Chevron Left
Back to Applied Plotting, Charting & Data Representation in Python

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Applied Plotting, Charting & Data Representation in Python by University of Michigan

4.5
stars
5,573 ratings
937 reviews

About the Course

This course will introduce the learner to information visualization basics, with a focus on reporting and charting using the matplotlib library. The course will start with a design and information literacy perspective, touching on what makes a good and bad visualization, and what statistical measures translate into in terms of visualizations. The second week will focus on the technology used to make visualizations in python, matplotlib, and introduce users to best practices when creating basic charts and how to realize design decisions in the framework. The third week will be a tutorial of functionality available in matplotlib, and demonstrate a variety of basic statistical charts helping learners to identify when a particular method is good for a particular problem. The course will end with a discussion of other forms of structuring and visualizing data. This course should be taken after Introduction to Data Science in Python and before the remainder of the Applied Data Science with Python courses: Applied Machine Learning in Python, Applied Text Mining in Python, and Applied Social Network Analysis in Python....

Top reviews

OK
Jun 26, 2020

its actually a good course as it starts from fundamentals of visualization to the data visualization,the assignments this course provide are exciting and full of knowledge that you learn in course ..

RM
May 13, 2020

I am going for the specialization and I know this is just the second course in it and I haven't even seen the further courses yet, but this is already my most favourite course in the specialization.

Filter by:

726 - 750 of 922 Reviews for Applied Plotting, Charting & Data Representation in Python

By Andreas V

Jul 16, 2018

Overall, I really enjoyed the course and learned a lot. One star less, because the time it takes is much longer than indicated.

By Vritika M

Oct 15, 2020

Great course and wonderful assignments. The only suggestion I have is to change the instructor as he does not teach properly.

By Haoyan Z

May 8, 2020

NIce class! Class 3 Interactivity is a little bit difficult. Hope class forum can have fater response and more discussion.

By Kamil K

Sep 9, 2017

Very good, difficult assignments, but lecture videos are shallow and you have to study most of the material on your own.

By Yufan Y

Sep 28, 2019

Learned a lot plotting technics in python and I hope the course could taught more detailed content on different packges

By Felix H

Nov 16, 2017

This course will teach you a lot if you want to work in the data science / ML field ... and require a lot of your time.

By Jake

Apr 16, 2017

pretty good touch on the fundamentals of charting using matplotlib~great course in the series as usual... thank you!

By Nobuyuki H

Dec 30, 2019

Very good to learn the basics of visualization. One problem for me was it took much longer time than I had expected

By Christian L

Jan 23, 2019

Good course mostly focused on personal work and assignments. Yet, assignments are more reasonable than course #1

By Alejandro L

Jan 6, 2019

Very good course, although don't expect to do the HW in the time they say, it took way longer at least for me..

By Sourabh N P

Jul 4, 2020

The video lectures are good but should be more explanation needed. We cannot fully dependent on reading doc..

By Mayuresh K

Feb 15, 2021

I have gain some good plotting skills not 100% but for the starters I can make good visualizations now.

By peijun Y

Mar 20, 2020

Maybe the doctor can teach more aknowledge about the homework, becouse the homework is a little hard

By Sean L

Dec 5, 2019

Less demanding than the first course. Learnt a lot, mainly from matplotlib and Seaborn documents.

By Nguyen H A K

Dec 5, 2018

Very good assignments and discussion forum. It would be better to have more materials for reading.

By peyman s

Dec 11, 2019

The videos have a lot of room for improvement, but the Notebooks and the Exams are well designed.

By Qiuyi H

Nov 29, 2019

Overall, it is a good course, however, the professor should be more specific about visualisation.

By Maurizio

May 2, 2019

I would have appricieted some more notions about statistics but overall the course is excellent!

By Raghavendra M

Dec 12, 2018

I felt the first week where the instructor discussed Alberto Cairo and Edward Tufte was a waste.

By Mohamed S

Jun 17, 2019

Very good course but need a long experience in python and teaching is accompli with quick speed

By Tom M

Sep 27, 2017

Concise programming assignments. It is sort of just basic plotting and readability of graphics.

By Hannah

Sep 25, 2019

Good course, I learned a lot about plotting in Python. Much easier than the previous course.

By Yaron B

Sep 28, 2018

the course material is great. only 4 stars as the instructions on the homework is not clear.

By Luis A H G

Nov 6, 2017

Good course. It relies too much in peer grades assignments but the overall content is good.