Chevron Left
Back to Using Python to Access Web Data

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Using Python to Access Web Data by University of Michigan

4.8
stars
39,071 ratings
7,073 reviews

About the Course

This course will show how one can treat the Internet as a source of data. We will scrape, parse, and read web data as well as access data using web APIs. We will work with HTML, XML, and JSON data formats in Python. This course will cover Chapters 11-13 of the textbook “Python for Everybody”. To succeed in this course, you should be familiar with the material covered in Chapters 1-10 of the textbook and the first two courses in this specialization. These topics include variables and expressions, conditional execution (loops, branching, and try/except), functions, Python data structures (strings, lists, dictionaries, and tuples), and manipulating files. This course covers Python 3....
Highlights
High quality content
(256 Reviews)
Practical assignments
(217 Reviews)

Top reviews

SM
Jun 18, 2020

This course was really interesting and did a good job introducing complicated topics in usefully simplified form. It was a pleasure to listen to the instructor and I got everything I wanted out of it.

DA
Apr 23, 2020

Great course. The lectures are clear and thorough. The assignments are challenging yet doable. The only thing I would like is to see more assignments to get more practice with the techniques learned.

Filter by:

6751 - 6775 of 6,929 Reviews for Using Python to Access Web Data

By patel k d

Jan 5, 2018

my knowledge about the internet things is little poor thats why my gric will be lose in this portion

By Konstantin K

Oct 10, 2017

A lot about offtopic. Lack of details about python related stuff within socket and web parsing stuff

By Asena U

Sep 8, 2016

Not clear examples in the videos. Tests are way different than what the Prof. covers in the videos.

By Rajat O

Feb 21, 2019

URLs provided sometimes doesn't show results in urllib.request. Else, things were fine and clear.

By Evan M

Oct 14, 2017

Was unnecessarily complex in week 4, 5, 6 trying to gather web based data for the assignments

By Javier C

Sep 19, 2020

It was not so interesting/useful as the other Python courses included in the Specialization

By Manjunath A J

Oct 4, 2020

good course but it was like skimming over the ocean. Wanted a little bit deep information.

By Edward A

Aug 24, 2017

the theme of this course is complex and need knowledge in HTTP and Internet architecture.

By Ajoy K D

May 10, 2020

the content was complicated bt the slides problem or slide content was not that detailed

By Sarthak S

Dec 16, 2019

It was very quick when it came to APIs made it hard for me to grasp the topics properly.

By Grzegorz B

Mar 5, 2016

It is good course, but I would like it to be in the more material and details of Python.

By Mark N

Sep 1, 2020

delivery of information is very poor, yet all the respect and appreciation for Dr.Chuck

By Guillermo A N G

Jan 10, 2021

The part 1 and 2 is far superior. It is not bad, but it is a lot that was inconcluded.

By Nazia H

Apr 27, 2020

The course would be more useful if the content of the videos was explained thoroughly.

By Peter A G

May 16, 2020

Too difficult for beginners or people with minimum programming knowledge like myself.

By Jon M

Dec 18, 2020

Poos support for xml and json assignments - needed more in depth examples in videos

By Siddharth S P

Aug 4, 2020

Great experience. Little bit difficult to understand. Requires more focus and time.

By Nabeel H

May 3, 2020

Digs deep into web architectures and web scraping but perhaps a bit too fast-paced.

By Deleted A

Nov 11, 2017

I little confusing it's better to use more real time examples and practice problems

By KUSHAGRA M

Sep 13, 2018

This Course was quite hard for me and took much time than desired to be completed

By shasha l

Aug 11, 2016

There are many details don't explain clearly enough for a beginner to understand.

By Yuri K

Jan 12, 2016

The course is helpful.

But there are not many practice exercises.

It's quite easy.

By Fausto M B

Mar 19, 2019

Somehow abstract and difficult without a previous knowledge about html and APIs

By Paweł Z

May 27, 2018

i liked it, 90% of code in assignments is provided by the teacher which sucks

By Vadim S

Nov 24, 2015

Too much unnecessary videos. Content of lectures is poor. Tests are too easy.