Chevron Left
Back to Using Python to Access Web Data

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Using Python to Access Web Data by University of Michigan

4.8
stars
42,411 ratings

About the Course

This course will show how one can treat the Internet as a source of data. We will scrape, parse, and read web data as well as access data using web APIs. We will work with HTML, XML, and JSON data formats in Python. This course will cover Chapters 11-13 of the textbook “Python for Everybody”. To succeed in this course, you should be familiar with the material covered in Chapters 1-10 of the textbook and the first two courses in this specialization. These topics include variables and expressions, conditional execution (loops, branching, and try/except), functions, Python data structures (strings, lists, dictionaries, and tuples), and manipulating files. This course covers Python 3....
Highlights
High quality content

(256 Reviews)

Practical assignments

(217 Reviews)

Top reviews

SM

Jun 18, 2020

This course was really interesting and did a good job introducing complicated topics in usefully simplified form. It was a pleasure to listen to the instructor and I got everything I wanted out of it.

ML

Jun 16, 2017

Excellent course with in depth explanations. It is well structured. It learn to access Web Data from very basics to optimum level. It help me to understand details of using Python to Access Web Data.

Filter by:

7226 - 7250 of 7,630 Reviews for Using Python to Access Web Data

By mahmoud K s

Sep 8, 2020

good

By Sweta c

Aug 23, 2020

good

By Aman R

Aug 8, 2020

nice

By Sneha S

Jul 25, 2020

nice

By Muhammad F H

Jul 21, 2020

good

By Sayed M R

Jul 18, 2020

good

By Sazida I N

Jul 5, 2020

good

By Bodalapalle P S

Jun 17, 2020

good

By Manali G

Jun 1, 2020

good

By ABHISHEK C

Apr 17, 2020

good

By VIGNESHKUMAR R

Nov 20, 2019

good

By Deleted A

Mar 4, 2019

Good

By Ankamreddi D

May 26, 2018

good

By Putchakayala P

May 26, 2018

good

By Akhilesh G

Jun 21, 2017

Good

By Mohammad M H

Dec 12, 2016

good

By 梁嘉琪

Oct 15, 2016

Good

By 杨初斌

Oct 8, 2016

good

By prakhar g r

Apr 12, 2016

nice

By donganlan

Dec 14, 2015

nice

By Michael H

Nov 22, 2016

4/5

By Yao G

Feb 18, 2019

y

By Steven R

Mar 11, 2017

W

By anas m r

Jun 26, 2020

I really enjoyed the first two courses of Dr. Chuck's Python for Everybody Specialization -- but not this one. As some other reviewers have already stated I, too, felt increasingly frustrated and somehow left alone during this course. Most of this course's assignments were way too difficult and I had to search the web for hours to find some help to solve them. Or, quite honestly, I had to cheat my way through them, because I just didn't know what to do anymore. There are of course the discussion forums where one can state one's problem - but although the staff and mentors are really quick with replying (thumbs up for that), their tips are often way too general and not helpful at all.

After taking this third course I will definitely not continue with the Specialization, as I originally planned to, simply because in comparison to the first two courses, this third course is way too difficult and frustrating!

Also, in my opinion, Dr Chuck tries to squeeze in far too many different topics and different programming langauges into this course, instead of really just focusing on Python itself.

I completed this course, yes, but it left me with a very frustrated and unsatisfied feeling. I don't think I was really able to learn a lot from it, which is really a pity, since I enjoyed the first two courses so much.

By Elham K

Oct 1, 2017

I'm giving 3 star because I compare this course to Python for everybody and data structure which are perfect courses. The first reason that I'm not happy with this course is that you can never get the course finished because you have to wait for your first assignment reviewed by students and I saw in Forum that some people are waiting for 1 year! I guess thousands of students are waiting to get their homeworks reviewed. The assignment is taking screenshot from your python installed and printing something! This is the third course and who got this far for sure has python installed, Is the assignment really that necessary?!

Another reason is the lectures are in python 2 and for the assignments if you are going to work with python 3 (which by the way they recommend students use it rather than python 2 in the first course), is going to be pain. There are really different and its confusing and frustrating to figure out the codes that work with your python version.

I also think the lectures somehow got really complicated and difficult very fast in this course. However, I have to be fair and admit that I didn't know anything about xlm, html and json before taking this course and now at least I know what they are!