Chevron Left
Back to Using Python to Access Web Data

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Using Python to Access Web Data by University of Michigan

4.8
stars
38,973 ratings
7,052 reviews

About the Course

This course will show how one can treat the Internet as a source of data. We will scrape, parse, and read web data as well as access data using web APIs. We will work with HTML, XML, and JSON data formats in Python. This course will cover Chapters 11-13 of the textbook “Python for Everybody”. To succeed in this course, you should be familiar with the material covered in Chapters 1-10 of the textbook and the first two courses in this specialization. These topics include variables and expressions, conditional execution (loops, branching, and try/except), functions, Python data structures (strings, lists, dictionaries, and tuples), and manipulating files. This course covers Python 3....
Highlights
High quality content
(256 Reviews)
Practical assignments
(217 Reviews)

Top reviews

SM
Jun 18, 2020

This course was really interesting and did a good job introducing complicated topics in usefully simplified form. It was a pleasure to listen to the instructor and I got everything I wanted out of it.

AB
Jun 6, 2019

Getting a bit more challenging than the earlier courses in the specialization. The exercises require more struggle, but all the information is there. Another step along the way. Thank you, Dr. Chuck!

Filter by:

6726 - 6750 of 6,910 Reviews for Using Python to Access Web Data

By manchala v k

May 31, 2020

i think this course is too high after completing the data structures.....it completely blown off my mind.

By Andres V S

Oct 25, 2020

Teacher isn't good at explaining, had to look for better examples elsewhere to complete the exercises.

By Ganesh V

May 3, 2020

I just byhearted this course.

I didn't fully understand which part in the code executes which function.

By Yifeng L

Oct 30, 2018

It's not as difficult as I expected. The course is good for beginners but I think it could go deeper.

By Varun T

Jan 28, 2018

sockets and regular expressions were not explained very well. Detailed explanations would have helped

By Federico C

May 17, 2018

Still very good! But probably due to the wide subject the concepts are not explained clearly enough.

By Paula B

Mar 13, 2018

This was harder than the past two, lost my rhythm a bit too and I don't feel as confident with this.

By patel k d

Jan 5, 2018

my knowledge about the internet things is little poor thats why my gric will be lose in this portion

By Konstantin K

Oct 10, 2017

A lot about offtopic. Lack of details about python related stuff within socket and web parsing stuff

By Asena U

Sep 8, 2016

Not clear examples in the videos. Tests are way different than what the Prof. covers in the videos.

By Rajat O

Feb 21, 2019

URLs provided sometimes doesn't show results in urllib.request. Else, things were fine and clear.

By Evan M

Oct 14, 2017

Was unnecessarily complex in week 4, 5, 6 trying to gather web based data for the assignments

By Javier C

Sep 19, 2020

It was not so interesting/useful as the other Python courses included in the Specialization

By Manjunath A J

Oct 4, 2020

good course but it was like skimming over the ocean. Wanted a little bit deep information.

By Edward A

Aug 24, 2017

the theme of this course is complex and need knowledge in HTTP and Internet architecture.

By Ajoy K D

May 10, 2020

the content was complicated bt the slides problem or slide content was not that detailed

By Sarthak S

Dec 16, 2019

It was very quick when it came to APIs made it hard for me to grasp the topics properly.

By Grzegorz B

Mar 5, 2016

It is good course, but I would like it to be in the more material and details of Python.

By Mark N

Sep 1, 2020

delivery of information is very poor, yet all the respect and appreciation for Dr.Chuck

By Guillermo A N G

Jan 10, 2021

The part 1 and 2 is far superior. It is not bad, but it is a lot that was inconcluded.

By Nazia H

Apr 27, 2020

The course would be more useful if the content of the videos was explained thoroughly.

By Peter A G

May 16, 2020

Too difficult for beginners or people with minimum programming knowledge like myself.

By Jon M

Dec 18, 2020

Poos support for xml and json assignments - needed more in depth examples in videos

By Siddharth S P

Aug 4, 2020

Great experience. Little bit difficult to understand. Requires more focus and time.

By Nabeel H

May 3, 2020

Digs deep into web architectures and web scraping but perhaps a bit too fast-paced.