Chevron Left
Back to Python and Statistics for Financial Analysis

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Python and Statistics for Financial Analysis by The Hong Kong University of Science and Technology

4.4
stars
2,019 ratings
448 reviews

About the Course

Course Overview: https://youtu.be/JgFV5qzAYno Python is now becoming the number 1 programming language for data science. Due to python’s simplicity and high readability, it is gaining its importance in the financial industry. The course combines both python coding and statistical concepts and applies into analyzing financial data, such as stock data. By the end of the course, you can achieve the following using python: - Import, pre-process, save and visualize financial data into pandas Dataframe - Manipulate the existing financial data by generating new variables using multiple columns - Recall and apply the important statistical concepts (random variable, frequency, distribution, population and sample, confidence interval, linear regression, etc. ) into financial contexts - Build a trading model using multiple linear regression model - Evaluate the performance of the trading model using different investment indicators Jupyter Notebook environment is configured in the course platform for practicing python coding without installing any client applications....

Top reviews

EJ

Aug 04, 2019

Great course! Very didatic explanations about financial and statistical concepts also with some interesting practical Python for Finance! Looking forward for new courses from same Univ. and prof.!

LH

Mar 24, 2020

A very good introduction course to python programming and it has a perfect combination with statistics, which makes financial analysis more interesting and refresh my mind on it, thanks.

Filter by:

376 - 400 of 445 Reviews for Python and Statistics for Financial Analysis

By Timothy E T

Nov 03, 2019

Xuhu made a commendable effort in the early part of the class in teaching the basics of this course. Over the last 2 weeks of content however, significant external reading is required for students to do independently from the course content (not a bad thing) but know that extra effort is required to pass the later stages. For the most part, you should have the basics of python prior to taking this course or you will struggle midway. Nonetheless, it was definitely a commendable effort from this course.

By Reo W

May 31, 2020

Overall good, the professor is delicated and responds to the forum actively. But the course could be better designed. Even though I have learned the knowledge of statistics, econometric, and python and got a 100% certificate, the course is still difficult for me to digest. I have to pause the video and think 5-8 times per video. The pace is so fast that some usages of the python or applicaions of finance equations lack sufficient illustration.

By Andrew C

Oct 16, 2019

I wish the concepts in this course were gone into more in depth. They aren't necessarily difficult but they can get complex and when the instructor spends an accumulation of 30 or less per module it is hard to fully understand. More practice is needed as well. All the code was done for you except for just a few lines. People who learn by application will not gain much from this course.

By Kwok T F E

Jul 25, 2020

Pros: Learn some python code and review statistical knowledge (SLR, MLR)

Cons: The python code is outdated and may not usable. So time consuming to update the code.

For Example: pd.DataFrame.from_csv(..\...\AAA.csv) which is commonly used in the course

It is not usable as DataFrame.from_csv has been replaced by pd.read_csv(r'...)

Also for loc has significant changes

By Dawid V

Apr 17, 2020

The statistics element is basic and there is very little practice coding with Python. Instead, it is more of a demonstration how Python can be used to implement some regressions and basic trading strategies. Informative in showing this, however overall a bit disappointing as there was less Python learning and practice as anticipated/advertised.

By Đan T L

Jul 04, 2019

Interesting and easy to understand for people with basic background or have basic knowledge about finance or statistic. However, I wish some of the videos may have explained more about how to use the data to solve real life issues. Even though some of the practices may explore it, it appears not deep enough for me

By Miranda G

Sep 10, 2020

Good course but I think that economic concepts should be explained in more depth so that we can work better on Jupyter (which is a great way to teach / learn). I also think that more written material with illustrative examples could be included, not just lines of code that generate results.

By Cesar D

May 05, 2020

Course content is valuable from Statistics applied in Python code. Unfortunately, it didn't give enough examples or use cases for Financial Analysis. I'd like to see more stocks market predictions, studies and models using the Statistics concepts explained on this course.

By Eduardo F R

Sep 02, 2020

It has wide explanation of statistics basics on the other hand the model development with python applied in finance has too few examples. I would also suggest data acquisition with Yahoo Finance or Google to be explained as it is widely used in financial analysis.

By Mingyue W

Jun 15, 2020

Tough for a person not familiar with statistics and completely new to python. Would have been good to provide more basics to python as well. However, i would believe it'll be very beneficial for one who has already strong foundation in statistics to follow.

By Sushil K

Apr 25, 2020

first and 4th week was fun and relevent. but the 2nd and 3rd weeks were quite difficult to understand and also lack clarity of what we are learning is how that is going to relate in the trading programming.

By William B

Jul 16, 2020

Could have done with some more opportunities to write pieces of code in different scenarios; many of the notebooks consisted of just running the prewritten code snippets in order and observing the effects.

By Ricardo P

May 16, 2020

Overall good course but needs to clean/improve some of the code/quizes to be consistent. Does not explain Statistics or financial models well but shows basic idea of how to find/use them in Python.

By YI L

Oct 13, 2019

Videos are not really connected to the practice. Some finance and statistic stuff is simply mentioned and directly used without enough explanation. I finished the course with help from Google.

By Abhay N

Dec 15, 2019

This course is good for someone familiar with the concepts of statistics and linear regression. However, for a complete beginner, it's a little difficult to understand everything taught here.

By Anand S

Sep 07, 2019

This is a course more for statistics than python. All we understand is how to use the Python libraries and their functions to compute statistical data.

90% Statistics

10% Python.

By Ketan V

Jan 11, 2020

The video tutorial could have been better, however the notebooks and quiz were perfectly prepared and were instrumental in verifying our understanding of concepts.

By mission s

Aug 10, 2020

this course is really good course to understand python programming

but

1.you need basic and intermediate knowledge of statistics

2. basic knowledge of finance

By Andres M M

Jun 22, 2020

I think the most valuable part of the course is in week 4 but It was rushed by fast

explanations and I was hoping a better pace in these important topics.

By Shashank G

May 11, 2020

The course was a bit fast-paced and explanations could be more lucid and elaborate. Please increase the number of modules and provide more practice sets.

By Lisa W

Mar 16, 2020

It's not bad, but it's not great either. I guess it works as a good starting point for further research, but the content is pretty general.

By Mridul w

Dec 29, 2019

Overall a great experience but was not having a finance background so using these stock market terms for the first time was a challenge.

By King Y C

Feb 08, 2019

The course is somehow overlapped with the course ISOM2500.Moreover,i do not think that I have really learned a lot regarding Python.

By Lui M C

May 17, 2020

A per-requsite of statistics is required. One should review the basics of statistics before taking the course. Pace is too fast.