Chevron Left
Back to Using Python to Access Web Data

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Using Python to Access Web Data by University of Michigan

4.8
stars
41,292 ratings
7,521 reviews

About the Course

This course will show how one can treat the Internet as a source of data. We will scrape, parse, and read web data as well as access data using web APIs. We will work with HTML, XML, and JSON data formats in Python. This course will cover Chapters 11-13 of the textbook “Python for Everybody”. To succeed in this course, you should be familiar with the material covered in Chapters 1-10 of the textbook and the first two courses in this specialization. These topics include variables and expressions, conditional execution (loops, branching, and try/except), functions, Python data structures (strings, lists, dictionaries, and tuples), and manipulating files. This course covers Python 3....
Highlights
High quality content
(256 Reviews)
Practical assignments
(217 Reviews)

Top reviews

SM
Jun 18, 2020

This course was really interesting and did a good job introducing complicated topics in usefully simplified form. It was a pleasure to listen to the instructor and I got everything I wanted out of it.

DA
Apr 23, 2020

Great course. The lectures are clear and thorough. The assignments are challenging yet doable. The only thing I would like is to see more assignments to get more practice with the techniques learned.

Filter by:

551 - 575 of 7,408 Reviews for Using Python to Access Web Data

By Aman T

Mar 14, 2020

This is the best course to learn more about python programming as general. Also Assignments were very good and you will learn lots of things like web scraping,api,socket etc. I highly recommend this course to anyone.

By Mahesh B B

Dec 26, 2016

It was very good experience..Small steps to learn the python has got bigger now.. Assignments are doable if classes are attended and follow the steps mentioned in the questions. DR Chuck course explanation is great.

By Evan R

Aug 12, 2016

Charles Severance focuses on practical applications with just enough theory. This gives you enough tooling to work independently with web data and doesn't require much time commitment.

Thank you to this course's team.

By Joachim S

May 30, 2020

Very good introduction course, the teacher is great, and the material is better than you would expect at a regular university. The only thing missing is bigger assignments, but that is difficult in an online course.

By Jithu P

Mar 28, 2020

Great course. Started to access data from the internet and it actually makes sense. It feels so good to actually happen what is happening behind the internet and how it is giving us the data that we are looking for.

By Siddhartha M

Jul 18, 2019

Professor Chuck's way of explaining is fantastic. Each progressive assignment requires the knowledge of previous assignments. So that helps in re-iterating.

One feedback - I think there shall be some more assignments

By Michael M

Aug 18, 2017

It is building upon prior courses and just keeps getting more interesting and more fun. Dr. Severance is fantastic, you feel like he is talking directly to you and he has a great teaching methodology and very funny!

By Roger F S

Dec 12, 2015

(from someone in a non-computer field) Dr Chuck does a fantastic job of simplifying explanations of how python interacts with online data. This course is a great followup to the earlier python for everyone series.

By Anshuli K

Apr 25, 2020

I learnt a lot from this course.It is a perfectly designed course.I enjoyed a lot doing quizzes and assignments.This course helps in understanding the concepts in a very simple language .It was a great experience.

By Eduardo R P

Oct 26, 2019

Highly recommendable course if you want to learn how to access web data using Python. I would have liked to spend more time working with different APIs and getting used to working with different security protocols.

By Piet B

Nov 4, 2018

Very nice and clear course. I struggled a bit more to complete this one than with the other courses, but I've learned a lot and I feel like I have a solid understanding of the basics of web data and api's etc. now.

By Jakub S

Jan 17, 2018

Great course covering a lot of aspects - you will learn advanced technique as well as couple of approaches to the transmission of data across networks. By far the best course in the specialization - knowledge wise.

By Sudhir S

Jan 29, 2017

Excellent course material provided. The videos contain all the necessary elements required to complete the assignments. The assignments are also well designed to test your knowledge learned from the videos. Kudos!!

By Yigal B

Apr 24, 2016

The course is well-organized and focused, and Dr. Chuck present it nicely with a lot of humour. I really like the way it get to the point while still providing all the information one needs to get going. Well done!

By Yuri L

Jan 29, 2016

That was an amazing course with an amazing Dr. Chuck teaching! The material is truly useful and Dr.Chuck's manner of teaching really helps to learn it well. The course perfectly combines knowledge and fun! 5 stars!

By Bcsf19m048-MUHAMMAD G M

Sep 10, 2020

Amazing experience with Dr. Chuck and everything was clear.Easy to understand and also this time challenging tasks but when you figure that out its really awesome feeling.I Recommend this course and yeah its great

By Gazi M S U

Jun 24, 2020

Dr Chuck is AWESOME. His teaching methods are very understandable and precise. Wish i could meet him in person. Really this courses and Dr chuck's teachings are very helpful to develop skills for career building .

By ARVIND K S

May 1, 2020

Well, what can I say.?The man is a genius and teaches beautifully. I really enjoyed the experience. Anybody interested in web development and the concomitants like html, xml and jason should give the course a try.

By Kannapiran P

Sep 7, 2019

This was a pleasant and highly informative experience throughout the course. Dr. Chuck has a splendid control over the wide scope of Python in Web. I hope this will take me a step towards exploratory data science.

By sina c

Dec 28, 2016

Yet another excellent course on python.... i think i'm becoming a "pytangelist" if there is such a thing... course is to the point and with all the information that I needed to get started with some fun projects.

By Jason M C

Jan 11, 2016

Absolutely outstanding class, like all its predecessors. I'm extremely pleased with what I learned, and this helped give me the tools to make some progress on a side project I've been working on for several years.

By NaingNaingHtun

Jul 12, 2020

Thanks Dr.Chuck.This course is very helpful for my carrier.I love your teaching and I also love your office hours meeting with my fellow students. Now I am very confident to learn more about the computer science.

By Kaiser A S

Jul 9, 2020

This is very well informative course . I did not know about how i can implement python in the website. Now i have basic understanding of this. Thanks to Coursera and Awesome instructor chuck to teach this course.

By Md. R M

Jun 27, 2020

This was a much harder course than the previous two courses. Yet, Dr. Chuck explained very good and made this course really enjoyable! I am looking forward to completing this specialization courses set. Thank you

By SHUBHAM P

May 22, 2020

An extremely beautiful course for understanding the fundamentals of Web Scraping, also getting a bit tougher as we are heading towards achieving specialization in python but it goes interesting in many ways also.