Chevron Left
Back to Using Python to Access Web Data

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Using Python to Access Web Data by University of Michigan

4.8
stars
40,515 ratings
7,361 reviews

About the Course

This course will show how one can treat the Internet as a source of data. We will scrape, parse, and read web data as well as access data using web APIs. We will work with HTML, XML, and JSON data formats in Python. This course will cover Chapters 11-13 of the textbook “Python for Everybody”. To succeed in this course, you should be familiar with the material covered in Chapters 1-10 of the textbook and the first two courses in this specialization. These topics include variables and expressions, conditional execution (loops, branching, and try/except), functions, Python data structures (strings, lists, dictionaries, and tuples), and manipulating files. This course covers Python 3....
Highlights
High quality content
(256 Reviews)
Practical assignments
(217 Reviews)

Top reviews

SM
Jun 18, 2020

This course was really interesting and did a good job introducing complicated topics in usefully simplified form. It was a pleasure to listen to the instructor and I got everything I wanted out of it.

AB
Jun 6, 2019

Getting a bit more challenging than the earlier courses in the specialization. The exercises require more struggle, but all the information is there. Another step along the way. Thank you, Dr. Chuck!

Filter by:

7151 - 7175 of 7,206 Reviews for Using Python to Access Web Data

By Haris A

Oct 29, 2020

Extremely useless. Subtle assignments which require just a little bit of tweaking. Sudden change of concepts and difficulty compared to the previous course and definitely doesn't live up to the name, "Python For Everybody".

By Benjamin B

Feb 10, 2016

For the third Course in the Python specialisation this is a very basic 6 weeks. The assignments are repetitive and you are pretty much spoon fed everything. If you are looking for a challenging course this is not for you!

By Kay W

Jun 23, 2017

The knowledge is distributed very sparse in these courses. The lecturer often repeats himself or goes off the topic, which makes several videos just a waste of time, since they do not give the information they promised.

By Ahmad H

Aug 19, 2020

I felt lost with this course. it was extremely interesting content and probably well explained, but its very hard to keep up to content, its too much of new info, with less context for each piece of new information.

By Colorado M

Nov 1, 2019

Please provide information about how to use Python3 on a Chromebook! The assignments were very hard for me to do, since the Python app I downloaded didn't recognize most of the commands, such as BeautifulSoup!

By technohub m

Aug 26, 2020

i wanted to do web page classification using python. how do I solve this problem with this programming skill?

take one web page recommendation engine course to find relevant pages only

By عبدالحليم أ

Dec 13, 2020

It wasn't so professional course . All you should to to complete the assignment is to copy the sample code , change a piece of it then congratulations you finished the assignment

By Ratul C

May 29, 2021

C​ourse Structure & lecture material is pathetic when compared to assignments.I knew python before still I need to struggle in some cases,for a beginner the course is useless

By Parvathy V

Jul 12, 2020

very high level and difficult for students who are not that familiar with API .

Assignments can be completed but the understanding is not thorough

By Wenqi L

Jun 25, 2020

This course is not for "everybody". Too difficult for beginners!

The lecture videos teach you how to do algebra, and the hw assignments are calculus-level questions!

By Justin D

Jan 8, 2018

The course (and specialization) started out well, but by the end way too many things are being introduced before the student (me) has really mastered Python.

By Jeffrey B

May 29, 2016

This course strayed too far from its origins. Yes, this course contains topics that are nice-to-know, but they are by no means essential or useful.

By Ayush B

Jun 18, 2018

Didn't meet my expectations. The course is pretty shallow in terms of depth. The assignments are not sufficient at all. Disappointed.

By Kuldeep M

Jul 23, 2020

Course doesn't offer complete knowledge nor includes many real world application examples

By Deepak K

Sep 25, 2020

Explanations could have been more clear. More focus was required on urllib and parsing.

By Eleri K

Aug 24, 2020

Compared to the previous two courses, this one is poorly structured, rushed and unclear

By NIRANJAN.S

Mar 29, 2021

still i haven't feel i have completed and i acquired knowledge on this course

By Himadri S S

May 1, 2020

Didn't find this course very useful what I was looking for, boring!

By Shivam G

Aug 25, 2020

it's not good for learning python for use in data science

By Honey M

Jun 17, 2020

this was a very boring course from the abouve to courses

By Jorge P R

Jan 31, 2020

I cannot complete this course since labs are not working

By Arthur G

Jan 15, 2018

Good videos, but way too easy and not enough practice.

By Omar N

Aug 3, 2020

the explanation in xml, html, json is not enough

By Shreshtha S

Dec 9, 2019

felt very unnecessary for the speciatialization

By Mo'men G

Jun 11, 2020

lots of parts need more explaination