Chevron Left
Back to Using Python to Access Web Data

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Using Python to Access Web Data by University of Michigan

4.8
stars
41,436 ratings
7,550 reviews

About the Course

This course will show how one can treat the Internet as a source of data. We will scrape, parse, and read web data as well as access data using web APIs. We will work with HTML, XML, and JSON data formats in Python. This course will cover Chapters 11-13 of the textbook “Python for Everybody”. To succeed in this course, you should be familiar with the material covered in Chapters 1-10 of the textbook and the first two courses in this specialization. These topics include variables and expressions, conditional execution (loops, branching, and try/except), functions, Python data structures (strings, lists, dictionaries, and tuples), and manipulating files. This course covers Python 3....
Highlights
High quality content
(256 Reviews)
Practical assignments
(217 Reviews)

Top reviews

SM
Jun 18, 2020

This course was really interesting and did a good job introducing complicated topics in usefully simplified form. It was a pleasure to listen to the instructor and I got everything I wanted out of it.

JM
Dec 2, 2016

I have not found an easy way to learn how to code with python language. Mentor are really helpful and Dr Chuck is one of the most self explain professor that I have met in my three university career.

Filter by:

7226 - 7250 of 7,437 Reviews for Using Python to Access Web Data

By Lai J

Apr 30, 2020

instructions and teaching were all over the place, key details were missed out and i have to do assignment on it

By BINELLO M

Mar 28, 2021

Quite interesting, but I must confess that, after the first two courses, this one did not make me so enthusiast

By Olivier N

Jan 11, 2016

Good course, but I might have used a little more rigor and material, maybe more exercises would have been nice.

By Soham P

Apr 19, 2020

Too much content squeezed in. Covered up material too fast. For beginners in networking, it is very difficult.

By Harry V

Jan 12, 2016

More material, or coverage of the existing material with more library coverage would have improved the course.

By Cracker Z

Aug 12, 2019

Overall good. Sometimes feel information is not very sufficient and does not explain clearly in some details

By Dikshant V

Jul 2, 2020

was fun in the beginening but i had problems compiling my programs as json library didnt worked in my IDLE

By manchala v k

May 31, 2020

i think this course is too high after completing the data structures.....it completely blown off my mind.

By Andres V S

Oct 25, 2020

Teacher isn't good at explaining, had to look for better examples elsewhere to complete the exercises.

By Ganesh V

May 3, 2020

I just byhearted this course.

I didn't fully understand which part in the code executes which function.

By Yifeng L

Oct 30, 2018

It's not as difficult as I expected. The course is good for beginners but I think it could go deeper.

By Varun T

Jan 28, 2018

sockets and regular expressions were not explained very well. Detailed explanations would have helped

By Federico C

May 17, 2018

Still very good! But probably due to the wide subject the concepts are not explained clearly enough.

By Paula B

Mar 13, 2018

This was harder than the past two, lost my rhythm a bit too and I don't feel as confident with this.

By patel k d

Jan 5, 2018

my knowledge about the internet things is little poor thats why my gric will be lose in this portion

By Konstantin K

Oct 10, 2017

A lot about offtopic. Lack of details about python related stuff within socket and web parsing stuff

By Asena U

Sep 8, 2016

Not clear examples in the videos. Tests are way different than what the Prof. covers in the videos.

By Rajat O

Feb 21, 2019

URLs provided sometimes doesn't show results in urllib.request. Else, things were fine and clear.

By Evan M

Oct 14, 2017

Was unnecessarily complex in week 4, 5, 6 trying to gather web based data for the assignments

By Javier C

Sep 19, 2020

It was not so interesting/useful as the other Python courses included in the Specialization

By 21_026_Manjunath J

Oct 4, 2020

good course but it was like skimming over the ocean. Wanted a little bit deep information.

By Edward A

Aug 24, 2017

the theme of this course is complex and need knowledge in HTTP and Internet architecture.

By Ajoy K D

May 10, 2020

the content was complicated bt the slides problem or slide content was not that detailed

By Sarthak S

Dec 16, 2019

It was very quick when it came to APIs made it hard for me to grasp the topics properly.

By Grzegorz B

Mar 5, 2016

It is good course, but I would like it to be in the more material and details of Python.