Chevron Left
Back to Programming for Everybody (Getting Started with Python)

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Programming for Everybody (Getting Started with Python) by University of Michigan

4.8
stars
173,241 ratings
41,432 reviews

About the Course

This course aims to teach everyone the basics of programming computers using Python. We cover the basics of how one constructs a program from a series of simple instructions in Python. The course has no pre-requisites and avoids all but the simplest mathematics. Anyone with moderate computer experience should be able to master the materials in this course. This course will cover Chapters 1-5 of the textbook “Python for Everybody”. Once a student completes this course, they will be ready to take more advanced programming courses. This course covers Python 3....
Highlights
High quality instructor
(1484 Reviews)
Introductory course
(4203 Reviews)

Top reviews

RT
May 25, 2020

well i am thankful for such platform for providing and me to develop my programming skill, and also for respected sir Charles Russell Severance , the way he teaches i understand from basics of python.

V
Apr 28, 2020

Great introduction to Python and programming as a whole. Everything is broken down making it easy to understand. Had zero programming experience before and this class made it easy and fun to get into.

Filter by:

401 - 425 of 10,000 Reviews for Programming for Everybody (Getting Started with Python)

By Cristopher G L

Dec 26, 2016

Great intro to Python. I've had some formal training in C++, MATLAB, and I completed the codecademy section of Python a while back. This was a nice re-introduction to Python, but more formal. The only complaint I have is with the grader. I had no issues running my programs from my terminal, but the grader kept giving me indentation issues. Not sure what the problem was, but it was a pain to deal with considering the code worked in other places. Aside from that the lectures are quick and helpful and the examples are helpful as well

By Saikat M

Sep 9, 2017

I'm very happy because of the way the whole session has made progress. It is easy to understand because of the way things were explained. You are an awesome teacher!!!

Just one little/tiny concern i.e. before explaining what is list, I saw the course started using list. If a little insight of list would have been provided in the course, it could have been a 100% complete course.But anyways, without that it's 99.99% satisfactory though. :)

Again, thanks for having this very helpful course to build Python base of the learners strong.

By Helen E P

Jun 1, 2020

thus far, best programming class I have ever taken. Nice mix of humor, he explains what works and what doesn't, why and how to fix it. The programs are geared around at least something along the lines of real word problems. I also love that you are taught straight off how to install python and encouraged to do your assignments on your computer, but if not possible can do it just on the browser until you are ready to turn in, then just copy and paste your code. Another big plus is he introduces command line to get you used to it

By Joan M C

Jul 23, 2019

Good introduction to Python and programming. I learned the basics of 3 other languages in the 80's (FORTRAN, Pascal and elementary assembly language), so programming is not new for me. Since it has been so long since I have written a program I started with PY4E to dust off the cobwebs. the video lessons were clear and mildly entertaining - which made it fun to learn. The assignments and quizzes were purposeful, because they help clarify subtleties and encourage practice.

I am planning on taking the next course in the sequence.

By Matthew A

Aug 25, 2018

Great introductory course! I have very "rusty" experience with programming, but I am familiar with logic and computing terms. I feel like if you had very little "command line" experience in your past, you may need to learn a little before starting. But there is enough "walking through" it in this course that you will get it at least through literally doing exactly what's on the screen.

The instructor is awesome - great sense of humor, and teaches in a way that doesn't speak "down" to you, or too academic. I enjoyed this course.

By Mayur E R B

Aug 20, 2018

I am a programmer for more than 15 years, and took this initiative to learn Python.

Couldn't have chosen a better course to get started. Even though this course is for the beginners, it made me rethink some of the basic constructs of a language afresh.

I had learnt the other languages like C#, Java, JavaScript etc, in a very haphazard manner and as and when required.

This course presents a pleasantly new way of learning a new language. Thanks Dr Chuck, also for all those interesting bonus videos at the end of each chapter!

