Chevron Left
Back to Using Python to Access Web Data

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Using Python to Access Web Data by University of Michigan

4.8
stars
42,407 ratings

About the Course

This course will show how one can treat the Internet as a source of data. We will scrape, parse, and read web data as well as access data using web APIs. We will work with HTML, XML, and JSON data formats in Python. This course will cover Chapters 11-13 of the textbook “Python for Everybody”. To succeed in this course, you should be familiar with the material covered in Chapters 1-10 of the textbook and the first two courses in this specialization. These topics include variables and expressions, conditional execution (loops, branching, and try/except), functions, Python data structures (strings, lists, dictionaries, and tuples), and manipulating files. This course covers Python 3....
Highlights
High quality content

(256 Reviews)

Practical assignments

(217 Reviews)

Top reviews

SM

Jun 18, 2020

This course was really interesting and did a good job introducing complicated topics in usefully simplified form. It was a pleasure to listen to the instructor and I got everything I wanted out of it.

AB

Jun 6, 2019

Getting a bit more challenging than the earlier courses in the specialization. The exercises require more struggle, but all the information is there. Another step along the way. Thank you, Dr. Chuck!

Filter by:

7601 - 7625 of 7,629 Reviews for Using Python to Access Web Data

By Rajan G

Oct 30, 2020

Not good

By Deepak G

May 15, 2020

.

By Mihai-Viorel L

Mar 4, 2022

I could not wait to finish this course of the specialization to write my review.

Even though the first two courses in the specialization were pretty straightforward, this one has terrorised me. Now, I understand the difficulty some people might have met in the previous two courses and left mixed reviews.

I do not even know where to start with how bad this course was. There has been incomplete information in the online course that you could find in the textbook. But, some written scripts/programs in the textbook are different/changed from the ones in the video. Moreover, the assignments' descriptions are so hard to understand that when we had to use BeautifulSoup to follow links it took me 1 hour to understand what I was asked to do. I am not a native English speaker and I could have worded it better.

Then there are other issues such as:

- explanations of installing BeatifulSoup, and where, unclear

- accessing Google API does not work anymore; how am I supposed to follow along with the example given for how to work with APIs?

- Twitter has changed the way you can access their API and now requires 3 tokens, not 4 as in the videos/textbook; I guess I have to look this one up on the internet too, so I can properly grasp the concept

- there is missing information in the course/textbook on how to approach the assignments.

I do not mind doing research on my own, but how am I supposed to know what to look for if I am not told what I need to finish the assignments? The other issue, and the reason I signed up to Coursera, is that infomation you find online is overwhelming and it seems no one wants to make programming easy for someone that has no clue how to start. I would expect this not to be an issue when using Coursera. And the structure, "written script" and explained before the actual script being written down is so bad that can confuse people so badly.

By LIM C C

Dec 27, 2020

This part (Using Python to Access Web Data) is not easy at all compared to the previous courses in terms of the topics and contents touch on for beginner level, particularly the assignments. There are several portions in this course need to be improved, 1. Lack of full guidance for the coding and workings (the assignments cannot be done solely based on the lectures, external study and research is a must - It defeats the purpose taking up this course, why not choose other vendors with better structured design and contents?) 2. Leading to confusion for the learner in assignment questions (No clear explanation for the expected outcome and poor design of assignment structure - e.g. Question, Expectation, Samples, Steps by steps guidance) 3. Gap of understanding (The details of coding and structures are not well explained from a beginner's perspective and there are some missing part in between the lectures and hands-on! It appears to be in a rush to complete everything in video lecture for the main topics instead of further explaining in details on the theories and hands-on and what come out in the assignment were not taught in the lectures). I couldn't do much but had to conduct research by myself from external sources/tips/guidance to complete this part. Is it really a good choice for beginners to pick up a new skillset in the world of advanced technology? It reminds me that the course name - PY4E (Python for Everyone). SERIOUSLY, I doubt it!

By Edwin R J

Dec 14, 2016

I am running Firefox v50 on Ubuntu Linux v16.04. I was unable to watch any of the lecture videos due to the page reloading every 2 - 10 seconds. I tried moving to a different video with the same results. I don't know if this is UC Davis-specific or whether Coursera has changed significantly since the last time I took a class, but this course is totally unusable.

