Chevron Left
Back to Using Python to Access Web Data

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Using Python to Access Web Data by University of Michigan

4.8
stars
42,310 ratings
7,721 reviews

About the Course

This course will show how one can treat the Internet as a source of data. We will scrape, parse, and read web data as well as access data using web APIs. We will work with HTML, XML, and JSON data formats in Python. This course will cover Chapters 11-13 of the textbook “Python for Everybody”. To succeed in this course, you should be familiar with the material covered in Chapters 1-10 of the textbook and the first two courses in this specialization. These topics include variables and expressions, conditional execution (loops, branching, and try/except), functions, Python data structures (strings, lists, dictionaries, and tuples), and manipulating files. This course covers Python 3....
Highlights
High quality content

(256 Reviews)

Practical assignments

(217 Reviews)

Top reviews

SM

Jun 18, 2020

This course was really interesting and did a good job introducing complicated topics in usefully simplified form. It was a pleasure to listen to the instructor and I got everything I wanted out of it.

ML

Jun 16, 2017

Excellent course with in depth explanations. It is well structured. It learn to access Web Data from very basics to optimum level. It help me to understand details of using Python to Access Web Data.

Filter by:

826 - 850 of 7,614 Reviews for Using Python to Access Web Data

By Daniel P

May 22, 2017

This course is amazingly put together! Dr. Chuck is very funny and engaging (plus passionate). I would strongly recommend this course; it's very hard to find a course like this.

By Davide M

Nov 9, 2015

An easy MOOC as long as you know some Python programming but quite interesting for a global view of some of the available Python libraries and techniques for accessing web data.

By Kanatbek A

Mar 17, 2021

Thanks this course I learned how to retrieve data from website, social apps as well as how to create a web page using xml and file for packages using json. I am leveling up! :)

By Christopher I F

Aug 5, 2020

I have come along way in this course in the last 7 weeks. I looked up the latest University rankings when I started the course. The University of Michigan is very highly rated.

By Juan C

May 4, 2020

Another great course. More challenging than the previous ones which shows how much there is to learn. Will continue with additional courses from this instructor and university.

By Palash P

Jul 4, 2019

One of the most interesting course in the whole specialization Python for everybody, there is a great number of assignments giving you on-hand training. Dr. Chuck, you rock !!!

By Alexander T

Feb 6, 2018

This is the third course in this specialization which I have competed. And... I started to use Python to do my job routine! It is so cool)

Thanks, Dr. Chuch! You are a magician!

By Ivan S

Oct 21, 2017

I'm really thankful for this course. I cameout of my local PC, I came out of my Python's understanding. It's really cool. Now there is a new page of Internet is opeon for work.

By Graeme S

Dec 22, 2015

As always, Dr. Chuck makes learning this material fun and interesting. Nice to be getting to some good, hands-on, stuff after learning the foundational material. Thank you Doc!

By Munavar M

May 21, 2022

I've never seen such a comprehensive course. Professor and Coursera has transformed me from zero to hero in python in span of just 45 days.Thanks coursera and Professor Chunk.

By Ashish K

Oct 15, 2020

I learned so much from this course in these past weeks. Thank you dr. chuck for introducing me to a course which i've never studied before and make it very easy to understand

By GADE S L K

Jul 7, 2020

this is the awesome course, its a bit difficult for me I find this course challenging I've to refer the google for other information but overall the course is good and helpful

By Kuldeep M

May 31, 2020

This course really helped me to understand how we can easily and cleverly fetch data from the web and the immense applications of API.I am very grateful to Dr.Chuck.Thank You.

By B17-051 M R

Mar 5, 2020

A very exciting course taught by a very professional and nice teacher. The course was very well balanced. This course really boost my interest to learn even more about Python.

By maboseteit

Nov 25, 2018

I think that's most powerful course i attend but i have small comment regarding API I think it will be good if we do something like project and what's fields i need to use API

By Indranil M

Aug 27, 2018

An excellent part of the Python for Everybody specialization, this course explains Python's connections with web data in very simple language and with interesting assignments.

By Zhisong H

Dec 28, 2015

I like this course so much. Not only this one, but the whole series. I learned a lot and I feel myself into Python now. The lectures are great, so are the examples and tricks.

By Juan J C T

Aug 26, 2020

Excellent content. A good approach to how we can access web data using a programming language. I really like how that "Don´t repeat yourself" premise is applied by Dr. Chuck.

By Sol B W

May 20, 2016

Sometimes easy, sometimes hard. Learned a lot! Interesting how very simple programs can be used to interact so easily with API's like Google's or twitter.

Excellent teacher!.

By Francisco J P

Mar 14, 2016

A great continuation of the former course, it assumes that you now have a certain knowledge of the language but it gives you all the tools you need to learn the new contents.

By Feng J

Jan 31, 2016

This is a great online beginner python database course. Thank you Dr. Chuck and your team in leading to the world of python. It was an enjoyable experience learning with you.

By Yesha k

Mar 16, 2020

This is the best course ever for accessing the web using Python programming. Every concept and program is broken down for better understanding. Thank you so much, professor.

By Amartya M

Jul 20, 2018

Easy and understandable for someone just starting to get acquainted with Python. Leaves me with a mushroom cloud of confidence to study further and learn more advance stuff.

By Mohammed A S

Nov 5, 2017

Very nicely explained !!

Recommend this course for learning Python Strings, REST Api's using Python, Examples with Google GeoLocation Api and Twitter Api.

Thank You Dr Chuck .

By Micah B

Nov 23, 2015

Course is thoughtfully put together. The assigned work is sufficiently hard for a class at this level, and the teacher provides great resources to review the class material.