Chevron Left
Back to Applied Text Mining in Python

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Applied Text Mining in Python by University of Michigan

4.3
stars
2,671 ratings
511 reviews

About the Course

This course will introduce the learner to text mining and text manipulation basics. The course begins with an understanding of how text is handled by python, the structure of text both to the machine and to humans, and an overview of the nltk framework for manipulating text. The second week focuses on common manipulation needs, including regular expressions (searching for text), cleaning text, and preparing text for use by machine learning processes. The third week will apply basic natural language processing methods to text, and demonstrate how text classification is accomplished. The final week will explore more advanced methods for detecting the topics in documents and grouping them by similarity (topic modelling). This course should be taken after: Introduction to Data Science in Python, Applied Plotting, Charting & Data Representation in Python, and Applied Machine Learning in Python....

Top reviews

GK

May 04, 2019

Lectures are very good with a perfect explanation. More than lectures I liked the assignment questions. They are worth doing. You will get to know the basic foundation of text mining. :-)

BK

Jun 26, 2018

Would love to see these courses have more practice questions in each weeks lesson. Would be helpful for repetition sake, and learning vs only doing each question once in the assignments.

Filter by:

51 - 75 of 503 Reviews for Applied Text Mining in Python

By Jitesh S

Apr 09, 2020

Assignments were very well designed and tested the understanding thoroughly. The lessons were crisp and the instructor had put in a really great effort in designing the overall layout.

Kudos to professor.

By Lucas G

Aug 16, 2017

Good Course! The expected format for the assignment answers is often a little bit too finicky, but with careful reading of the prompts, they are all doable, and the tasks themselves are fun and useful.

By G B K

May 04, 2019

Lectures are very good with a perfect explanation. More than lectures I liked the assignment questions. They are worth doing. You will get to know the basic foundation of text mining. :-)

By Carl B

Sep 20, 2017

Excellent course! Video lectures are high quality, with realistic problems and applications. Exercises are reasonably challenging, and all quite fun to do! Strongly recommend this course

By Maxwell S d C

May 26, 2020

The course is great, but I would suggest some contact with the issues and problems faced. Some parts of the exercises are advanced for those who have never had contact with the subject.

By PATIL P R

Apr 20, 2020

Nice experience..Thanks to Resp.Professor for clear the concepts so deeply and enhancing the knowledge in right path..Niceever and helpful course..Thanks to team & university..

By Manuel A

Sep 08, 2018

Just enough theory and an comprehensive guide through regex, nltk and some features from gensim (LDA). Assignmets are very challenging and some nice utilities are developed.

By Sonu C

Jul 05, 2018

Great course, very well balanced pace of learning. Adds good amount of working knowledge with NLP tools; definitely not covers everything but more than what I expected.

By Chung-Han L

May 23, 2020

I like this course, even though it adopts auto-grader instead of peer-grading. It requires more accurate of your code and more skill of programming, but it is worthy.

By Yufan L

Aug 01, 2019

A lot of self-learning. The assignment is challenging, but well designed! The forum is the key to understand the Computer science writing style in the assignment :)

By Sarah H H

May 21, 2019

Loved this course. the pacing, the instruction. it flowed and I felt i could execute what I learned without too much head scratching due 'missing leaps of info'.

By David K

Jan 17, 2020

An interesting topic that takes text mining to a new level, it was really insightful to understand how these tools can be applied to the real world.

By Sayed S S

Apr 21, 2020

An amazing course.I love how even the basics are covered and its transition to the difficult topics. An amazing explanation with a very right pace.

By Aya

Dec 17, 2018

This instructor was great! His slides and explanations were much easier to follow than the other course instructors in the specialization.

By Vladimir

Dec 06, 2017

Highly recommended course about text mining and modelling for Computer Scientists! Great and challenging assignments to grasp the skills!

By Gerardo M C

Nov 12, 2017

Nice and interesting course. This course opens a lot of possibilities to processing information data and bibliometric studies.

By kaushal

May 25, 2019

it's great course to learn text mining in python , you will find many good examples which are related to real worlds problems

By Evgeny C

May 29, 2020

Good course overall, reasonable assignments, interesting material, but wish topics of week 4 were explored in greater depth.

By Hassan S

Apr 24, 2020

less practical, few notebooks in learning phase, it would be better if they were more python notebooks during learning phase

By Neville M

Aug 22, 2019

Does exactly what it says on the label. Makes you really think about what you are doing with the text. Highly recommended.

By Фесенко Г Е

Aug 25, 2017

Excellent course! Everything is understandable and interesting. I hope it'll help me in my future career. Thank you a lot!

By Yanan L

Aug 08, 2017

I haven't finished the course yet. But the syllabus and the reading materials look really nice for an intro to NLP course.

By Hiếu N

Dec 22, 2019

Thorough explanations provided by the lecturer and assignments which are challenging but helpful for learning purposes

By Abdoulaye D

Feb 11, 2019

I'm auditing this course, as I don't have enough to get the certificate. I hugely recommend it. It's well explained.

By Agata M

Jan 23, 2020

Well prepared and put in an interesting way. Assignments allowed me to get general understanding of the techniques.