Chevron Left
Back to Using Python to Access Web Data

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Using Python to Access Web Data by University of Michigan

4.8
stars
41,750 ratings
7,603 reviews

About the Course

This course will show how one can treat the Internet as a source of data. We will scrape, parse, and read web data as well as access data using web APIs. We will work with HTML, XML, and JSON data formats in Python. This course will cover Chapters 11-13 of the textbook “Python for Everybody”. To succeed in this course, you should be familiar with the material covered in Chapters 1-10 of the textbook and the first two courses in this specialization. These topics include variables and expressions, conditional execution (loops, branching, and try/except), functions, Python data structures (strings, lists, dictionaries, and tuples), and manipulating files. This course covers Python 3....
Highlights
High quality content
(256 Reviews)
Practical assignments
(217 Reviews)

Top reviews

KD
Sep 6, 2021

This is a great course. I highly recommand that. The complexity is incleasing since the Getting started but this also increases the motivation to go further doing interesting stuffs of the real world.

SM
Jun 18, 2020

This course was really interesting and did a good job introducing complicated topics in usefully simplified form. It was a pleasure to listen to the instructor and I got everything I wanted out of it.

Filter by:

676 - 700 of 7,491 Reviews for Using Python to Access Web Data

By Susana E P

Oct 8, 2019

Very interesting course. Helped me solidify my understanding of SOA and APIs. I impressed my colleagues at an IT company for my understanding of these concepts. As an HR professional, this is gold.

By Chris P

Nov 26, 2017

Assignments really difficult but helps you learn. Discussion forums help a lot as well. The TA's hold the line very well of dangling the carrot of where to proceed but not giving outright answers

By Carlos C

Jul 15, 2020

Regular expressions, JSON, XML, Web scrapping, API. Didn't know what any of these meant before but with this course i understand what they are and how to use them to get information from the web.

By Meghna S

May 31, 2020

got to learn a lot of new stuff that i wouldn't have been able to otherwise. Thanks, Dr.Chuck! You're an amazing teacher and i hope you keep continuing imparting your knowledge in numerous ways :)

By Dvij J

May 16, 2020

This really helped me learning how to use python for exploring web and how service-oriented approach works and it has laid the foundation for learning more about these things for me in the future.

By Hany A

Jun 14, 2019

Excellent course, Dr Chuck is amazing in delivering the content of this course in a very unique manner, a great deal of practice and examples and sample code to help students throughout the course

By Dr S K

Nov 29, 2018

Dr Severance is one of the best teachers I have ever had. The delivery of the course is flawless, the learning materials very thorough and well put together. Very highly recommended set of courses

By Rahul K G

May 31, 2018

This course really helped me in learning how the network and api work. Many things happen in the background which we are not aware of. To understand those things one should really try this course.

By xiling z

Jan 8, 2017

Very nice intro class to learn how to access web data. Even though the assignment is a little bit easy, i still get a lot of fun exploring the skills i studied to access some websites as exercises

By Weiling W

Jun 26, 2016

Thanks for presenting the comprehensive introduction on not only python but the knowledge of the internet structure. And the plus interviewing videos with internet pioneers are really interesting.

By Thiago A

Jan 6, 2016

Sensacional! Ótimo curso, o professor é muito carismático e possui uma boa didática. Além disso, o curso estimula que o estudante desenvolva por si mesmo as habilidades ensinadas. Recomendo muito.

By md. s i T

Sep 21, 2021

I was a novice in programming. When started, even I had to struggle to understand what the text editor is . This course helps me to know the path to start the learning. Thank you Dear instructor.

By Angela i V U

Aug 2, 2020

It has been three fantastic courses, I wrote my first own code for checking .xml documents of my work, and I'm so proud.

This is a very helpful tool to get engaged in programming with baby steps.

By Bryant V

Apr 22, 2020

This is a great course to build upon a python foundation. The material is covered in a way that is easy to understand and remember. I would recommend this class to anyone interested in the topic!

By Luke D

Apr 2, 2020

Dr. Chuck is an exceptional instructor. His lucid, logical manner of presenting the information demystifies the code and really brings the power of creating things and manipulating data to life.

By Kundan M

Feb 25, 2017

This is the most friendly course i have ever had. The course is very useful for beginners with no background in programming and those who want to understand the behind the scenes part of the WWW.

By Gilson M d S

Feb 19, 2017

Gostei muito do curso, utilizei o tradutor do google para traduzir o material e para poder acompanhar os vídeos, o professor é excelente, acompanhar suas aulas aumenta nossa fome de conhecimento.

By HAN L

Nov 1, 2016

I love the course soooooooooooooooooooooooooooooo much! Just get a little confused when doing assignment 5, the sample seems from week 6. Maybe this can be fixed to enable a better understanding.

By amar c

Aug 10, 2016

Very tidy and step by step course. Dr. Chuck has a great sense of humour, it wants you to keep wanting more. The bonus videos with all the great inventors of the languages is like cherry on cake.

By kyle

Feb 9, 2016

In this course you really start using what you learned in the first courses. Dr. Chuck gives you just enough to get you started, but leaves enough out that the homework can still be a challenge.

By Brady R

Jan 2, 2016

I had a little bit of knowledge about Python coding before taking these courses, but it was very insightful and helpful in my quest to learn more and helped instill the things I did already know.

By alexander n

Apr 28, 2020

Just one criticism: not a word about classes nor modules. «Just use this magic». Anyway it's really good course, thank you Dr. Chuck! Waiting for Office Hours in Moscow, Russia, you are welcome!

By Jonathan S

Jun 11, 2016

Dr. Chuck seems really passionate about both teaching Python and giving students a understanding of the role Python fills in the world of computer science. Great course for beginner programmers.

By abhisek

Jan 16, 2016

This course is awesome. Dr. Chuck's "super" explanation and lectures make it easier to understand stuff. Initially, I wanted to review a couple of videos but ended up completing all assignments.

By Shraddha S

Apr 24, 2020

Simply amazing. The instructor is just superb. He starts from the basics and goes in depth. Learnt a lot through these course. I would recommend everyone to take this course ! Happy learning ☺️