will help me in my career. I would've rated this course 5/5 if there was more explanation on certificates and authentication etc. when using online APIs.

By Ali A

Jan 08, 2017

the course is amazing , there is much knowledge in here !!

Enjoyed every week and every lecture

The instructor is funny and never gets you bored !

the missing star is for the tasks, they need to be a bit more challenging

By NGOUNGA M N A

Nov 26, 2016

Great Course! Thanks to all the staff, Stephen Mentor and especially to Dr-Chuck... I had fun and learned much. Could never imagine i could go this far in programming and all that for FREE. I'm very Grateful to y'all

By Ken T

Nov 05, 2018

The chaning .py files without notes on the assignments or videos that the .py files have changed is a nuisance. Change the .py files in the full .zip I downloaded at the start of the "Python for everybody" course.

By SUMUKH J P

Jul 21, 2020

This is a great introductory course for API's and I learnt a lot, but I wish there were more challenging assignments for better understanding. Tbh, most of the assignments were just tweaking the sample code a bit.

By Alessandro M P

Jun 04, 2016

The exercises are very simple. It would have been great if there was a final project so that the student can see how to use what he/she learnt in a real application. The videos and the teaching are certainly good.

By Arun K

Feb 24, 2017

This was really a very great experience to have this course. I really had a good time and interest while learning the things. the best part of all these courses are that its very interesting and knowledge feeding

By Joaquin M

Feb 16, 2016

Great kick-off for what I am sure will lead the students to countless hours of solving "puzzles" with Python. I wished the assignments would have been a bit more challenging but they definitively fit the purpose.

By Mcvean S

Jun 14, 2020

A great course to teach you the fundamentals of the internet and how to interact with it using Python. It does not go into the depth of the topics and is best suited for beginner and intermediate level learners!

By Jordan L

Apr 06, 2019

Week 6 assignment 2 did not provide proper guidance on how to complete. Had to rely on code instructor gave to complete. Felt this took away from the learning experience on the final assignment for the course...

By Ayush K S

May 06, 2020

Great Course! I was completely new to these topics and I found to have really gained something valuable after completing this course. The assignments and the course materials were too good. Enjoyed the course!

By Atul P

Apr 14, 2020

The course is nice and prof. Chuck is really awesome at making things simple to understand. I feel the course could have been made little more rigorous. More assignments of good level can be cherry on the top.

By Bruno M F

May 02, 2018

A good intro to xml/json but you´ll need more than this to actually implement both. I´ve been using mostly official python docs to complement this. It´s just too broad of a topic to cover in one single course.

By Xianzhong F

May 31, 2017

This course is really good and useful. I appreciate a lot the efforts of Dr.Chuck made in computer science education. Compared with the previous two courses, this one is a bit more sophisticated to understand.

By Aniekan U

Dec 23, 2015

I really enjoyed the course and found it cool how you can write python scripts to act like browser. However the API stuff (especially the twitter one) seemed kind of vague to me, since I don't have twitter.

By SHIJITH C

Mar 27, 2016

Charles did an excellent job while describing and making a student much interactive in his class. He showed the learning in a very basic way and i personally enjoyed the class. Cheers to the python class :)

By arpit j

Sep 24, 2016

I found this course difficult than the previous ones and would give a suggestion of adding more weeks if the course syllabus demands.Syllabus of this course is very vast and so lectures must be increased.

By Akhil G

Apr 12, 2016

Dr. Chuck class is full of learning and fun. He leads us through everything in a logical manner thus even people who do not have a lot of experience with programming, even they find it easy to understand.

By Daan

Dec 21, 2015

Great introduction to web scraping, basically teaches you what you need to start doing web scraping on your own. Only remark, why teach urllib instead of requests? requests seems to be the better library.

By abhinav y

Jun 10, 2018

Very good one for candidates who are new to comp science and programming, helps one gain a lot of abstract understanding about computers, internet and networks.Assignments could have been more engaging

By chirag t

Jan 09, 2017

it would be 5 star rating if you will provide the deep detail or other practice exercise for Beautiful soup json and rest api

overall great course learn api and i am using Beautiful Soup now very often

By MONIKA V

May 31, 2020

Highly recommended to anyone wants to learn the python to access web data, you will definitely learn the content smoothly with the awesome instructor, yeah, great instructor, i love his teaching style

By Yu W

Dec 16, 2019

I hope the problem of the final assignment can be fixed as fast as possible. I waste 3 hours looking for the correct answer by using the keyword to find the answer. However, the keyword is not correct