Chevron Left
Back to Python Programming Essentials

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Python Programming Essentials by Rice University

4.8
stars
3,034 ratings
756 reviews

About the Course

This course will introduce you to the wonderful world of Python programming! We'll learn about the essential elements of programming and how to construct basic Python programs. We will cover expressions, variables, functions, logic, and conditionals, which are foundational concepts in computer programming. We will also teach you how to use Python modules, which enable you to benefit from the vast array of functionality that is already a part of the Python language. These concepts and skills will help you to begin to think like a computer programmer and to understand how to go about writing Python programs. By the end of the course, you will be able to write short Python programs that are able to accomplish real, practical tasks. This course is the foundation for building expertise in Python programming. As the first course in a specialization, it provides the necessary building blocks for you to succeed at learning to write more complex Python programs. This course uses Python 3. While many Python programs continue to use Python 2, Python 3 is the future of the Python programming language. This first course will use a Python 3 version of the CodeSkulptor development environment, which is specifically designed to help beginning programmers learn quickly. CodeSkulptor runs within any modern web browser and does not require you to install any software, allowing you to start writing and running small programs immediately. In the later courses in this specialization, we will help you to move to more sophisticated desktop development environments....

Top reviews

RS
Apr 27, 2021

A really good course good material and lectures. However, I find that sometimes that too much guidance given, and it has sort of made the course less challanging. nevertheless a good foundation course

HR
Jul 3, 2020

This course is such a wonder!! In spite of being an unenthusiastic Computer Science undergraduate, it was this course that cultivated the interest in me. Both the instructors were too good. Thanks :0

Filter by:

651 - 675 of 756 Reviews for Python Programming Essentials

By Youssef N R M

Jul 13, 2020

Overall the course is very good, but for the grading tool in the last week project there are problems such as input year zero is tested and input year zero is already out of range of MINYEAR

By Andrew S

Dec 22, 2017

Introductory course that does not bog down in presenting all aspect of the language in some arbitrary order. You are actually able to create something that is (semi) usable by week 4.

By Ece N B

Jul 6, 2020

The topics were well explained in the videos and it was fun! Also, the exercises were beneficial to improve the coding skills that we have just gained during the course. Thank you:)

By Leonard H

Feb 17, 2018

Very clear descriptions. Pace is slow enough that one is able to absorb the lessons, but breadth is broad enough that one comes away with the feeling of having learned something.

By Utkrisht S

Jun 13, 2020

The course can be explained a bit more with more examples. Competing for the course with Udemy's course it feels like in the field of clear explanation Udemy wins the game.

By Shubhajit S

Jun 24, 2019

Thanks a lot. The script & theme of the presentation was really nice & enjoyable. It could be little more advanced with few more nice exercises for code practice.

By Nikhil J

Aug 24, 2019

Very well explained the basics... But I would say the course is good for the one who is new to programming world. I will look for advanced course of Python now.

By Carl M

Apr 19, 2018

Decent. Ensure you do the practice items. They still skip a fair amount as I believe they expect you to read Python documentation on your leisure time.

By Jeshma C D

May 13, 2019

The course is very basic. It is perfect for beginners. Becomes a little too easy for programmers with experience, even though new to Python.

By Jankees R

Aug 23, 2019

Very good and clear course. Last star would be given if it would work in Google Chrome or Internet Explorer or Microsoft Edge

By HSIEH Y

Jun 4, 2018

Generally I think this is a good course; however, personally ,I think it is a kind of hard for the beginners to start with.

By Huy P T

Dec 1, 2017

Very good course. However, I wish there were a capstone project that could guide us (maybe 25%) toward a real-world project.

By Debby A

Oct 25, 2019

My only complaint is that I think conditionals should be part of this course, other than that good course for beginners

By Mriddul A

May 17, 2020

Very good for beginners! A great way to introduce yourself to the world of python coding. Highly recommend this course

By Aman D

Nov 20, 2018

It was pretty good. I had an introductory overview and understanding about what python is and its basic concepts.

By Kristy B L

Jan 29, 2018

very good course for beginner, wish there is an answer key for the project in week 4 after submitting the result.

By Ananth G N

Jul 5, 2020

some content needs more insight

such as randomization functions

needs more explanation rather than study material

By Armando A

Jul 1, 2020

This is a great course, I had a lot of fun and learned from the examples which are meaningful and interesting.

By Apoorv J

Jul 15, 2019

Pretty standard course. Not for the absolute beginners to programming though, but the pace was perfect for me.

By Francisco J A C

Dec 22, 2020

Great way to learn basics of python. And if you don´t know how to program (not my case) can be really helpful

By Nimesh S

Jun 24, 2020

Too much stress at times on coding style and presentation of code which can be repellant for many beginners.

By SUBHAM P

Apr 8, 2020

It was a great experience. I Learnt many new things and more importantly learnt how to apply my learnings.

By Mary A H

Jun 25, 2018

A bit too easy, but a good very basic introduction to Python. Took as part of the 4-part specialization.

By Laurence A G L

Jun 20, 2020

I did was expecting for-loops and while-loops but since this is only a 4-week course, I guess it is OK.

By Durgesh t

Jun 3, 2020

good guidance provided my the professor during the lecture due to this I can most do most of problem