Chevron Left
Back to Using Python to Access Web Data

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Using Python to Access Web Data by University of Michigan

4.8
stars
41,436 ratings
7,550 reviews

About the Course

This course will show how one can treat the Internet as a source of data. We will scrape, parse, and read web data as well as access data using web APIs. We will work with HTML, XML, and JSON data formats in Python. This course will cover Chapters 11-13 of the textbook “Python for Everybody”. To succeed in this course, you should be familiar with the material covered in Chapters 1-10 of the textbook and the first two courses in this specialization. These topics include variables and expressions, conditional execution (loops, branching, and try/except), functions, Python data structures (strings, lists, dictionaries, and tuples), and manipulating files. This course covers Python 3....
Highlights
High quality content
(256 Reviews)
Practical assignments
(217 Reviews)

Top reviews

SM
Jun 18, 2020

This course was really interesting and did a good job introducing complicated topics in usefully simplified form. It was a pleasure to listen to the instructor and I got everything I wanted out of it.

JM
Dec 2, 2016

I have not found an easy way to learn how to code with python language. Mentor are really helpful and Dr Chuck is one of the most self explain professor that I have met in my three university career.

Filter by:

7201 - 7225 of 7,437 Reviews for Using Python to Access Web Data

By nikhil k

Aug 11, 2017

wish it had more examples and more things to solve ... although Dr Chuck is awsome , the staff and mentors are prompt in their reply..

By james d

Sep 18, 2020

A very good overview but just that an overview. I wish it would have been more involved in order to get a more thorough understanding

By Astha K

Jun 24, 2020

It was a good course . Instructor was good enough but i think it was a pretty introductory course on using python to access web data.

By Ivan F

Dec 8, 2015

Wey easy for the person with some python experience but the best part is that takes only hours to complete all assignments and quizes

By Vasileios D S

Sep 7, 2021

Several modules are introduced but very superficially, because the concepts/protocols to which they relate are not covered in detail

By AMMISH T

Jun 28, 2020

Wasn't detailed and couldn't follow where it was heading at..Instructor just covers a part of it and it pretty much feels useless ..

By Christopher I

Jan 23, 2018

As most of Severance's courses on Coursera, there is no real challenge or learning curve, these are simply very light introductions.

By Steve C

Dec 28, 2016

I learned a few new things on this course. It's not so much about the Python language as about the things you can do with it on-line

By SNEHIL S K

May 26, 2020

Meaning of a lot of things was not explained properly and more of mugging up stuff was taught but in overall i enjoyed the course,

By Shivam P

May 6, 2018

I feel the course was introduced much earlier than was needed. We could have learnt much simpler stuffs such as Numpy and Tkinter.

By Ali M

Oct 20, 2016

its a good course .However i found it difficult since it requires you to understand how the internet and internet application work

By PRASHANT K

Jul 4, 2020

This course could have been more detailed and less paced. Students are not given enough time and practice to grasp new concepts.

By César D E B

Mar 17, 2018

The background knowledge for some of the assignments was not properly covered in the lectures. Had to rely heavily on the forum.

By 谌禹翰

Oct 31, 2017

too thorough in the last 2 courses, hope more detail taught.

Thanks Dr.chuck for providing this course, he deserves Gryffindor !

By mariana r

Jul 9, 2020

The worked examples need more explanation. The first example of google API is not even updated because it doesn't work anymore,

By Brian Q

Apr 25, 2016

Assignments are very easy, and there aren't easy to follow notes that one can use instead of always having to watch the videos.

By Banke O

Aug 19, 2020

I didn't like thie explanations given with this one. I simply copied and edited the code syntax to get through the assignments

By Parth S

Aug 24, 2019

too many lectures in single week , very difficult to freshly learn so many things at once and apply them in the assignments.

By 马镓浚

Dec 21, 2019

I think maybe Professor Charles wants to squish too many things into this course and it really make it not easy to follow.

By sahil k

Mar 5, 2020

It's been difficult for those who are not from a computer background. More basic lectures should be added for json,xlm

By Walid A

Mar 3, 2019

It's a good course with good instructor , but the part of web service and API need more clarification for beginners .

By Sofía I Q R

Jan 10, 2021

I think these skills are very useful however they weren't explained very well. The first courses were waaaay better

By Rinkesh V

May 11, 2020

in this part we are not taught deep information about web accessing model so this part is a kind of tough and messy

By Josh J

Jun 5, 2019

Some of the assignments are a far stretch from what is in the chapter. the content is fine and fun to go through.

By Sid S

Nov 12, 2021

you have to explain all the lengthy code in a proper way so we can understand what's going on in between the url