Chevron Left
Back to Using Python to Access Web Data

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Using Python to Access Web Data by University of Michigan

4.8
stars
41,281 ratings
7,519 reviews

About the Course

This course will show how one can treat the Internet as a source of data. We will scrape, parse, and read web data as well as access data using web APIs. We will work with HTML, XML, and JSON data formats in Python. This course will cover Chapters 11-13 of the textbook “Python for Everybody”. To succeed in this course, you should be familiar with the material covered in Chapters 1-10 of the textbook and the first two courses in this specialization. These topics include variables and expressions, conditional execution (loops, branching, and try/except), functions, Python data structures (strings, lists, dictionaries, and tuples), and manipulating files. This course covers Python 3....
Highlights
High quality content
(256 Reviews)
Practical assignments
(217 Reviews)

Top reviews

SM
Jun 18, 2020

This course was really interesting and did a good job introducing complicated topics in usefully simplified form. It was a pleasure to listen to the instructor and I got everything I wanted out of it.

AB
Jun 6, 2019

Getting a bit more challenging than the earlier courses in the specialization. The exercises require more struggle, but all the information is there. Another step along the way. Thank you, Dr. Chuck!

Filter by:

626 - 650 of 7,407 Reviews for Using Python to Access Web Data

By sukrutha s

Dec 18, 2020

Dr Chuck makes the programming very easy. This is the first programming language I have ever learnt, and I never thought coding is fun. Thanks to Chuck for making this course simple and easy for learners.

By Trish P

Aug 12, 2020

This course is challenging, but in a good way - I had fun doing a number of the assignments, even when I had to dig a bit to figure it out. Dr. Chuck provides plenty of information and is easy to follow!

By Motao C

Mar 15, 2020

Nice introductory class for accessing web data. The course covers different web data formats and the ways to retrieve and parse the information using Python. The content is easy to understand and helpful!

By Armin L

Feb 4, 2019

Really another great course. The greatest of all instructors. Good homework. I liked it. Best, the links to all data samples available on the planet, a whole new world opened yesterday. Thank you so much.

By Harry L

Jan 6, 2018

Great course, I learned a lot. I recommend it to everyone regardless of interest as it provides a good understanding of how the internet works (and you probably use the internet if you are reading this!)

By Megarbane a

Jan 4, 2017

I like these courses very much. Dr Severance is such a good teacher!

But I found the last courses more difficult and maybe I need more time to digest all the elements and certainly need to practice more.

By DIPANSHU G

Aug 27, 2020

Thank you so much for teaching me like this, I think this is great experience to connect with outside world through internet with our amazing instructor Dr. chuck. I am very glad to being part of this !!

By raja n r

Jul 4, 2020

so fun to learn this.at first it took me time to understand later by repeating i could the assignments with clear knowledge.thank you dr.chuk for sharing your experience and learning python as alphabets.

By Shreeyash K

May 2, 2020

Well, it's an exceptional course if you want to gain some in depth knowledge about how data is being exchanged through internet and how data is retrieved, filtered from xml and json files across the web.

By Uria Y

Nov 23, 2019

Great course for anyone interested in writing basic Python programs to fetch data from the web and manipulate it. Teaches some XML, some JSON and some basic HTML. Had fun, and Dr. Chuck is geeky-awesome.

By MARK H

Nov 5, 2019

This wasn't an easy course. It probably took me longer than needed but I wrote each assignment without copying as that is the only way I learn. Thank you for putting together a rather difficult course.

By Ricardo N F

Jan 31, 2017

This is an excellent introduction to Python´s web data handling. Very written as expect from this specialization. Thank you very much Dr Chuck and University of Michigan for this great Coursera´s course.

By David H

Oct 26, 2016

This course teaches basic knowledge about how python accesses web data. Simple but really worth learning. In addition, Dr. Severance's lectures are very clear to understand. Overall, it's a great course.

By Anuj D

Oct 17, 2016

Great course. My third course on Coursera and with Dr. Chuck. It was fun. There were a couple of issues initially since I was using python 3 instead of 2.x, but it didn't take too long to get used to it.

By Ganapati A B

May 25, 2021

This course is very useful for the beginners. What I most like about the course is it comes with lot of sample codes for practice. The notes are amzing. So it serves it's purpose beyond the expectation.

By MITTAPELLI R K

Nov 25, 2020

Basic course recommendation for everyone who is having keen interest on web scraping data and web crawling using JSON and XML data files. And also about the regular expressions and Networking in python.

By Henrique T

Aug 15, 2020

Este curso expandiu meus horizontes acerca da funcionalidade da ferramenta. Aplicações diretas que demonstram o poder da programação, mesmo de maneira básica. Parabéns ao professor pelo excelente curso.

By Nurlan J

Jun 22, 2020

First of all, it was more difficult than I expected, but it worth it. In the end, you will learn some cool stuff, such as how to drag data from the web and how to use them with the help of JSON and XML.

By Mohamad S A

Jul 22, 2018

Its a good course the instructor is awesome .But i think in the last week 'week 6' APIs does not explained well ..... i search about it and understand it very well.In general the course is very good ^_^

By Jennifer D

Jun 3, 2017

Another great course in the series. I'm headed to a local Python workshop next weekend, and feeling like I'll hold my own on the projects there because of these courses. Looking forward to the 4th one!

By Huijun Z

Dec 28, 2016

I really learnt a lot from taking this course! thank you Dr Chuck! Very clear explanation and I would recommend this course to anyone who has a bit of python experience and interested in data analytics.

By Karl D

Sep 7, 2021

T​his is a great course. I highly recommand that. The complexity is incleasing since the Getting started but this also increases the motivation to go further doing interesting stuffs of the real world.

By R M

Jan 9, 2021

Along side Python programming knowledge, I also learned something new about API/JSON/XML. One may argue they are part of Python, but still good to have a sense of those terms I often encounter at work.

By Abhilash A

Jul 24, 2020

This course is just awesome. Mr. Severance delivers a great experience of learning as he does always. The course helps in coping up with API and a basic orientation about using python to load web data.

By Alain G

Apr 5, 2020

Fairly challenging course with useful learning about how to access web data with Python using the different formats of data (XML/JSON). Enjoyed the challenging exercises, made me learn through thinking