Chevron Left
Back to Python and Statistics for Financial Analysis

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Python and Statistics for Financial Analysis by The Hong Kong University of Science and Technology

4.5
stars
652 ratings
132 reviews

About the Course

Course Overview: https://youtu.be/JgFV5qzAYno Python is now becoming the number 1 programming language for data science. Due to python’s simplicity and high readability, it is gaining its importance in the financial industry. The course combines both python coding and statistical concepts and applies into analyzing financial data, such as stock data. By the end of the course, you can achieve the following using python: - Import, pre-process, save and visualize financial data into pandas Dataframe - Manipulate the existing financial data by generating new variables using multiple columns - Recall and apply the important statistical concepts (random variable, frequency, distribution, population and sample, confidence interval, linear regression, etc. ) into financial contexts - Build a trading model using multiple linear regression model - Evaluate the performance of the trading model using different investment indicators Jupyter Notebook environment is configured in the course platform for practicing python coding without installing any client applications....

Top reviews

TD

Jul 05, 2019

The videos in this course are exceptional and very interesting. The Jupyter notebooks provide a good template for applying the methods and techniques.

PS

Dec 14, 2019

Great Course. I didn't have a prior background in python programming but this course made it very comfortable. Highly recommend taking this course

Filter by:

26 - 50 of 131 Reviews for Python and Statistics for Financial Analysis

By Boudokhane M

May 01, 2019

This course was really enjoyable : well structured, a likeable professor and very useful and illustrative exercises. the use of Jupyter notebooks was also a very good idea.

By Ren J

Apr 11, 2019

Clear explanation of the statistics and python, well-prepared exercise in notebook and basic bags in python are recommended to use in data processing.

By Parva S

Dec 14, 2019

Great Course. I didn't have a prior background in python programming but this course made it very comfortable. Highly recommend taking this course

By Stefan K

Aug 15, 2019

This course is really great to get some basics in Python and statistics for financial analysis. I really can recommend this course very much!

By WAZIL K

Jan 13, 2020

Course provided strong interest in statistics and its scope of application in financial domain.

Thanks for the entertaining sessions.

By Donovan A

Jan 21, 2019

Perfect for the beginning to intermediate python programmer who wants to utilize finance data to make decisions (i.e. trading).

By Tushar G

Jun 09, 2019

An interactive and succinct course to get an insight into the statistical analysis used in the finance domain on daily basis.

By Steven D

May 01, 2019

I learned a lot about how to implement financial statistics in Python and some added knowledge on statistics. Great Course.

By Bharath B

Nov 25, 2019

Nice Course, if you have bit of background in Statistics. The course is interesting as it uses Real world examples

By Rohan J

Sep 07, 2019

It was fun and interesting to learn Python and Statistics in this course. I hope it helps me in my future endeavors

By Misael A A M

Jan 02, 2020

It excels at the process of taking you from zero to hero in the applications of python for financial data analysis

By Efrain A R A

Aug 27, 2019

Knowledge it was great! I learn how to identify patterns and creates models to take advantages in the stock market

By Gary C

Mar 11, 2019

great instructions using real life data and examples. Useful for stock financial analysis based on the indicator.

By SHIVAM B

Feb 24, 2019

Great course that makes your basics very clear. to top it all the course is taught by an excellent tutor.

By Wang H

Mar 30, 2019

This is my first time to study on Coursera. This course is fairly useful to me. Thanks, Prof. Wan.

By LIN H

Aug 19, 2019

This course is very clear and it taught me by the most efficient way to understand the materials.

By hicham b

Dec 25, 2019

Excellent course, I liked the idea of having a jupyter notebook after every lesson to play with.

By Roland R

Sep 23, 2019

very clear explanations, very useful and applied coding using python and its relevant modules.

By Egor S

Jan 28, 2019

Good and very practical course! Looking forward to next parts considering more complex models.

By Omar K

Dec 18, 2019

Really good course for finance professionals, super straight foward for our day to day needs.

By Shlok P

Jan 07, 2020

Nice course for a novice to gain some techincalities which can be used on trading.

By Víctor M C D

Dec 24, 2019

Muy buen curso para introducirse en la programación aplicada en finanzas en Python

By 江兰昕

Oct 06, 2019

Very clearly taught. Thank you for offering me such a good beginning for Python.

By ducvannguyen

Apr 01, 2019

Thank you very much for this useful course. I hope to join many course from you

By Samuel G M M

Sep 22, 2019

Bastante didáctico, te recomendaría complementar con otros cursos de python.