Chevron Left
Back to Python and Statistics for Financial Analysis

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Python and Statistics for Financial Analysis by The Hong Kong University of Science and Technology

4.5
320 ratings
64 reviews

About the Course

Course Overview: https://youtu.be/JgFV5qzAYno Python is now becoming the number 1 programming language for data science. Due to python’s simplicity and high readability, it is gaining its importance in the financial industry. The course combines both python coding and statistical concepts and applies into analyzing financial data, such as stock data. By the end of the course, you can achieve the following using python: - Import, pre-process, save and visualize financial data into pandas Dataframe - Manipulate the existing financial data by generating new variables using multiple columns - Recall and apply the important statistical concepts (random variable, frequency, distribution, population and sample, confidence interval, linear regression, etc. ) into financial contexts - Build a trading model using multiple linear regression model - Evaluate the performance of the trading model using different investment indicators Jupyter Notebook environment is configured in the course platform for practicing python coding without installing any client applications....

Top reviews

EJ

Aug 04, 2019

Great course! Very didatic explanations about financial and statistical concepts also with some interesting practical Python for Finance! Looking forward for new courses from same Univ. and prof.!

TD

Jul 05, 2019

The videos in this course are exceptional and very interesting. The Jupyter notebooks provide a good template for applying the methods and techniques.

Filter by:

26 - 50 of 66 Reviews for Python and Statistics for Financial Analysis

By Torres M

May 06, 2019

Me gusto

Es un curso muy completo

By Steve R

May 06, 2019

Associate Professor Xuhu Wan of HKUST ensures that a student learns both the python programming to build predictive models and the concepts of the models. To build your applied financial analysis skill set, this high caliber course ties together python programming practice with statistics.

By ducvannguyen

Apr 01, 2019

Thank you very much for this useful course. I hope to join many course from you

By Ren J

Apr 11, 2019

Clear explanation of the statistics and python, well-prepared exercise in notebook and basic bags in python are recommended to use in data processing.

By Wang H

Mar 30, 2019

This is my first time to study on Coursera. This course is fairly useful to me. Thanks, Prof. Wan.

By DONG C

May 09, 2019

well illustrated and practical skills

By 裴品傑

Jun 05, 2019

很不錯,但最後的回歸有點難

By Tushar G

Jun 09, 2019

An interactive and succinct course to get an insight into the statistical analysis used in the finance domain on daily basis.

By TJ D

Jul 05, 2019

The videos in this course are exceptional and very interesting. The Jupyter notebooks provide a good template for applying the methods and techniques.

By Chan W W

Jul 07, 2019

Great fundamental course provided by Prof Xuhu WAN. After finishing the course, I am appreciated that he put lots of good efforts in the training materials. All concepts are delivered with clear examples! Highly recommend to take this course. Thank you very much.

By Hei T Y

Jul 25, 2019

Good course! It demonstrates how python can be applied on financial analysis. Better to have some prior knowledge on python and statistics before taking the course because this course seems to aim at showing the relationship between textbook statistics and python in financial analysis instead of teaching you basic concepts from scratch.

By Lorenzo P

Jul 31, 2019

A complete course about Statistics and Econometrics tools for finance. I appreciated Jupiter notebook that made it very useful and full of practical applications. The level of the course is bachelor's degree. Recommended for whom who have a previous experience with statistics and wish a refresh on it.

By Kevin L

Jul 27, 2019

I have no finance background. But i have some extent of programming knowledge. I learn a lot from this course not only finance terms, meaning behind them and how we apply statistic using python to analyze, evaluate and predict market. This course is very pratical thank you Professor Wan!

By Ernani H M J

Aug 04, 2019

Great course! Very didatic explanations about financial and statistical concepts also with some interesting practical Python for Finance! Looking forward for new courses from same Univ. and prof.!

By Franz K

Aug 13, 2019

More python courses with finance topics, love it!

By Тарасов П С

Aug 09, 2019

I highly recommend this course for everyone who wants to gather some practical knowledge. Although, you better have some programming skills before attending this course. Thanks!

By Sumedh K

Aug 11, 2019

One of the finest course in this field. I have already done 2 courses on Python and Statistics for Finance and this was the third one. Amongst the three this is easily the easiest to understand and best course for sure. I will look forward to course from this professor or university in the future. Week 3 and Week 4 from the course are like a gold mine for any learner. And the jupyter notebook exercises give just the required practice immediately after the concept is learned.

By N B g

Aug 11, 2019

Try to incorporate some coding exams during the course.

By Stefan K

Aug 15, 2019

This course is really great to get some basics in Python and statistics for financial analysis. I really can recommend this course very much!

By LIN H

Aug 19, 2019

This course is very clear and it taught me by the most efficient way to understand the materials.

By Ahmad M

Jan 31, 2019

i have learned alot

By Edoardo R

Feb 06, 2019

Good as an introductory course, does not go more in depth

By Aria Z

Apr 23, 2019

pros

(1) h

By PUREUM W

Jun 30, 2019

전공이 금웅공학이나 금융분야는 아니지만 관심이 많아 찾아보던중 이 강의를 들어보았습니다. 결과적으로 말씀드리면 이 강의는 대학교의 명성만큼 어느정도 수준이 높은 강의이며, 기초지식으로 파이썬과 통계학을 요구합니다. 저같은 경우, 전공이 IT여서 파이썬과 통계학을 배웠음에도 불구하고 금융적인 해석능력이 부족하여 많이 고생하였습니다. 만약 이 강의를 듣기를 고민하고 있다면, 자신이 통계학과 파이썬을 어느정도 할 수 있는지 자체 레벨테스트를 할 필요가 있습니다. 강의의 구성과 교수님의 설명은 전체적으로 만족스럽습니다. 이 교수님이 조금 더 낮은 레벨의 강의를 개설하여 입문자를 더 많이 늘렸으면 좋겠네요.

By Teren D

Jul 12, 2019

This is a good start to introducing python in a stock market context. Hopefully there can be a continuation of it.