Chevron Left
Back to Using Python to Access Web Data

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Using Python to Access Web Data by University of Michigan

4.8
stars
41,482 ratings
7,558 reviews

About the Course

This course will show how one can treat the Internet as a source of data. We will scrape, parse, and read web data as well as access data using web APIs. We will work with HTML, XML, and JSON data formats in Python. This course will cover Chapters 11-13 of the textbook “Python for Everybody”. To succeed in this course, you should be familiar with the material covered in Chapters 1-10 of the textbook and the first two courses in this specialization. These topics include variables and expressions, conditional execution (loops, branching, and try/except), functions, Python data structures (strings, lists, dictionaries, and tuples), and manipulating files. This course covers Python 3....
Highlights
High quality content
(256 Reviews)
Practical assignments
(217 Reviews)

Top reviews

SM
Jun 18, 2020

This course was really interesting and did a good job introducing complicated topics in usefully simplified form. It was a pleasure to listen to the instructor and I got everything I wanted out of it.

AB
Jun 6, 2019

Getting a bit more challenging than the earlier courses in the specialization. The exercises require more struggle, but all the information is there. Another step along the way. Thank you, Dr. Chuck!

Filter by:

7176 - 7200 of 7,445 Reviews for Using Python to Access Web Data

By Rohit B

Nov 7, 2020

A bit too complicated. Too much crammed into one course to really get a clear understanding of things on a more deeper level. Felt like I was running programs with only superficial knowledge.

By Suparat S

Nov 2, 2021

There are many problems that cannot run assignments such as Beatiful Soup 4. Sample codes are too far to be applied for assignments starting from Week 4-6. Many links are not active anymore.

By Fernanda S

Nov 27, 2015

The material covered is more complex than the previous courses yet there is much less explanation given. It's still perfectly doable but one ends up feeling like you are missing something.

By Kevin C

Jun 29, 2020

Siento que hay cosas que no se explicaron del todo bien como SOAP y REST. Al menos me lleve esa sorpresa en el cuestionario. Capaz que no me entere por el idioma. Igual esta bueno chicos!

By Gbenuola I N O

Jun 10, 2020

I am a beginner and the course is intended for beginners. Of course, I would ask questions that would seem awkward for experienced programmers; The teaching staff could be more polite.

By ASHUTOSH K S

Sep 14, 2020

Too much of it at the end was not explained properly. I would have liked more understanding of API's than this. Up to XML, the course was 5/5, but then it kind of went into a summary.

By Iti S

May 28, 2020

course is informative .but i think few topics need more time and more precise information . graded assignments should also be increased for better programming.else the course is good.

By Ashish K U

Jul 3, 2020

This time it was not explained as much as in previous we were, but ya it was difficult but I was made that much understood to do my assignments and quiz to be submitted in time.

By Mikhail V

Nov 23, 2015

The material is well explained, but there is not much of it... It is very very basic... The tasks, being extremely easy, don't really bring you further in understanding either.

By Robert P

Jun 2, 2021

P​roffessor is excellent. Student teachers (those who respond to our questions) are not helpful at all. Quizzes do not allow you to see the correct answers to your mistakes.

By David A A B

Aug 19, 2020

It is find, but I think it is completely out of python enviroment. So in this specific course you dont learn python, because basically they give you all the python code.

By Amin A

Feb 18, 2019

I needed some help with one assignment (which had completely arcane problem statement). Assistance was nowhere to be found. The teaching assistants are terrible and rude.

By Mohammed T

Jul 26, 2019

Pretty good. guess the vast topic was shrunk to limited time hence cannot say this was the best class.

However, it gives a basic understanding of API and how it works.

By Ignacio E

Dec 19, 2020

The assignments could be longer in order to cover more of the topics discussed. They mostly required a slight change in the code previously given/studied in the class

By Euhid A

May 28, 2020

The instructor was a little fast, although i enjoyed doing the programs.....this was a very interesting course, as it also taught us some real world applications too

By Hank B

Nov 17, 2019

This was not the best of the courses I have taken so far. Several topics were covered pretty superficially and it probably could have been broken into 2 courses.

By Nils W

Feb 12, 2019

The coding parts are sometime just changing one line of a given code. And sometimes you had to solve the problem by yourself. Could be more hands on programming.

By Petri-Mikael A

Apr 23, 2017

Seemed rushed, concepts not explained fully. videos are too formal, professor not funny and less relaxed than during the first two modules of this specialization

By Amit S

Sep 15, 2020

It's a kind of intellectual course and i think rather than covering so many concepts few concepts with complete clarity would have been a better way of teaching

By Sarah T

Jun 6, 2021

I felt the last chapter was a little rushed in week 6. I felt like more time should have been spent on how Keys and parms work when calling different URLs

By Rahul S

Aug 1, 2018

it wont tell anything about creating APIs atleast should what extra is required or from where we can learn or give a quick look what it takes to creat one

By Mikhail S

Jan 14, 2017

It was more difficult then previous course. As for me, it will be better to have more detailed explanation, because I think it was very fluent. Thank you!

By Kenya

Oct 31, 2016

This is a nice slow introduction to python web programming for those who have no experience or prior knowledge. Otherwise it is not at all challenging.

By Snezhana K

Jan 21, 2021

The course is very shallow, just a brief acquaintance with the matter. Assignments very easy to pass, even with no full understanding of code provided.

By Himsindhu B

Aug 22, 2020

Multiple page scrapping is not taught also how to store the scrapped data(particularly image data or text data) into csv or xlms file is not shown.