Chevron Left
Back to Using Python to Access Web Data

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Using Python to Access Web Data by University of Michigan

4.8
stars
40,844 ratings
7,429 reviews

About the Course

This course will show how one can treat the Internet as a source of data. We will scrape, parse, and read web data as well as access data using web APIs. We will work with HTML, XML, and JSON data formats in Python. This course will cover Chapters 11-13 of the textbook “Python for Everybody”. To succeed in this course, you should be familiar with the material covered in Chapters 1-10 of the textbook and the first two courses in this specialization. These topics include variables and expressions, conditional execution (loops, branching, and try/except), functions, Python data structures (strings, lists, dictionaries, and tuples), and manipulating files. This course covers Python 3....
Highlights
High quality content
(256 Reviews)
Practical assignments
(217 Reviews)

Top reviews

SM
Jun 18, 2020

This course was really interesting and did a good job introducing complicated topics in usefully simplified form. It was a pleasure to listen to the instructor and I got everything I wanted out of it.

AB
Jun 6, 2019

Getting a bit more challenging than the earlier courses in the specialization. The exercises require more struggle, but all the information is there. Another step along the way. Thank you, Dr. Chuck!

Filter by:

7076 - 7100 of 7,298 Reviews for Using Python to Access Web Data

By César D E B

Mar 17, 2018

The background knowledge for some of the assignments was not properly covered in the lectures. Had to rely heavily on the forum.

By 谌禹翰

Oct 31, 2017

too thorough in the last 2 courses, hope more detail taught.

Thanks Dr.chuck for providing this course, he deserves Gryffindor !

By mariana r

Jul 9, 2020

The worked examples need more explanation. The first example of google API is not even updated because it doesn't work anymore,

By Brian Q

Apr 25, 2016

Assignments are very easy, and there aren't easy to follow notes that one can use instead of always having to watch the videos.

By Banke O

Aug 19, 2020

I didn't like thie explanations given with this one. I simply copied and edited the code syntax to get through the assignments

By Parth S

Aug 24, 2019

too many lectures in single week , very difficult to freshly learn so many things at once and apply them in the assignments.

By 马镓浚

Dec 21, 2019

I think maybe Professor Charles wants to squish too many things into this course and it really make it not easy to follow.

By sahil k

Mar 5, 2020

It's been difficult for those who are not from a computer background. More basic lectures should be added for json,xlm

By Walid A

Mar 3, 2019

It's a good course with good instructor , but the part of web service and API need more clarification for beginners .

By Sofía I Q R

Jan 10, 2021

I think these skills are very useful however they weren't explained very well. The first courses were waaaay better

By Rinkesh V

May 11, 2020

in this part we are not taught deep information about web accessing model so this part is a kind of tough and messy

By Josh J

Jun 5, 2019

Some of the assignments are a far stretch from what is in the chapter. the content is fine and fun to go through.

By Lai J

Apr 30, 2020

instructions and teaching were all over the place, key details were missed out and i have to do assignment on it

By BINELLO M

Mar 28, 2021

Quite interesting, but I must confess that, after the first two courses, this one did not make me so enthusiast

By Olivier N

Jan 11, 2016

Good course, but I might have used a little more rigor and material, maybe more exercises would have been nice.

By Soham P

Apr 19, 2020

Too much content squeezed in. Covered up material too fast. For beginners in networking, it is very difficult.

By Harry V

Jan 12, 2016

More material, or coverage of the existing material with more library coverage would have improved the course.

By Cracker Z

Aug 12, 2019

Overall good. Sometimes feel information is not very sufficient and does not explain clearly in some details

By Dikshant V

Jul 2, 2020

was fun in the beginening but i had problems compiling my programs as json library didnt worked in my IDLE

By manchala v k

May 31, 2020

i think this course is too high after completing the data structures.....it completely blown off my mind.

By Andres V S

Oct 25, 2020

Teacher isn't good at explaining, had to look for better examples elsewhere to complete the exercises.

By Ganesh V

May 3, 2020

I just byhearted this course.

I didn't fully understand which part in the code executes which function.

By Yifeng L

Oct 30, 2018

It's not as difficult as I expected. The course is good for beginners but I think it could go deeper.

By Varun T

Jan 28, 2018

sockets and regular expressions were not explained very well. Detailed explanations would have helped

By Federico C

May 17, 2018

Still very good! But probably due to the wide subject the concepts are not explained clearly enough.