Chevron Left
Back to Using Python to Access Web Data

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Using Python to Access Web Data by University of Michigan

4.8
stars
43,048 ratings

About the Course

This course will show how one can treat the Internet as a source of data. We will scrape, parse, and read web data as well as access data using web APIs. We will work with HTML, XML, and JSON data formats in Python. This course will cover Chapters 11-13 of the textbook “Python for Everybody”. To succeed in this course, you should be familiar with the material covered in Chapters 1-10 of the textbook and the first two courses in this specialization. These topics include variables and expressions, conditional execution (loops, branching, and try/except), functions, Python data structures (strings, lists, dictionaries, and tuples), and manipulating files. This course covers Python 3....
Highlights
High quality content

(256 Reviews)

Practical assignments

(217 Reviews)

Top reviews

SM

Jun 18, 2020

This course was really interesting and did a good job introducing complicated topics in usefully simplified form. It was a pleasure to listen to the instructor and I got everything I wanted out of it.

AK

Aug 19, 2022

Interesting course, I consider information about XML and JSON as very informative. I will continue specialization "Python For Everybody". Thanks for Dr. Chuck and everyone, who created this material.

Filter by:

7451 - 7475 of 7,733 Reviews for Using Python to Access Web Data

By David A A B

Aug 19, 2020

It is find, but I think it is completely out of python enviroment. So in this specific course you dont learn python, because basically they give you all the python code.

By Amin A

Feb 18, 2019

I needed some help with one assignment (which had completely arcane problem statement). Assistance was nowhere to be found. The teaching assistants are terrible and rude.

By Mohammed T

Jul 26, 2019

Pretty good. guess the vast topic was shrunk to limited time hence cannot say this was the best class.

However, it gives a basic understanding of API and how it works.

By Ignacio E

Dec 19, 2020

The assignments could be longer in order to cover more of the topics discussed. They mostly required a slight change in the code previously given/studied in the class

By Euhid A

May 28, 2020

The instructor was a little fast, although i enjoyed doing the programs.....this was a very interesting course, as it also taught us some real world applications too

By Hank B

Nov 17, 2019

This was not the best of the courses I have taken so far. Several topics were covered pretty superficially and it probably could have been broken into 2 courses.

By Nils W

Feb 12, 2019

The coding parts are sometime just changing one line of a given code. And sometimes you had to solve the problem by yourself. Could be more hands on programming.

By Petri-Mikael A

Apr 23, 2017

Seemed rushed, concepts not explained fully. videos are too formal, professor not funny and less relaxed than during the first two modules of this specialization

By Amit S

Sep 15, 2020

It's a kind of intellectual course and i think rather than covering so many concepts few concepts with complete clarity would have been a better way of teaching

By Sarah T

Jun 6, 2021

I felt the last chapter was a little rushed in week 6. I felt like more time should have been spent on how Keys and parms work when calling different URLs

By Rahul S

Aug 1, 2018

it wont tell anything about creating APIs atleast should what extra is required or from where we can learn or give a quick look what it takes to creat one

By Mikhail S

Jan 14, 2017

It was more difficult then previous course. As for me, it will be better to have more detailed explanation, because I think it was very fluent. Thank you!

By Kenya

Oct 31, 2016

This is a nice slow introduction to python web programming for those who have no experience or prior knowledge. Otherwise it is not at all challenging.

By Snezhana K

Jan 21, 2021

The course is very shallow, just a brief acquaintance with the matter. Assignments very easy to pass, even with no full understanding of code provided.

By Himsindhu B

Aug 22, 2020

Multiple page scrapping is not taught also how to store the scrapped data(particularly image data or text data) into csv or xlms file is not shown.

By Jigish P

May 26, 2018

I expect harder/rigorous and more number of assignments. 1-2 assignments are not enough to master anything. Other than that it's good intro course.

By Qingyang Z

Aug 3, 2020

Not as good as precedent ones, kind of difficult to understand for people who really start at zero, maybe it should be more precise and contextual

By Albert V

Oct 4, 2016

It's too easy. I'd have enjoyed more challenching exercises about RESTful APIs, we have not seen any HTTP mehotd a part of GET and that's a shame.

By Walter D C L

Jan 11, 2023

videos prior to the weekly assignment are not a good fit for the assignment. the intructions for the assignment could be more evident/obvious.

By Nayana T S

Sep 27, 2020

Thank you Dr.Chuck for the good course but I recommend more explanation for JSON and XML which I faced a little hard to handle and understand.

By Akashguna R T

May 15, 2019

No clear cut , detailed explanation you would not know 100% how the program works you have to copy and paste some part of program blindly

By Eszter S

Aug 5, 2017

Excellent course for gaining some basics in accessing web data with python. Sometimes I wish there were more deeper explanations provided.

By Amit D

Nov 9, 2015

Course is good but the assignment are too basic. I would appreciate if there could be tougher assignments may be not included in rating.

By Rishabh M

May 14, 2020

sir charles just taught us very basic.Most of which you need to study urself.One thing he made me believe that its just simple and easy

By nikhil k

Aug 11, 2017

wish it had more examples and more things to solve ... although Dr Chuck is awsome , the staff and mentors are prompt in their reply..