Chevron Left
Back to Using Python to Access Web Data

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Using Python to Access Web Data by University of Michigan

4.8
stars
41,224 ratings
7,510 reviews

About the Course

This course will show how one can treat the Internet as a source of data. We will scrape, parse, and read web data as well as access data using web APIs. We will work with HTML, XML, and JSON data formats in Python. This course will cover Chapters 11-13 of the textbook “Python for Everybody”. To succeed in this course, you should be familiar with the material covered in Chapters 1-10 of the textbook and the first two courses in this specialization. These topics include variables and expressions, conditional execution (loops, branching, and try/except), functions, Python data structures (strings, lists, dictionaries, and tuples), and manipulating files. This course covers Python 3....
Highlights
High quality content
(256 Reviews)
Practical assignments
(217 Reviews)

Top reviews

SM
Jun 18, 2020

This course was really interesting and did a good job introducing complicated topics in usefully simplified form. It was a pleasure to listen to the instructor and I got everything I wanted out of it.

AB
Jun 6, 2019

Getting a bit more challenging than the earlier courses in the specialization. The exercises require more struggle, but all the information is there. Another step along the way. Thank you, Dr. Chuck!

Filter by:

401 - 425 of 7,398 Reviews for Using Python to Access Web Data

By Álvaro J V M

Jun 8, 2020

The series of courses until now, help me a lot to improve my computer programming skills, due to the most of my current experience was programming micro-controllers and some class projects in MATLAB. I'm very grateful with all of you for this excellent course.

By Mayur K

May 19, 2020

Incredible, it gave me joy of learning. I am now very confident while accessing web data. Even based on this course knowledge I automated my one downloading task where I was expected to download more than 400 pdf files of in total 6 gb. Its really nice course.

By KARTHIKEYAN B

Feb 11, 2020

This course was such a smooth journey wherein challenging assignments were given. It was certainly worth my time and money. I feel empowered after completing every course in Python for Everybody module. Thanks to University of Michigan and Bows to Mr Severance.

By Kesavan N

Dec 17, 2017

I really liked the two exercises that compared XML to JSON - it helped that we were able to have the same assignment in theory but with different transfer protocols. Also, the worked examples were really well crafted. I really enjoyed this course! Thank you.

By Lindsay V

Nov 5, 2016

This course is relevant and insightful. I learned a great deal about how to communicate with internet services using python libraries. I learned about API's and how to parse HTML, JSON and XML. I did not even know what these were prior to starting this course.

By Mauricio A G

Mar 3, 2020

Another nice course from Dr. Chuck. Its difficulty level is higher than the two previous courses and one has to apply oneself harder. It would be great if there were a wider selection of activities to cover more different cases of web data retrieval-handling.

By Niveditha D

Mar 7, 2017

Amazing course with an even amazing professor! Keeps me so involved and inspired to finish the course and the content is so interesting, I dont feel like I should stop these courses! I have already started using the concepts I learned here into my daily work.

By Aditya V

Jun 10, 2017

Dear Prof. Charles Severence, I can't thank you enough for this wonderful course. The way you have taught the concepts of accessing web data using python is simple yet extremely effective. I am very happy for getting this opportunity to attend your lectures.

By Uma S

Apr 27, 2017

The way Dr. Chuck teaches and shares his knowledge is way too much fun and easy to understand. Made me to think that Python is easy to work and more enjoyable. Thanks to Dr. Chuck and Coursera.

Please carry on with your great service to the online community!!

By Tibor J

Feb 28, 2021

In this course, the learning curve takes off a bit vs. the first two which were easier, and for me, this worked fine. The course is helping not just to learn the basic web-related Python programming, but it is also a great introduction to how the web works.

By GUZMAN S A

Sep 27, 2020

Great course with a lot of examples and the graded tests are useful and simple for you to accomplish.

Dr. Chuck explains everything in a simple way and this a plus in the course. You won't feel overwhelmed in this course, every task is simple and reachable.

By Md. S R

Jul 3, 2020

This course is absolutely fantastic. I have learned from it how to access web data, this was amazing learning I have ever completed. I enjoyed it a lot. I appreciate Dr. Chuck's endeavor highly. He is an awesome teacher and he teaches the students with fun!

By Ahmad A

Feb 7, 2020

Very great, it might be a fundamental course but, it contains very useful info about Regular Expressions, Networking, Sockets, Transfering data, URL library, Beautiful soup, XML and its Schemas, JSON and some APIs including Google Geocoding and Twitter API

By Kaloyan A

Jul 7, 2019

Great course, great teacher, useful knowledge... what more can a student, eager to learn, might want! Dr. Chuck and his forum moderators has made the experience of learning Python a true pleasure. I highly recommend this course and the whole specialization.

By adolfo c r d a

Dec 16, 2015

With other courses, I was having the feeling I was going nowhere. With this one I am enjoying it a lot because we are actually doing fun things, like accessing a web page and extracting information that can be used for whatever else. Extremely practical! :)

By Scott G

Dec 16, 2020

Interesting topics, great to make meaningful applications, that could have real world uses.

More challenging than previous courses. Although the solutions are short and elegant, you will need a good understanding of lists and dictionaries to complete them.

By Chang

Apr 4, 2020

I learned a lot about accessing web data from this course. I think this is a course that generally tells you basics about HTML,XML and JSON. If you want to have deeper understanding of accessing web data, you can take other courses which are more specific.

By Marek O

Jun 23, 2017

Once again, great course! This time was very challenging but when i stuck into a problem Dr Chuck helped me with his lecture!

One thing - I'd rather prefered when the video was splited in two, so I can read the presentation during Dr Chuck's lecture.

Thanks!

By Rui H

Aug 14, 2016

I used to be in one python programming course in school. That course ended by BeautifulSoup. This course just added to where I wanted to continue. Very clear demonstration, I'll definitely finish the following courses in this series. Thank you Dr. Charles!

By K. R J

Feb 15, 2016

Absolutely great course.

This course has de-mystified the basics of accessing web-data and has atleast helped me realize the power of python to access it.

Faculty, Well delivered ! you have kept the discussions lively and have made me eager to learn more.

By Max B

Jun 3, 2020

Pretty challenging assignments so be sure to complete the first two courses before tackling this material. This professor is one of the best instructors I have ever had. He is able to communicate pretty dry and complex topics with optimism and simplicity.

By vipin p

Aug 15, 2017

It got a bit tricky and I enjoyed it that way. I had to sit with unsolved assignments to solve the problems and I totally am flattered by the magic of programming. It helps you look at problem differently. Thank you Dr Charles Severance and Coursera team.

By Denis M

Nov 20, 2016

A great, easy to understand course. I would especially recommend the "Introduction to networking" book, where all complicated things about the networks explained simple and rather fun. You can find the link to the book on the week 3.

Thank you, Dr. Chuck!

By Valentin S

Mar 13, 2016

A bit more difficult than 2 courses of the same speciality placed before, but if you've finished them than it's still quite easy for understanding. I understood how web applications are working after completing it and even used API by my own. Nice course!

By Umar F M

May 31, 2021

This course is an excellent opportunity to learn new skills in python and how can it be used to access the internet for data. The interconnected lectures and topics along with the excellent teaching techniques made this course very easy for new learners.