By PAULA A Q G

Feb 17, 2020

This is a great and useful course if you want to get started in the programming world. The information is well presented in the lectures as in the book, which has a kind reading. Now that I have learned the basics of programming and I am starting to know this language of Python, I feel more excited to learn more and more to achieve my purpose of working with artificial intelligence in the psychological area. There are many things to come and this course has everything to offer to get you excited about learning more and more.

By Alfredo H

Nov 18, 2017

Amazing and easy to understand. I really enjoyed the methodology and even laughed at some classes. The professor explains everything in a thorough manner, and the teaching staff is always out there to help you as well. It gets even easier to learn if you also try to answer your questions through other means: google, the Python website, the course textbook, etc. I did not have any previous knoledge on any programming language and I surely reccomend this course to anyone willing to learn their way through computer programming.

By Priya s k

Jul 11, 2019

For me the best thing about the course was Professor Chuck's approach towards teaching programming. Although, I have an engineering background, I had always avoided programming related jobs because my computer science teachers had instilled a fear of programming in me. On the contrary, Professor Chuck made learning python a fun experience which really helped me overcome my fear of programming. Thanks to this course, my confidence grew significantly and I was able to delve deeper into more advanced python programming topics.

By Mengdi Z

Apr 10, 2020

Excellent introductory course! The lecturer delivers the course in a progressive way and covers diverse content including the software development background. Some beginners (like me) tend to be easily intimidated by hardcore difficult-to-understand programming languages and lose interest and confidence before even start to write the first line of code. But the ideas proposed by Dr. Severance in the first lesson make me stick to it for a little longer when I am frustrated by having written the wrong code in the assignment.

By jaideep c

Jan 31, 2019

This course was the first actual course for Programming that I understood.

In my college, I had taken classes for C, C++, but never understood.

But in this online course, the way Dr. chuck (Charles Severance) explained and maintained a beautiful connectivity , i never felt i was learning a Programming language.

Infact, he did not just helped to learn the Python basic, but removed my fear about a programming language by clearing the basics/ concepts that any language would use.

Hats off to him for his beautiful, beautiful work.

By Punartha

Dec 8, 2016

Learnt basics of Python programming. This is a fantastic course for anyone who comes from a non programming or non computer science background like me. And Dr Charles is an awesome teacher. He makes learning easy by keeping the course interactive and constantly motivating and encouraging students. I, who was always scared of coding, thoroughly enjoyed this course and would love to continue the next courses by Dr Charles. Thankyou so much Professor for teaching us the easiest and the best way to approach problems/questions.

By Vaishnavi R G

Jul 25, 2020

While registering to curse after recommended by my college I actually thought it could be a typical

course with lectures and tests.. but I was completely wrong! The course was so interesting that I

completed it within a week! Dr. Chuck sure knows how to engage students. It has not only engaging

lectures but also interesting quiz, assignments and office hour videos in which Dr. Chuck lets us

meet our peers. This is a course where learning meets fun :) I highly recommend it to everyone who

wants to learn coding!!

By KARTAVYA Z

Jun 12, 2020

One of the best course I ever had,I have started this course ti boost my knowledge in programming add mainly I want to do ai as my career so I do this course of python and it is the best course for me ,I found many different thing which are very useful in thi ,and as we all know this is a course from the most reputable university and so there professor are remarkably nice and I love teaching with them and get this knowledge, I am satisfied by doing course and it is more good then I expected so no words for this as well

By Adan B

Feb 8, 2016

Hello i am Adan Bae. I am from korea. How are you today!?

This class is very very awesome and useful for me!!!

Because i wanted to learn the Python, but it is not famous language in korea.

So i looked up the class in the MOOC and Coursera

Finally i could meet the Dr. Chuck's class. then i tried to hard to understand his class.

Because i don't have good English skill.

But i did it!! I got it!

Thank you Dr. Chuck and Everyone who made this class alot!!

I really hope to meet you wherever Korea or America.

See you in next class!!

