Chevron Left
Back to Using Python to Access Web Data

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Using Python to Access Web Data by University of Michigan

4.8
stars
41,730 ratings
7,599 reviews

About the Course

This course will show how one can treat the Internet as a source of data. We will scrape, parse, and read web data as well as access data using web APIs. We will work with HTML, XML, and JSON data formats in Python. This course will cover Chapters 11-13 of the textbook “Python for Everybody”. To succeed in this course, you should be familiar with the material covered in Chapters 1-10 of the textbook and the first two courses in this specialization. These topics include variables and expressions, conditional execution (loops, branching, and try/except), functions, Python data structures (strings, lists, dictionaries, and tuples), and manipulating files. This course covers Python 3....
Highlights
High quality content
(256 Reviews)
Practical assignments
(217 Reviews)

Top reviews

KD
Sep 6, 2021

This is a great course. I highly recommand that. The complexity is incleasing since the Getting started but this also increases the motivation to go further doing interesting stuffs of the real world.

SM
Jun 18, 2020

This course was really interesting and did a good job introducing complicated topics in usefully simplified form. It was a pleasure to listen to the instructor and I got everything I wanted out of it.

Filter by:

651 - 675 of 7,487 Reviews for Using Python to Access Web Data

By Mohamad S A

Jul 22, 2018

Its a good course the instructor is awesome .But i think in the last week 'week 6' APIs does not explained well ..... i search about it and understand it very well.In general the course is very good ^_^

By Jennifer D

Jun 3, 2017

Another great course in the series. I'm headed to a local Python workshop next weekend, and feeling like I'll hold my own on the projects there because of these courses. Looking forward to the 4th one!

By Huijun Z

Dec 28, 2016

I really learnt a lot from taking this course! thank you Dr Chuck! Very clear explanation and I would recommend this course to anyone who has a bit of python experience and interested in data analytics.

By Karl D

Sep 7, 2021

T​his is a great course. I highly recommand that. The complexity is incleasing since the Getting started but this also increases the motivation to go further doing interesting stuffs of the real world.

By R M

Jan 9, 2021

Along side Python programming knowledge, I also learned something new about API/JSON/XML. One may argue they are part of Python, but still good to have a sense of those terms I often encounter at work.

By Abhilash A

Jul 24, 2020

This course is just awesome. Mr. Severance delivers a great experience of learning as he does always. The course helps in coping up with API and a basic orientation about using python to load web data.

By Alain G

Apr 5, 2020

Fairly challenging course with useful learning about how to access web data with Python using the different formats of data (XML/JSON). Enjoyed the challenging exercises, made me learn through thinking

By Ankit M S

Feb 14, 2020

It is a very good course even for an absolute beginner. Gives knowledge of what APIs, web scraping, different web protocols. Dr. Severence is engaging and very good at explaining hard things easily.

By Oliver R

Dec 20, 2019

The course builds up from the concepts learned in the previous ones and moves on to more complex subjects, adding in new concepts and applying them in the clear, efficient manner we are by now used to.

By Thomas D

Dec 16, 2019

Great overview of connecting to the web and using Beautiful Soup, URLs, XML, JSON, and APIs. Nice to see the links to other courses and how Python makes the web simple, given its underlying complexity.

By Phil N

Aug 27, 2019

Course does exactly what it promises. If you do all of the exercises, you will effectively build a code library that you can draw off of in the future for dealing with various web data types in python.

By iftekharchowdhury

Oct 5, 2018

If you are interested to Regular expression, json, xml, web sockets, networking and how all the things work with python then this course is for you. If you are beginner , stay away. Assignment is hard.

By Kaye A A

May 11, 2018

what i love the most about this course is that all of the topics for me is new and i thought that it would be hard for me to understand but because coursera made it easy to understand yet challenging,.

By Stephen S

May 9, 2018

This is a really nice course that does exactly what it says - teach the student how to use Python to access and manipulate web data, including basics on spidering, scraping, standard formats, and APIs.

By Jason P

Oct 25, 2021

I can feel that python is getting more and more challenging but at the same time interesting. This is an awesome course for zero beginners like myself. No wonder why so many students took this course.

By Gabriel O R A

Oct 28, 2020

Fue muy interesante e intuitivo. Acceder a las paginas web gracias a las apis, parsear de xml o json se realizo perfectamente y pude modificar código para simplificar. muy fácil de entender y aplicar.

By Artur H

Mar 4, 2016

Gah! The second last assignment...

for items in data['comments'] :

Took me an hour to figure out that I needed to add that last bit in brackets! It just did the for loop twice each time...

All the best!

By Daniele G

Jan 19, 2019

Hello, the course was great but the final grade test (working with json api) need to be update. The Test Data / Sample Execution show a different place_id than what we really get running the program.

By Michael L

Jun 17, 2017

Excellent course with in depth explanations. It is well structured. It learn to access Web Data from very basics to optimum level. It help me to understand details of using Python to Access Web Data.

By Shane M

Dec 6, 2020

May be a little tricky for people without much coding background, however for those with a little bit of coding, this is a great way to get exposure to python and network / net data types in one go.

By Karthikeyan G

Dec 7, 2017

Yet again a great course from Dr.Chuck.

Only suggestion I have is the disclaimer that kind of put me off i.e. only Python 2.x support would be given:)

We would love to have support for Python 3 too:)

By Abhimanyu J

Sep 8, 2017

Awesome course , A great mentor , easy to learn fun to use.

i really really appreciate the efforts put in by Charles. thanks a lot for this course and i would sure look up for more classes on python.

By Josue C T

Aug 20, 2020

This course, for me, was one of the best that I took until now. It helped me a lot and I learned a lot about Python. I am so curious to learn more about Python. Take this course and take advantage!

By Jeniffer G O M

Jun 15, 2020

It was awesome and I learnt so many new things that I just thought that I would never be able to learn. I am really gratefull with Dr. Chuck for his great explanations and the materials he provides

By JieZhang

Feb 10, 2020

This course is obviously more difficult to understand than before. In some places I didn't figure it out, the TA didn't answer my questions, and I don't know why. But overall it was a great course!