Chevron Left
Back to Programming for Everybody (Getting Started with Python)

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Programming for Everybody (Getting Started with Python) by University of Michigan

4.8
stars
168,982 ratings
40,397 reviews

About the Course

This course aims to teach everyone the basics of programming computers using Python. We cover the basics of how one constructs a program from a series of simple instructions in Python. The course has no pre-requisites and avoids all but the simplest mathematics. Anyone with moderate computer experience should be able to master the materials in this course. This course will cover Chapters 1-5 of the textbook “Python for Everybody”. Once a student completes this course, they will be ready to take more advanced programming courses. This course covers Python 3....
Highlights
High quality instructor
(1484 Reviews)
Introductory course
(4203 Reviews)

Top reviews

AG

Sep 13, 2020

Very good introduction to basic programming. Very easy for beginners in python who have already some programming background - but still extremely useful to quickly and efficiently learn python basics.

AB

Aug 24, 2020

Great introduction to Python and programming as a whole. Everything is broken down making it easy to understand. Had zero programming experience before and this class made it easy and fun to get into.

Filter by:

101 - 125 of 10,000 Reviews for Programming for Everybody (Getting Started with Python)

By Kshitij S

May 17, 2019

This course is very suitable for beginners and the lectures are short and very precise and the instructor is a fun teacher

By PRADEEP K T

May 20, 2019

If you want to know the working of python as a programming language then you should join this course

By ABHINAND G K

Sep 21, 2020

Great course for a beginner who wants to step into the world of programming. Enjoyed a lot.

By Shubham A

Jun 18, 2020

Absolute basic course. novice in programming can easily learn python with this course.

By Amit B

Aug 08, 2019

Very crisp and Bang on Target.

Useful for people who have a passion for self learning.

By Ganesh S K

Apr 28, 2020

Awesome! I never seen this type of instructor .very interesting and useful.

By Artem T

May 15, 2019

Great teaching: easy language, some extra work and thinking.

Thank you!

By Shubham J

Jan 10, 2019

Best of Instructions and the best teaching faculty on internet.

By José M C H

May 15, 2020

Clear, easy and concise for beginners. Highly recommended

By Soroush N

May 08, 2020

Long story short : awesome teacher, perfect materials

By yash g

May 15, 2020

Excellent course even for a beginner in programming

By Bernard K K

May 15, 2020

Is such a valuable beginning. Well structured.

By Liang-Jung H

Sep 22, 2019

very good for a new python programmer

By Zou A

May 17, 2019

I love the professor! He is so funny!

By Dushyant P

Aug 30, 2020

Simple and informative content

By MD E A K

May 15, 2020

Excellent course for beginners

By Ravikumar I

May 15, 2020

instructor is really awesome

By Selin A

Sep 19, 2020

Dr. Chuck is obviously best

By Pratik U

May 15, 2020

Good teaching methodology

By Anirban M

Jul 06, 2020

A very good course.

By Songjie G

May 17, 2019

great!

By Pritesh P

Sep 23, 2015

Excellent overview of first few concepts in Programming in Python. Useful in understanding programming concepts (early early stages) for those who have never done programming and refresher for those who have, but it has been a while, I look forward to seeing how the other courses in the this series are. Only reason I didn't give a 5 star rating is because I think in addition to the given assignments there should be an extra assignment per week with practical applications. Granted not enough of the language is know yet to warrant anything really complex, but perhaps just number converter for scientific notation, or a tip calculator with code given that can make it practical to use (connect it to a website or phone application).

By Ishaan k

Nov 06, 2019

This is a very nice start for python beginners. Professor Charles Severence's way to teaching is very good. This course will help you build a strong foundation in python. I liked the conditional sequences lecture from other lectures. The assignments and quize were so engrossing and tricky which helped me a lot. Moreover the discussion forum is a nice help for fellow students. I would recommend you to take this course. I completed this course in 2 days along with all assignments and quiz submitted. The bonus videos give a nice exposure about successful people and career. I also loved them.

By Harsh K M

May 15, 2020

It's not as updated as python's latest version and it's sort of not possible to keep the teaching material up to date, in online courses, I was using Python 3.8.2 while learning this course and the final problem was always giving me an error telling me that " '>' not supported between instances of 'float' and 'NoneType'"

but the problem didn't show me any error on the autograder. so it's cool! and you are a very great professor, really very interesting content!

By Suprita D

Jun 29, 2020

great course, some more examples can be included