Chevron Left
Back to Using Python to Interact with the Operating System

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Using Python to Interact with the Operating System by Google

4.7
stars
4,651 ratings
1,092 reviews

About the Course

By the end of this course, you’ll be able to manipulate files and processes on your computer’s operating system. You’ll also have learned about regular expressions -- a very powerful tool for processing text files -- and you’ll get practice using the Linux command line on a virtual machine. And, this might feel like a stretch right now, but you’ll also write a program that processes a bunch of errors in an actual log file and then generates a summary file. That’s a super useful skill for IT Specialists to know. We’ll kick off by exploring how to execute Python locally, and organize and use code across different Python files. We'll then learn how to read and write different types of files, and use subprocesses and input streams. We'll also dive into Bash scripting and regular expressions -- both very powerful tools for anyone working with systems. We'll even touch on automatic testing, which allow us to automate how we check if our code is correct. To finish, we’ll put all this together by using the tools that we’ve acquired to process data and generate automatic reports. We’ll also explain how to set up your own developer environment in your machine. This is a key step in being able to write and deploy powerful automation tools....

Top reviews

AD

Jun 15, 2020

In starting five weeks , all answers were directly provided and week 6 and 7 were very tough. So i suggest to equalize the toughness level in all weeks ,ie, no direct spoon feed nor abrupt toughness

MI

Nov 19, 2020

Great course! I had some previous knowledge, but this was perfect to fill in the gaps. Also, unit testing was completely new to me and will be very useful in future projects. Thanks for making this!

Filter by:

101 - 125 of 1,112 Reviews for Using Python to Interact with the Operating System

By Abhash R

May 31, 2022

Great course for anyone who recently mastered the basics of python. There are a number of important and useful topics which you can learn in this course. Definitely reccomend this to anyone who doesn't already know these stuffs.

By Lance A

Jun 27, 2021

Taught me a lot of ways and methods to interact with the operating system with python including using regex and a bonus lecture on using bash scripts and when it's necessary to either use bash or python in automation processes.

By Jaiaid M

Jul 20, 2020

It would be helpful if qwiklab task description would be more specific. I find it difficult to understand that if I should follow the cmd and code verbatim or follow some portion for understanding and other for the actual task.

By Paulo S D

Apr 21, 2022

T​his is great course and as the title says you really learn how to interacting with the operating system using python I enjoyed a lot the exercises as they made me understand better the concepts and solidify what was taught!!

By John E

Jun 2, 2020

I had some problems with the QikiLabs as my script was working, but the program itself wasn't recognizing it as correct right away. Overall though a great experience. Thank you to the instructor for making it a fun experience.

By Michal B

Nov 22, 2020

This course was extremely well prepared, well thought, and challenging at times. Especially for someone like me with no technical and practical experience with writing code. Thank you, Roger, Thank you Google. Great Job Guys!

By Muhammad I M

Feb 26, 2022

I really like this course especially the final grading. The final grading is very challenging because it wraps up all the topics frow week 1 until week 6. All the topics need to be implemented for solving real-world problem.

By KE L

Feb 23, 2022

To start a career in It as well as to start learning a programming language to use it for a real life application this course is the best for me till now. I will recommnd to everyone this course if you want to learn like me.

By Warnakulasuriya S A F

May 23, 2020

A great course. I am absolutely happy selecting this course. I've learned a lot out of this. In the final project it was awesome to look back at what I did and I now feel that I can do a lot with python. Thank you, Google.

By Puja P N B M

Mar 11, 2022

This is really game chaning experience so far as long as i remember learning programming. and thanks for coursera delivering real world case example for this course project . iam really excited to join next course for sure

By Daniel v E

Apr 7, 2020

QwikLabs uses an older version of Python, and thus interacting with QwikLabs was often tricky, as the version of Python used in QwikLabs was not specified, making it incompatible with code written before starting the lab.

By Nikita P

May 25, 2021

This was a great course and I learned a lot about python, the operating systems, etc. This course teaches complex concepts in such an easy to understand way. The structure of this course is also great. I love the course.

By Praveen M

May 24, 2020

I have learned a lot about python and how to interact os using python. Believe me this course is really a good use of time.And last but not least the final project is awesome you can't escape without using your brain:)

By raynard

Sep 8, 2021

Really great course, i stopped doing this course around week 4 for 4 months, so the last lab was a real challenge, but it helped me revise on how to interact with csv files, thank you Google for this amazing course

By Juan C J

Sep 25, 2020

This course was excellent to put the things clear. Sometimes we forgot that the basic concepts are the most important ones to solve issues, this course really sets all concepts clear, specially in regex, very cool.

By Paolo M

Apr 16, 2020

Even though I had already some Python, Bash and RegEx knowledge, this course has helped me understand when to use the right tool for the job. The QwikLab assignment were also quite challenging, but always feasible.

By Ravi R K

Feb 22, 2022

It was such a good experience of learning uses of Python in automation of a lot of different things. The perfect combination of correct pace of course and regular exercises makes the learning process a lot easier.

By Will S

Jun 4, 2022

G​reat course. I"m new to all this and it was easy to follow. My only issue was learning and using Linux for the first time. Using windows and Ubuntu was somewhat challenging. Need more practice on Linux now.

By Mark P

Dec 30, 2020

I have learned a lot of cool stuff, this course is awesome, I like the Qwiklabs (though can be a bit buggy sometimes) the most, because they let me do everything practically (which I am better at than at theory).

By himanshu r

May 10, 2020

Must have course, if you need to learn playing with logs, finding what is required in it in as easy steps as possible. besides also teaches to use bash, cool tricks, grep , MOST IMPORT: Regex(Regular expressions)

By Olusola T O

Aug 27, 2020

This is an amazing course!

During the process of this course, I know how to work with regular expression in any programming language. I can process both TEXT and CSV file with ease.

More to tell about this course.

By Paul K S

Mar 27, 2022

Very interesting! Not everything is in the video lectures, which they disclose early on, you have to go over the supplemental reading provided and do some work with Google and Bing! But well worth the struggle.

By Jason A

Mar 13, 2021

It has definitely been a tough course, but really satisfied to make it through it! Hopefully this also strengthen my foundations in python programming and its application in interacting with operating system :D

By Dario H

Sep 21, 2020

Wow! This course was really good and very well presented. It was very challenging in the end. My head hurts a little after finally figuring out how to get the final project done, but I made it - and so can YOU!

By Nguyên B

Jan 22, 2022

I thought it was too easy to week 3, but my mind completely changed from week 4 and now, after completing week 7, it's so great. Much to try at least once. Dicussing forum helped me a lot. Thanks for support.