By Herb R

Dec 12, 2018

Dr. Chuck presents the subject matter in an easy to understand way. The overall course design is very well thought out. The video lectures have excellent graphics; the lectures follow the outline of the text book. I particularly valued the ability to reschedule my class; if my job and other activities in life get super demanding, it was very nice to know I had flexibility with this course (although I did not exercise it). I could not be happier with this course. Well Done Dr. Severance and University of Michigan!

By Tanmoy B

Jul 11, 2020

I have always wanted to learn Python and get started towards a new journey in my career. And being a Mechanical Engineer by profession and degree, I always feared whether I would understand programming or not, and I was very confused about where I can start. I am really glad that I chose this particular course, to begin with, and Dr. Chuck Severance is an excellent instructor, and he sort of guided me through all the tiny and granular details of Python in this basic course! I am super excited to start the next phase!

By Thanakrit L

Jul 3, 2020

I personally have no background information about programming. For me, this a great introduction to python. I recommend downloading 'pycharm' to run the script without saving numerous time and try to run it on Terminal (Mac). Or you can use ATOM writer to edit the script but to run it you can either tun it in terminal like what the instructor do to practice or by installing terminal package but for me it doesn't work. In long term it is super annoying to do that. PyCharm is free and also tell you what you did wrong.

By Ken R

Feb 14, 2016

This introductory course to the Python programming language boosted my confidence in my ability to learn programming for data analysis. Without any prior background in programming and just a bit of algebra several years ago in college, I was able to make it through this course fairly easily. The time estimate for each week accurately reflected the amount of time required for me to complete an assignment. After completing this first course in the Specialization, I decided to sign-up for the entire five-course series.

By Iordanis L

Apr 17, 2020

Clear and to the point introduction to Python. I am glad i took this course. It set solid foundations for continuing on the Python path. I must stress out though the fact that one needs to do the exercises to fully appreciate the work the instructor has put in. During the exercises I would recollect on the lecture and that made it easier to complete the work. For me reading a book alone would not have cut it. I needed Dr. Chuck to explain it the way he did. Looking forward to the second class of the specialization.

By Yogi H C

Oct 28, 2020

Dr Chuck is one of the best lecturer you could get to teach you Python. He truly understands what beginners need to help them understand the subject better. The class material is so easy to access and easy to understand. Every explanation needed is on the book they curated for this course. And that is one of the signs that they are really put a lot of effort to ease our learning experience. Certainly will taking the next course for Python. Thank you Michigan University, dr. Chuck and teams who curated this course.

By Abhishek T

Jun 27, 2020

This is the first ever programming course for me .It is my good fortune that I started with Python, that many regard as good language to begin with and most importantly the instructor and content of this course, is top class. The way Dr. Charles Severance takes you through this course as to how someone will teach you to walk for the first time, holding your fingers. Some may like this approach, some may not , but for a person like myself who is totally alien to the world of programming, this was the best approach.

By Patricia Z

Jan 23, 2019

Loved the pace and how the lessons were broken down. The buildup from one lesson to another was really good and super great for beginners. I also love how the professor explains a lot of things in a very friendly manner (i.e. not condescending, not too advanced, etc.). The last exercise challenged me quite a bit, but looking through forums really helped. At the end of the day, it at least prepares you on how to deal with getting frustrated with code that doesn't work. Can't wait to get started on the next courses!

By Daria K

Jun 3, 2020

Very very good explonation about everything. I liked a lot, that in the first section there is an explanation about hard parts of computer. I think for everyone, who starts coding, it is very important to have this understanding.

Charles explaines everything so good and so easy to understand, I could not wish for something better. For me, as a beginner, this course was very helpful and gave me the feeling, what is it like to code with Python. Looking forward to other parts of Python for Everybody Specialization.

By Alejandro M

Oct 3, 2015

Best course of Python I've taken so far. Tried with MITx's Intro to Computer Science and learnpythonthehardway.org, without success. The learning curve was too steep. This one, on the other hand, progresses slowly and easily, but in the end, after a month or two you find yourself writing short programs in Python, which actually work. Won't make you an expert, but it will help you to understand the general logic of the language, and start coding for real. Took me about a month to finish it. I highly recommend it.