I would have left this review with Coursera rather than as a course review, but Coursera doesn't make contact information easy to locate.

By Nargiz

Jan 2, 2021

I liked first 2 courses but this one was horrible.I had to watch tons of YouTube videos and ask help from reddit subs in order to at least get RUDIMENTARY grasp...All lectures were rushed and tasks were confusing.I understand the course cannot magically teach everything 100% but at least it has to be more precise and detailed. Moreover ,teaching staff is RUDE as hell.I love and respect dr. Chuck.I hope upcoming classes won't be this vague.

By Ahmet B B

Aug 17, 2020

After taking two great courses from Dr.Chuck, this course was a disestar. It consumed all of my energy and motivation. I am not sure wheter I continue with this specialization from Dr.Chuck. In the process of this course he always pretend like I am a web programmer but in fact, I was not and I could not catch a great portion of this course. So sad... What a pitty

By Jorge O

May 30, 2021

En este tercer curso, pasó de ser entendible y retador algunas pruebas, para volverse frustrante, tener que estar buscando horas y horas en otras páginas, tutoriales y foros acerca las evaluaciones, ya que para alguien que recién lo lleva, se le hace imposible poder completarlas por uno mismo.

By Muhammad M

Jan 19, 2021

There were no details about how to solve a problem. The instructor covered only the intro. Really very disappointed with the 3rd course, the first two were good. The aim of this course to give skills to the students instead of intro about the topic and book.

By Shaun S

Jun 8, 2020

Nowhere as good as the first two courses in this specialization. Do not have high expectations as you will spend more time on Google and YouTube understanding things taught in this course as compared to the time you spend watching lecture videos!

By André S

May 17, 2021

The content is treated in a trivial way (what's is awful). The impression I had is that the instructor simply considered that I already knew the subject and had domain about it, so his explanations were very poor during the entire course.

By Richard E

Apr 23, 2020

The class was great.

I'm rating this course, because it looks I'm being prevented to go the next course, ***that I already started*** and can't get back to ! assume that nothing I say means a thing. but I am ticked off!

By Michael C

May 18, 2022

I encountered alot of difficulties with the programs like BeautifulSoup. I didnt learn much as compared to the past two courses in this specialization. Please endeaor to improe this course

By Scott

Sep 8, 2016

I only received 96% as a final result, even though I obtained 100% for every assignment. Pathetic rating system. If I had paid for this course I would be incensed.

By Raphaël S

Feb 16, 2022

S​orry but this course is totally impossible to understand without a previous knowledge and the gap bewteen the 2nd course and this one is huge

By Mohammad H

Dec 9, 2020

Disappointing. Instead of focusing on Python he's teaching xml and http. He only introduced APIs in the end. Didn't learn what I came here for.

By Hooman D

Jul 6, 2022

This course was confused and jumbled. Dr chuck tries to explain too much in just 6 weeks and the result is a lot of confused students.

By Айрапетян Ж С

Jan 28, 2021

There is a huge gap between some weeks. And seems recordings are made at different time and it breaks the logic of videos.

By J.M.

Feb 14, 2016

I'm getting coursera verification prompts too often. This doesn't happen in any of the other courses I've taken/I'm taking

By Asier

Mar 16, 2017

Very poor that in order to submit any exam I have to purchase the course when I can download the book and learn as well.

By Deleted A

Oct 15, 2017

It is very confusing how the course is graded. I am spending more time to think about the UI rather than course

By Ren Y

Apr 2, 2020

The instructor is good but when you need help GOOD LUCK. The help people are terrible so I am stuck for 3 days

By Harry L

Feb 10, 2021

Course content is quite fast talking with not comprehensive knowledge related; not very worth of your time

By Bob H

Mar 4, 2022

You had me until beeautiful crappy soup left me cold with nowhere to turnfor help or direction

By GOVIND K J

Dec 13, 2019

I am not able to submit m assignment of 3 weeks so kindly please help me out