Chevron Left
Back to Using Python to Access Web Data

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Using Python to Access Web Data by University of Michigan

4.8
stars
42,407 ratings

About the Course

This course will show how one can treat the Internet as a source of data. We will scrape, parse, and read web data as well as access data using web APIs. We will work with HTML, XML, and JSON data formats in Python. This course will cover Chapters 11-13 of the textbook “Python for Everybody”. To succeed in this course, you should be familiar with the material covered in Chapters 1-10 of the textbook and the first two courses in this specialization. These topics include variables and expressions, conditional execution (loops, branching, and try/except), functions, Python data structures (strings, lists, dictionaries, and tuples), and manipulating files. This course covers Python 3....
Highlights
High quality content

(256 Reviews)

Practical assignments

(217 Reviews)

Top reviews

SM

Jun 18, 2020

This course was really interesting and did a good job introducing complicated topics in usefully simplified form. It was a pleasure to listen to the instructor and I got everything I wanted out of it.

AB

Jun 6, 2019

Getting a bit more challenging than the earlier courses in the specialization. The exercises require more struggle, but all the information is there. Another step along the way. Thank you, Dr. Chuck!

Filter by:

876 - 900 of 7,630 Reviews for Using Python to Access Web Data

By Yang W

Feb 28, 2021

The regex, web, XML, and JSON parts are super useful. I learned them a bit during the work but never had a good understanding of them. This course really clarifies them.

By Tang L

Jan 6, 2021

Learn some new things about API, JSON, XML. I have heard of these terms before but never learned actively by myself before. It's interesting to receive a course on that.

By M. N I I

Aug 29, 2020

kind of weird actually to have "internet" accessed using python in the middle of a specialization, rated beginner course. but overall i somewhat understand the material.

By Chris S

Oct 13, 2019

Dr. Chuck does a great job of taking students through from simple to increasingly complex topics in a logical way. I've enjoyed the course and I'm excited to learn more.

By Ahmed R A E

Jul 22, 2019

the course is good but i think one thing can make it prefect for beginners which is more practical exercises to make the student feel confident moving to the next lesson

By YUVARAJ B R

Mar 17, 2016

thanks to dr.chuck for taking this course...he is really cool...and his way of teaching is awesome...i referred this course to my friends...they are really doing good...

By Muchammad H P

Jun 22, 2020

I like the way Dr Chuck teaching, he gave the fundamental lesson of what we need to know for accessing the web. This is may differentiate with other course. Great work.

By ABHIJAY G

May 7, 2020

BEAUTIFUL COURSE, IT GAVE A VERY NICE OUTLINE OF WHAT IS DATA SCRAPING AND ALSO TOUCHED OTHER TOPICS LIKE THE INTERNET HISTORY, APIs. THE COURSE IS REALLY INTERESTING!!

By Hamed V

Nov 28, 2021

Hi, thank you for this great course. everything is so useful and simple for learning. thank you Dr. Severance, Thank you University of Michigan and Thank You Coursera.

By Nicole B

Oct 17, 2020

I really enjoyed this course, but i recommend doing the the two courses before this one because you do need to have a background in Python. At least knowing the basics

By Tahsin S N

Jun 30, 2020

It was great...If you love python, and want to work with web data, api then this course is for you. Every lecture & assignment is incredible. Moreover, it is very easy

By Aditya S R

May 25, 2020

Dr. Chuck is the best! I had no problem getting to know about the intricate things mentioned in this course, because it was all explained by the prof very beautifully.

By Artur K

Mar 23, 2019

I was able to get a fundamental understanding of how to access the web data. What you need to use and how data is structured on the web. Great step by step explanation

By Mihir

Feb 20, 2019

Very interesting things learnt by end of this course. The structure of course is very well built, how each concept is introduced and built upon is very easy to follow.

By MICHAL K

Nov 1, 2020

Great course, Chuck is amazing teacher and is able to explain everything in a very understandable way. Whole course is nicely made, with lot of quizes and assigments.

By Divya S

Jul 28, 2020

Chucks sir always teaches in the best way. But this course was little difficult foe me , but will do it properly by practicing .Overall it is a understandable course.

By Pubudu U

May 9, 2020

It is a well-structured course to get the knowledge to access web data using the python programming language. And I should say, Dr.Chuck's teaching style is awesome.

By Demetrius l

Mar 27, 2019

Excellent Course, very challenging but if you took the first two courses and really understand what is going on, then you shouldn't have any problems working thru it.

By Steffen K

Sep 22, 2016

I really enjoyed the class. Dr. Chuck makes full use of the medium to make it interesting. I read the book before but this online course really brings python to life.

By Thomas O

Sep 13, 2016

Great overview, but not enough of a good thing; I would have liked for the course to be a bit longer and go more in detail. Still an interesting course for beginners.

By Uday K B

Dec 19, 2015

Its great course. I am enjoying it. Right now I am in week 2, so cant tell more than this. But, I really like the way this class is going on . Thanks for this course!

By Rohith P

Dec 10, 2015

Continuing with the experience I had with the previous course, the content is exceptionally delivered to ensure maximum uptake by students. Professor Chuck rocks...!!

By Mike B

Apr 6, 2021

I was able to go at my own pace which allowed me to complete the course in a few days. I learned a lot. I look forward to the other courses in this specialization.

By Xinru L

Jan 25, 2021

So excited to finish the course3 of python for everybody program and got a bunch of learnings of web data access python skills. Extremely recommend this to everyone!

By SAURABH D

Sep 27, 2020

Very to good course for python programming!

cheers to Dr.chucks for his tremendous teaching techniques.

I wish i could meet Dr. Chucks, just like the Office Hours " :)