Chevron Left
Back to Using Python to Access Web Data

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Using Python to Access Web Data by University of Michigan

4.8
stars
40,844 ratings
7,429 reviews

About the Course

This course will show how one can treat the Internet as a source of data. We will scrape, parse, and read web data as well as access data using web APIs. We will work with HTML, XML, and JSON data formats in Python. This course will cover Chapters 11-13 of the textbook “Python for Everybody”. To succeed in this course, you should be familiar with the material covered in Chapters 1-10 of the textbook and the first two courses in this specialization. These topics include variables and expressions, conditional execution (loops, branching, and try/except), functions, Python data structures (strings, lists, dictionaries, and tuples), and manipulating files. This course covers Python 3....
Highlights
High quality content
(256 Reviews)
Practical assignments
(217 Reviews)

Top reviews

SM
Jun 18, 2020

This course was really interesting and did a good job introducing complicated topics in usefully simplified form. It was a pleasure to listen to the instructor and I got everything I wanted out of it.

AB
Jun 6, 2019

Getting a bit more challenging than the earlier courses in the specialization. The exercises require more struggle, but all the information is there. Another step along the way. Thank you, Dr. Chuck!

Filter by:

7051 - 7075 of 7,298 Reviews for Using Python to Access Web Data

By Sarah T

Jun 6, 2021

I felt the last chapter was a little rushed in week 6. I felt like more time should have been spent on how Keys and parms work when calling different URLs

By Rahul

Aug 1, 2018

it wont tell anything about creating APIs atleast should what extra is required or from where we can learn or give a quick look what it takes to creat one

By Mikhail S

Jan 14, 2017

It was more difficult then previous course. As for me, it will be better to have more detailed explanation, because I think it was very fluent. Thank you!

By Kenya

Oct 31, 2016

This is a nice slow introduction to python web programming for those who have no experience or prior knowledge. Otherwise it is not at all challenging.

By Snezhana K

Jan 21, 2021

The course is very shallow, just a brief acquaintance with the matter. Assignments very easy to pass, even with no full understanding of code provided.

By Himsindhu B

Aug 22, 2020

Multiple page scrapping is not taught also how to store the scrapped data(particularly image data or text data) into csv or xlms file is not shown.

By Jigish P

May 26, 2018

I expect harder/rigorous and more number of assignments. 1-2 assignments are not enough to master anything. Other than that it's good intro course.

By Qingyang Z

Aug 3, 2020

Not as good as precedent ones, kind of difficult to understand for people who really start at zero, maybe it should be more precise and contextual

By Albert V

Oct 4, 2016

It's too easy. I'd have enjoyed more challenching exercises about RESTful APIs, we have not seen any HTTP mehotd a part of GET and that's a shame.

By Nayana T S

Sep 27, 2020

Thank you Dr.Chuck for the good course but I recommend more explanation for JSON and XML which I faced a little hard to handle and understand.

By Akashguna R T

May 15, 2019

No clear cut , detailed explanation you would not know 100% how the program works you have to copy and paste some part of program blindly

By Eszter S

Aug 5, 2017

Excellent course for gaining some basics in accessing web data with python. Sometimes I wish there were more deeper explanations provided.

By Amit D

Nov 9, 2015

Course is good but the assignment are too basic. I would appreciate if there could be tougher assignments may be not included in rating.

By Rishabh M

May 14, 2020

sir charles just taught us very basic.Most of which you need to study urself.One thing he made me believe that its just simple and easy

By nikhil k

Aug 11, 2017

wish it had more examples and more things to solve ... although Dr Chuck is awsome , the staff and mentors are prompt in their reply..

By james d

Sep 18, 2020

A very good overview but just that an overview. I wish it would have been more involved in order to get a more thorough understanding

By Astha K

Jun 24, 2020

It was a good course . Instructor was good enough but i think it was a pretty introductory course on using python to access web data.

By Ivan F

Dec 8, 2015

Wey easy for the person with some python experience but the best part is that takes only hours to complete all assignments and quizes

By AMMISH T

Jun 28, 2020

Wasn't detailed and couldn't follow where it was heading at..Instructor just covers a part of it and it pretty much feels useless ..

By Christopher I

Jan 23, 2018

As most of Severance's courses on Coursera, there is no real challenge or learning curve, these are simply very light introductions.

By Steve C

Dec 28, 2016

I learned a few new things on this course. It's not so much about the Python language as about the things you can do with it on-line

By SNEHIL S K

May 26, 2020

Meaning of a lot of things was not explained properly and more of mugging up stuff was taught but in overall i enjoyed the course,

By Shivam P

May 6, 2018

I feel the course was introduced much earlier than was needed. We could have learnt much simpler stuffs such as Numpy and Tkinter.

By Ali M

Oct 20, 2016

its a good course .However i found it difficult since it requires you to understand how the internet and internet application work

By PRASHANT K

Jul 4, 2020

This course could have been more detailed and less paced. Students are not given enough time and practice to grasp new concepts.